We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Kings Head Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Beccles
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great short break”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Our 4th visit, excellent rooms,but you have to accept that this is a Wetherspoons, and noisy until midnight at weekends and bank holidays.
The staff are friendly, very good food served hot. Easy to find good company in the bar and restaurant.
Car parking only a short walk, £3 / day.
We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    171
    48
    16
    9
See reviews for
123
235
17
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Welling
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

If you have ever been to a Wetherspoon pub then you will undoubtedly know what to expect in terms of food, drink, etc. we have drank in many of the pubs but this was the first time in the hotel and we were really pleasantly surprised at just how nice the room was - very clean and modern with plenty of storage space. We were on the top floor which we had asked for and we didn't hear any noise at all and we were there on a Saturday night. All the staff are polite and very helpful. We will definitely book up again. We usually stay in Premier Inn at Norwich but this hotel is much nicer and cheaper.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doris1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The hotel is very good and prices are very attractive. The rooms are large and clean, with an excellent bathroom. The disadvantage is that a very good pub with cheap food is attached so that it becomes very crowded on weekends when the bar remains open until 1am. While we stayed long discussions, peels of laughter and then arguments occurred in the courtyard outside our bedroom window preventing sleep before about 2am. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone but be warned that the windows are not sound-proofed!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We booked this hotel at the very last minute on Maundy Thursday and wasn't expecting too much because it was a very good deal, when we checked into our room (211) we were very pleasantly surprised. The room was very modern and very clean, there was also a lovely walk-in shower.
The lady on reception when we checked out on Good Friday was really polite and friendly and she gave us some good advice on places to visit.
Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rence1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed in the Kings Head hotel which is a totally refurbished old coaching inn, the experience was delightful, the owners Wleatherspoons, have accomplished a fine hotel with very reasonable prices, don't be put off by the fact it's owned by a chain, this hotel competes with a high standard fully fitted and spacious rooms, they even supplied a cit for one member of our family all free of charge and the staff very polite and helpful, the cost of the bar bills were amazingly low, if you find a better stay in Beccles for less I would be very surprised, down side No dogs allowed not even in the rear patio area, to me this is definatley something the owners should concider, just keep up the good work weather spoons x oh yes no parking, the car park is very close though!

Room Tip: Ask for front of house, and possibly lower Floors, ours was all on the top floor area, still amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ajfpearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We just stayed one night while attending a play.in the town. The pub was very busy but in our room we didn't hear any noise. Wetherspoons have recently refurbished the hotel and our room was very spacious and comfortable. Car parking was only a few minutes walk away and £3 in the late afternoon went over into the next day. We had a tasty breakfast which is ordered at the bar and delivered to your table freshly cooked. The staff were helpful and friendly and we plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexandra079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Just stayed overnight here. The room was spacious, modern and the bed was very comfortable. Despite it being above a very busy wetherspoons pub the room was insulated from any noise.

The hotel staff were really friendly and helpful.

Parking was a few minutes walk from the hotel, but one hour parking in front of the pub was useful during check-in.

We will definitely stay in a wetherspoons hotel again if this is the standard we can expect.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beccles
0.2 mi away
Waveney House Hotel
Waveney House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beccles
280 reviews
9.4 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
316 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lowestoft
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Waveney Inn
Waveney Inn
#1 of 1 in Burgh St Peter
28 reviews
6.3 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
446 reviews
13.5 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Head Hotel

Property: The Kings Head Hotel
Address: 4 - 6 New Market, Beccles NR34 9HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Beccles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Beccles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Head Hotel in Beccles is a 17th century coaching hotel which has just been fully refurbished and is situated in the centre of this lovely market town of Beccles in Suffolk. All 20 rooms are en-suite and include tea and coffee making facilities, air conditioning, hair dryer and flat screen TV. The Kings Head Hotel is just 10 minutes walk from the river and Beccles quay. The perfect meeting place in the centre of the bustling market town of Beccles where you can enjoy a drink and simply watch the world go by. Due to our central location we do not have any parking spaces available, we advise that you use a local car park on Newgate, which is about a 5 minure walk from us.FREE WIFI AVALIBLE. 24 Hour reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Head Hotel Beccles, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing