We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best coffee and staff in Beccles!”

The Galley Cookshop
Ranked #2 of 5 Coffee & Tea in Beccles
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Saxmundham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best coffee and staff in Beccles!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We have discovered this super little cafe, and will never go anywhere else now when we visit Beccles. The staff are so helpful and friendly, and the atmosphere is warm and welcoming. The scones are superb! I had a cheese scone and my partner had the fruit scone with excellent conserves served with it. The prices are very good indeed. As there is limited space you may have to wait for a cosy table, so look around the wonderful shop which suplies fantastic range of cookery items such as Dinosaur Sandwich makers!!!!! The coffe is high quality and served with REAL chocolate sprinkles on top at almost half the price of other cafes in the town. Daily newspapers are also availlable to read. They have thought of everything.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank muggySaxmundham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    5
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich England
Level Contributor
119 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“fantastic coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Staff went the extra mile. I loved their soya milk cappuccino. Waitress went to get special milk even though I ensured her I'd be just as happy with a black coffee. Wide range of cakes and pastries.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cornetplayer11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Suffolk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great little find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

We four had four different coffees, a tea cake and two scones with butter and three different types of jam for under £11. Very friendly and caring staff in a cafe hidden inside a super cook shop.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LizEMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Chris Ward”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Great little coffee shop, with very friendly staff, fantastic scones & cakes, the cook shop stocks just about everything.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank woodpeckerbirdman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
94 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

Small, intimate, fun, lovely. the perfect place for a coffee and a catch up, lovely staff (a few of the other cafes int own could learn from this place) excellent coffee, just a lovely experience. It is what it is and doesnt try to be anything more. GREAT!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Galley Cookshop also viewed

 

Been to The Galley Cookshop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing