We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food, great coffee.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Satis Cafe - CLOSED

Satis Cafe
Cuisines: Cafe, British
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great coffee.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

Our second visit to the Satis Cafe. Sausage and mash with (the best) onion gravy, prawn and avocado (great dressing) salad and and mouth watering cheese burger. Two of us followed with coffee and walnut cake because we are greedy and it looked too good to resist, it did NOT disappoint! Cappuccino's all round finished lunch off nicely. The staff are friendly and helpful and the menu choice wide and varied, whether you pop in for cake and coffee or a lovely lunch you will find something to suit your hunger levels. Great value for money and good food, who can resist.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jayway46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    17
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A delightful luncheon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

Satis Cafe is run by the owners of the luxurious Satis House Hotel just a few miles away. It's situated within the Evergreen Garden Centre and is the perfect accompaniment to garden shopping or indeed, a stand alone visit. The owners Kevin & David were on site when we visited as they had only been open a couple of weeks.
We were warmly welcomed and took our seats in what can only be described as an oasis of charm and relaxation - a choice of comfy couches for an afternoon tea setting or tables and chairs for more formal dining. We opted for the latter and chose to have a hot lunch.
This was delicious and matched the high quality of food to be found at the Satis House Hotel up the road and was very reasonably priced.
The selection of desserts & cakes available was simply wonderful, my only criticism being my waist size expanding during our visit!
If you're in the area, or even if you're not, this wonderful cafe is the area's best kept secret and well worth a visit. My understanding is that the cafe is due to expand shortly with a larger kitchen and an outside seating area - perfect for the summer!
Tip: if you're planning on lunch, especially at the weekend, it's well worth calling ahead and making a reservation as this place seems to be getting extremely popular.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bairmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant find!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

Felt the need to write a review as was very impressed!
Found this on the way to Beccles, had a bite to eat, great quality and very good value for money , the restaurant itself is spotless with a very trendy feel, the staff were extremely friendly! My next stop will be for coffee and cake as the cakes looked fabulous!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Aston71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Do try this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

How nice to see the talented Satis House team at the Winter Flora garden centre just outside Beccles. We had a light lunch and a pud, all up to the high standard that we know and love from "the boys" Well presented within the interesting garden centre and open 7 days a week till 4pm. Try it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JaneNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very Good Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

With being regulars at Satis House Hotel and know how good the food is, decided to try Satis Cafe in Beccles for Sunday lunch. So surprised but delighted to find that they actually did a traditional roast with all the trimmings. This was just excellent and as good as you would get anywhere. Although it is a cafe within a garden centre it still had a very nice atmosphere. Plenty of choice of food, from sandwiches to full blown dinners. Nicely decorated and very nice furniture plus very comfy sofas if you just want a coffee and a piece of cake. We actually went their the week before we had lunch just for our elevenses which was a latte and a piece of Victoria sponge. A huge slice but just delicious. The Sunday we went for lunch, we had booked beforehand and glad we did as the place was full so booking advisable. Totally recommended and will be back agin soon.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Satis Cafe also viewed

Beccles, Suffolk
Geldeston, Beccles
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing