We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good pub” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bear and Bells

Bear and Bells
Ranked #21 of 58 Restaurants in Beccles
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
manchester
Level Contributor
138 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“good pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

had food here good quality home cooked large portions friendly staff nice atmosphere in pub also has seating out area

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank biburybill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    26
    12
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Friendly pub to eat and drink in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Been in here a few times now and we have always been made to feel welcome by Trudy and all the staff. The food was good and plenty of it, (you have to try one of the delicious homemade desserts) Sharon and ali who served us really made sure we had everything we needed,very efficient. We stayed in the bar,chatting to some of the regulars and had a great couple of afternoons in there,and I have to say we did not see any "down and outs", just friendly,hard working locals who we had a great laugh with.The place is clean,the staff are nice,the food tastes good,and the beer is well looked after. thanks and look forward to seeing you again.,

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Sadly lacking...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Rather unadventurous pub grub and overpriced drinks. Unfortunately the staff always look bored and right now I wouldn't choose to go there again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ZibbieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Friendly Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Popped in here late one afternoon whilst on a boating holiday on the broads.....
Friendly helpful staff .... great Guinness ..
Met up with other boating people .. mainly 2 x Belgium guys .... and proceeded to have a great drinking session. ...
Thanks for not throwing us out. ..!!
If you are in the area ...?? Have a look ...
Thanks again
:0)

Helpful?
2 Thank ShepsterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“" Never again"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We had been staying at Kings head in the town and decided to try a local ale pub for a couple. The language being used by staff was shocking and offensive, the "C" word being used in every sentence. The one barmaid on, Sharon was either too busy out the front smoking or playing silly games with the so called chef!!!! When we asked to be served after 10 minutes of being ignored we were met with hostility. When the food other customers had been waiting for for some time arrived it looked like a microwave meal and service was appalling.
Filthy dirty, horrible staff, horrible food, flat beer!
We were informed later that evening back at the Kings Head by staff and customers the Bear n Bells is known locally as a down and outs pub.
Never again!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bear and Bells also viewed

 

Been to Bear and Bells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing