We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting and historical hotel at a reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Kings Head Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Beccles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Very handy for the centre of Beccles, place is like a Tardis inside, mind your head on the low beams (warning notices are in the wrong place). Staff friendly, beer was poor (how is it possible serve Woodforde's Wherry that can only be described as average?).
Poor sound insulation, but you could expect that in an old hotel. Room was big and very good, overlooked Beccles market square.
As mentioned by others, no parking on site, but free parking not too far away. Local council should get off its backside and offer free parking in the square and surrounding streets to hotel customers .
Didn't try the breakfast.
Price was OK. Will I return? Most definitely.

Room Tip: The bars probably dominate the 1st floor rooms (see other reviews)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank upgrade4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee U, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am sorry that the quality of our beer wasn't to standard during your visit. We aim to maintain the quality of our beers at all times, and we hope that when you return the standards will be much higher.

We are glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay, and hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
The Kings Head Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

487 - 493 of 537 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed here on business and was very impressed with the Hotel overall I think it`s great value for money.The room was well decorated and cosy.
There is a great Restaurnt nearby called the Swan House.
The only downside for me is the DIY breakfast you have to order at the bar and cart most of it to the table

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee U, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are sorry that you didn't enjoy our breakfast. Food does have to be ordered at the bar, and any drinks are given at this time, however if you do have difficulties getting everything back to your table, a member of bar staff will be able to assist you. All food, as well as cutlery and condiments are brought over to the table for you.

We are glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay, and hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
The Kings Head Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Lovely renovation, helpful staff. We had a decent meal reasonably priced. Parking was an issue arrange before arrival. Rooms clean and good overall price.. internet connection (cloud) was very weak we couldn't log on in the room due to too weak a signal and in the bar it took a good few time to make the connection.Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee U, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel.

Unfortunately, the Wifi has been an issue. We are doing everything we can to boost the signal, although sometimes it does just need an old fashioned "turn it off and on again" approach. Our reception and/or bar team are happy to do this for you should the connection prove to be weak (or not there!)

We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
The Kings Head Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We booked to stay here due to its close location to my partners little girl that we were visiting for a couple of days and we wasn't disappoint from the price to location to comfort and the staff couldn't have done more for us we also ate and drank in the bar below and u couldn't grumble at the prices and the quality of the food defo value for money with no need to look at eating out. The only 2 niggles we found was 1, no on site parking but we was aware of this before we book and the nearest car park is only a stones throw away and a bargain at £3 for 24hrs.
2, the free internet connection (cloud) was very weak we couldn't log on in the room due to too weak a signal and in the bar it took a good few time to make the connection and they are the only reasons it doesn't get the full 5 marks but apart from that its top marks and would defo recommend :) .

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee U, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel.

As you pointed out, we do unfortunately have very little on-site parking. There is a space that comes with our disabled access room, but unfortunately other guests do need to use the car park located (very) nearby,

The wifi connection is a problem we are aware of, and are doing our best to boost the signal. Should any guest have issues connection, do let a member of staff know, and we can reset the router.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
The Kings Head Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed just one night ,room was fabulous, great size with huge windows letting in loads of light,all with window seats. The bathroom was huge,lovely shower all looked new and the price was good too. Great staff.

Room Tip: Our room was 212 a corner room great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugo010313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee U, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
The Kings Head Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Had to book something local for a family function, booked four rooms, got an excellent rate for the two nights , parking a bit of an issue , had to park two streets away in a public csr park ,
Room was nice,except for was awaken three times in the early hours by furniture being dragged across the floor in the room above, when i mentioned this the next morning was told no one was booked in that room ,spooked me a little, nothing the second night as someone was in the room, cant remember the room number think it was 212 or something , second floor st the front of the hotel on the corner.
Bathroom was lovely, food,well its gastro
But overall a very pleasant stay, would 100% stay again , if you need somewhere close to Bungay to stay, then this is the place, dont bother with even looking in Bunay for accomodation

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tesscal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee U, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel.

Unfortunately, due to a lack of space on-site, we do direct guests to a (very near-by) public car-park. We do, however, have a space for unloading, so there is no need to worry about carrying luggage. Plus, the car park charges £3 for a 24 hour stay, and is free overnight.

I can only apologise for the spooky furniture-moving. We are an old building! I am glad the second night's sleep was quieter for you.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
The Kings Head Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with my young family. Family room was a really lovely size and very clean and much to my kids delight they had there own tv!!
Couldn't fault hotel at all and very reasonable as was breakfast!! Would definitely stay here again !

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Reedsouthon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee U, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
The Kings Head Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beccles
0.2 mi away
Waveney House Hotel
Waveney House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beccles
325 reviews
9.4 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
339 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Lowestoft
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
#5 of 10 in Lowestoft
360 reviews
7.8 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
5.4 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 1 in Bungay
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Head Hotel

Address: 4 - 6 New Market, Beccles NR34 9HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Beccles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Beccles
Price Range: £48 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Head Hotel in Beccles is a 17th century coaching hotel which has just been fully refurbished and is situated in the centre of this lovely market town of Beccles in Suffolk. All 20 rooms are en-suite and include tea and coffee making facilities, air conditioning, hair dryer and flat screen TV. The Kings Head Hotel is just 10 minutes walk from the river and Beccles quay. The perfect meeting place in the centre of the bustling market town of Beccles where you can enjoy a drink and simply watch the world go by. Due to our central location we do not have any parking spaces available, we advise that you use a local car park on Newgate, which is about a 5 minure walk from us.FREE WIFI AVALIBLE. 24 Hour reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Head Hotel Beccles, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing