We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend to Remember” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waveney House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Waveney House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beccles
Lowestoft
1 review
“Weekend to Remember”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

A big thank you to Michael and his team especially Abbey, who made our sons wedding a fantastic occasion. The staff could not be more polite or helpful, nothing was any trouble to them, the food was plentiful and tasty and the rooms were well presented and each had its own character. They even made a special effort with breakfast where the set up for 20 of us to set together and have breakfast served all at once. Once again a huge thank you for making Matt & Lizzie's day so special we will certainly be recommending this hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank June K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    77
    42
    13
    27
See reviews for
65
104
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

The room was cold , we couldn't stand in the shower because of the ceiling height and the room sloped down and you felt like you were on a boat in fact i think one side of the building was sloping down.

Breakfast ok but nothing to shout about!

Room Tip: ask about the shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebecca h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrentham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We have been going to the Waveney House Hotel for lunch, a pint or coffee for a number of years and had no hesitation in choosing them for our Wedding reception meal and we are so glad that we did. The food was delicious and the staff were excellent and professional, they even picked up some soya ice cream at short notice.

A special thanks goes to Glenn the Food and Beverage Manager. Thank you for the coffee's and laughs while we set up the room the night before, for your patience while we were waiting for some guests to arrive and thank you for making our special day even more special.

We will be back soon :-)

Adele & Jonathan

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdeleC1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Four of us met up just before Christmas, for lunch. The menu is made up of sandwiches, ciabatta's, burgers, or cooked meals. We chose to go for the posh fish fingers and chips in ciabatta rolls, one of the party had home cooked burger. The food when it arrived (didn't seem to take that long) well presented and looked good. Now it is at this point a establishment like this needs to decide what it is. is it a cafe or a restaurant. If I am paying this kind of money for food I expect cutlery to be brought to me not to have to find it myself but that just my opinion, what I do object to is sauce sachets, no pot, jars, bottles of sauce but sachets. I get these down the grease spoon cafe any way rant over food tasted good. Desert menu could be a bit better, its 'winter' ice cream and sorbet should count as 2 items something hearty like a apple pie steamed pudding would have been better.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level Contributor
104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Five of us for lunch last Saturday. We have been many times as its my wifes home town and we have relatives there. Two of us had the fish in Adnams ale batter, one a chicken, one sea bass, and one burger meal. The battered fish is always a good option here. Unfortunately 4 meals arrived in reasonable time (though not quick) and the fifth was 3-4 mins after, this shouldn't happen. It was also a rare chance for me to have a pint of excellent Adnams Bitter (i am usually driving when eating out). The food was however well cooked an presented, and we have rarely been disappointed on the quality front.
The hotel is well located being right on the riverbank, outside dining is possible when weather is fine and warm enough (it was pouring down today) Bill came to £80 (drinks food and cappucinos)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fsharpminor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Booked a Saturday evening stay after reading reviews on the various hotel bookings sites. There was a fairly restrictive choice of establishments locally given the time of year. Found the hotel with the help of my onboard sat-nav and straight into the car-park which was fairly empty.

The reception desk was not manned and we had to wait several minutes before anyone arrived to check us in. We had already made plans to each at a local restaurant so cannot comment on the quality of the food served. Returning back from a very enjoyable evening placed a different light on the hotel. The hotel had a planned wedding party booked for that evening and the spaces in the car-park reflected this. After a couple of drinks at the bar, we retired to our room only to be subjected to the vibrations from the music pouring out from the function immediately below our room; eventually it stopped.

Breakfast the following morning was served in the conservatory from a fairly standard menu. The food took some 25 minutes to arrive which may have been down to the fact that most guests arrived at the same time.

Would I stay here again, probably not.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Beautiful place! We were walking Beccles and stopped in for rest by the river. While it was a little out of season for the patio (chilly and damp) it was perfect! Quiet and relaxing. Even with a 2 year old. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beccles
0.1 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beccles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
3.9 mi away
Waveney Inn
Waveney Inn
#1 of 1 in Burgh St Peter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lowestoft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
9.5 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 1 in Bungay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waveney House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waveney House Hotel

Property: Waveney House Hotel
Address: Puddingmoor, Beccles NR34 9PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Beccles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beccles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Waveney House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Waveney House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waveney Hotel Beccles
Waveney House Hotel Beccles, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing