We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”
Review of The Swan House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Swan House
Ranked #5 of 11 Beccles B&B and Inns
Wiltshire
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Just one night here on my tod but twas enough to whet the appetite. Touch wood, I shall return with her majesty.

Travelled by train; the hotel is a short walk from the station. For those that like railway travel, the East Suffolk line from Ipswich to Lowestoft is a joy (although just this leg of the journey, from Ipswich to Beccles takes over one-and-a-half hours!). Oh for the return of steam on such lines.

The hotel would do William Morris proud. Every space is finely crafted and complemented by fitting objets. Whilst all spaces are appealing, my favourite was the small reception room/snug with a wall-mounted, flat-screen TV repeatedly playing an old black-and-white film the whole day. There was just something marvellously inviting about this parlour.

My initiation ceremony lasted quite some time. As I was alone, I stayed in the smallest, cheapest Seth's Room at the top of the house. I whacked my head about seven times on the beams (one in particular) before I grew accustomed to the modus operandi. William's and Eln's rooms, of which I was given a guided tour (for future reference), were splendid. The showering facility in all was by 'wet room'.

Swan House lies in the shadow of St Michael the Archangel whose bells chime the quarter-hours and ring-out the hours. This completes the charmingly English Swan House scene and I was looking forward to falling asleep to the dulcet tones of the chimes and bells. However, they stopped at some ungodly hour and didn't restart until eight-fifteen.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wirepuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland B, Owner at The Swan House, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Perhaps we will one day meet your Majesty!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    29
    19
    13
    2
See reviews for
17
112
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Two nights at the Swan this week - an enjoyable and comfortable stay in a place which oozes character and has been created with uncompromising attention to detail. Our room (William's) had all that we needed and more, and although we didn't eat here in the evenings, the breakfasts were a real treat. How could it be bettered? Well, we did find the parking a bit of a pain, and on our second night the gulls screeched throughout much of the night. Neither of these are down to the Swan House of course, and overall as a town centre location I would definitely recommend - if your budget runs to it!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank splod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland B, Owner at The Swan House, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thanks for reviewing. As a town centre establishment, parking requires local knowledge. which we are happy to offer on arrival and also include in our 'Welcome' emailing. There is seldom a need to park further than a two minute walk us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epping, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We had a one night stay at the Swan which has been
renovated with great style. We stayed in the lovely Eln
room, which is full of character unfortunately full of dust
as well. The bathroom door is impossible to close and
needs attention. However we enjoyed our stay and
the food was excellent. Parking is a good five minute
walk away and you have to be lucky to find a space.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland B, Owner at The Swan House, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry the bathroom door issue caused an inconvenience, due to timber expansion. Unfortunately skilled craftsmen had to be brought in, and so couldn't be instantly repaired, but is now. Whilst all our rooms are very thoroughly cleaned, the Eln room originates from the 1560's and will never appear appear quite as pristine as a modern hotel room. Bare Tudor brick walls and open chimneys take their toll!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We enjoyed a 2 night stay at The Swan in Beccles.
Its town centre position was great and parking wasn't an issue, just a 5 minute walk away but well worth it for the centre location.

The rooms were beautifully crafted, with lots of thought and consideration for guests. Each had a unique theme based on the history of the building. Beds were comfortable, storage for clothes ample and bathroom spacious.

Breakfast was well........an experience.......amazing! The live guitarist in the evening was a real bonus to the stay.

We visited during a really hot spell so my only comment would be to add in a small fridge for water and milk, our milk turned with the heat overnight and we couldn't make a drink first thing in the morning but this is just a minor point to an otherwise good stay.

Hope to return, well one day ☺

Diane

Room Tip: Check the website out for the different rooms, the photos are a true reflection of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland B, Owner at The Swan House, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review us and yes hope to see you here again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Too many good points to list but definitely worth the review for outright charm, attention to detail and 'that nothing too much trouble' attitude. Hope to be back next year if we can find an excuse. Great food too!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3fins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland B, Manager at The Swan House, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thanks for the succinct, yet excellent review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We had a very nice stay in this charming inn. Everything is of very good quality. I enjoyed breakfast very much. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room Seth is not exactly luxurious. The beams are vey low and there is not much room to move.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieHT77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland B, Owner at The Swan House, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you Marie for your review of Swan House. The Seth room and indeed all of our rooms are not particularly intended to be luxurious and it's certainly not a word I would use to describe them. They have however been created to offer a unique visitor experience, whereby original thinking and quality of design have been combined with hand-built cabinet making, local craftsmanship, murals, art objects, and paintings etc. in a way that integrates period rooms with the 21st century.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Factual review avoiding emotion as I am aware that the owner will pounce on any negative comment.

1. Arrived and were unable to be shown to our room as the key was not available. Offered a drink but this was not on the house.

2. Seths room has lots of character but very low beams and sloping ceilings. Would advise against this room if you are 6ft+. No blind on wet room window, a person looking out of the adjacent window can look at you having a shower.

3. Wet room does not drain adequately. Floor will remain wet for hours after taking a shower.

4. Restaurant under staffed. As has been mentioned in previous reviews we were seated at 7.30 and at 9.30 had still not received our food. Manager refused to come and explain to diners what the cause of the issue was. Restaurant waiting staff taking brunt of diners wrath.

5. Were requested to pay the balance of our room payment before we would be taken to our room. Manager explained that this was the policy and that the hotel system would pop up with errors if not paid. Have seen feedback from owner saying that it is policy and guests should be aware.

5. Dining room incredibly hot at all dining times. I am aware that we are in a heat wave but very uncomfortable.

6. Breakfast. Slow service. No cereals apart from a home made sweet muesli.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland B, Owner at The Swan House, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Factual reply, as I will not be intimidated into not defending Swan House from unreasonable comments. And I will of course admit and apologies where criticism is due.

1 The short delay in giving you your key was due to the previous occupant not returning it. However I agree not your problem, but it was resolved within a couple of minutes by programming another key card.

2 The Seth room you complain about is very honestly described and photographed on our website through which you booked. The page about Seth states: "A gorgeous room for short lovers...Cross joists straddle this historic and characterful room leaving clearance at 1.6 metres. Slightly restricted bed access is fun to some, but not to all". The so called adjacent window does not have a direct view of the Seth Bathoom unless someone were to lean out of a window by a considerable distance. However for those that uncomfortable with this scenario, a blind has been added.

3 No it is not hours for the floor to dry. Partially open the window and it will naturally evaporate in less than an hour. And of course our website does make clear that you are booking an en-suite with a wet-room!

4 I asked my staff to explain and apologise as we were attempting to serve all, whilst being let down by two chefs. I agree with you and apologise for believing we could manage the evening, but once a couple of tables arrived late, the issues compounded. I wasn't avoiding my customers, more trying to help the kitchen catch up. This was a particularly difficult period for us, but one that is now happily resolved with a new creative team in place. It will not happen again.

5 We ask for just 25% on booking and the balance on arrival. This is very clearly explained in our Terms & Conditions on our website to which you ticked and accepted, prior to booking on-line.

5.1 Yes it was a full house during a heat wave and you were dining in a room built in the 1540's, with air-con not an option. However, you may have asked to dine under our umbrellas and awnings on our terrace or courtyard. Quite beautiful and an excellent summer option that's fully viewable on our website.

6 We treat breakfast as a languid affair, as most prefer to savour our excellent three course breakfasts over the morning papers and without without being rushed. We do not offer packaged cereals, preferring to make our breakfasts entirely from fresh and healthy ingredients. Hence the original Swiis recipe Bircher Muesli.

So thank you for your review and once again my sincere apologies for point 4, the remaining six you may consider 'Pounced' upon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beccles
0.1 mi away
Waveney House Hotel
Waveney House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beccles
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beccles
520 reviews
3.9 mi away
Waveney Inn
Waveney Inn
#1 of 1 in Burgh St Peter
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Lowestoft
454 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Swan Motel
The Swan Motel
#2 of 11 in Beccles
150 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Old Grain Store
The Old Grain Store
#1 of 3 in Bungay
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan House

Property: The Swan House
Address: 34 New Market | (Near the Church Tower), Beccles NR34 9HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Beccles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Beccles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the bustling, traditional market town of Beccles, the Swan House offers beautiful and idiosyncratic room-only accommodation. Our distinctive rooms provide the perfect, cozy base from which to explore the Suffolk heritage coast, the Norfolk Broads and beyond. East Anglia at her most beautiful and varied is literally on the doorstep. After an intrepid day of exploring, come back to a delicious meal in our characterful restaurant, and a good night's sleep in a room designed to provide every comfort. Indulge in fully sprung mattresses, crisp white bedding and flat screen TV's. And all of this in a convivial setting, with open fires to warm you in the depths of winter, and al fresco dining throughout the warmer months. PLEASE NOTE: The Swan House Restaurant is currently closed for refurbishment and will re-open in April 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Swan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan House Beccles, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing