We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply fabulous!”

Betsie Jane River Tours
Ranked #1 of 5 Tours in Beccles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Betsie Jane is an award winning restoration of a classic gentleman's launch. She is registered with the National Maritime Museum as a historic ship. Specifically designed for entertaining she offers comfortable cruising for unto twelve guests. There are toilet and galley facilities onboard.Betsie Jane River Tours offer a unique way to explore the beautiful southern Broads. From our base at the Waveney River Centre we offer full and half day tours for up to 12 passengers. Tea and homemade cake are included in the tour. We can provide hot or cold lunches onboard or you are welcome to bring your own food and drink.During the summer months we run a friday evening 'Curry Run' to Oulton Broad. See 'What's on' page on our website.A warm welcome awaits.Heidi and Paul
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Simply fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

We were lucky enough to have a trip on the beautifully restored Betsie Jane last summer. The hosts Paul and Heidi were amazing. Paul's knowledge of the area is endless and very interesting, and his years of experience on the stunning Norfolk Broads resulted in the the best photo opportunities as well as the best places to see otters, kingfishers and and whole myriad of wildlife. His passion for his beautifully restored boat with its rich, historic past is tangible and infectious and rightly so.

The trip was enhanced by Paul's gorgeous wife, Heidi who kept us supplied with a choice of teas and coffee's and her now famous, delicious home made Victoria sponge - perfect! A truly amazing way to spend a day/afternoon. We can not wait to do it again!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Essexgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An award winning vintage Broadland cruising experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

We had a balmy summer's evening cruise with some friends, down a meandering Suffolk river on-board Betsie Jane a beautifully restored gentleman's wooden cruiser. Our destination was curry night at the Geldeston Locks, an off the beaten track, Broadland inn . The food, washed down with some fine local ale was excellent. A memorable end to the evening was the moonlit return journey in the company of owls, bats and tranquility. Thanks to skipper Paul and his lovely wife Heidi for a wonderful evening.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RosemarysBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Went on one of the trips with my family a few months back and can honestly say one of the most fascinating experiences. Paul and Heidi made the trip all the more better with there interesting stories about the surrounding area. For me the best way to experience the broads. The family has booked another trip to go back in the summer as there are plenty more roots to take. I would recommend to anybody.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexmonkeyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great day of photography on the Betsie Jane”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

I had a great day in the Spring of 2012 on the Betsie Jane.
There was plenty of photo opportunities with lots of wildlife to be seen on the river. Some beautiful landscape to be photographed also.
The food was excellent, served on board with coffee and Heidi's home baked cake too!
Paul and Heidi are really nice people who make sure their guests have a great time.
A beautiful boat and a thoroughly good day out!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Peterey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent trip ,well recomended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

My son was 21 and i wanted to do something a little different and special as a family for his birthday.
So i organised with Paul and Heidi for a trip up the river ,we went from Burgh st Peters to Dukes Head at somerlyton.Paul and Heidi were very hospitable and catered for our needs .They were very enthusiastic about the trip which made it a very memorable and enjoyable evening for all the family.
Returning to Burgh st Peters at night ,the still ness of the waters and the sounds of the wildlife is highly recomended.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rachel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Betsie Jane River Tours also viewed

 

Been to Betsie Jane River Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing