We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mallard”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beccles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wheatacre Hall Barns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 June 2012

My family and I stayed in the Mallard Barn at Wheatacre Hall. The Mallard was first class, clean, modern and well looked after. The whole family had a great time and would recomend it to anyone. The Owner/Manager Joe, was great and could not do enough. It was a fantastic week. I give it 5 stars.

Room Tip: All of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark187057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2012

I have visited Wheatacre Hall Barns many times now about 18 visits, we have always found everything to be spotless. Beautiful bed linen always smells so fresh. Excellent for Christmas with lots of family and friends. All decorated with Xmas tree. Nicely done, not over done so you can add your own touch if you like. Joanna and David are always so friendly, they take the time to chat to you and to get to know you. If you need anything they are always willing to help where they can. I have had many different types of trip here. Trips with the girls from work, my daughters teenage school friends 6 of them and two adults. Family trips, trips with my dog, its for everyone this holiday. I have travelled to many a country abroad stayed in many hotels etc, and nothing compares to Wheatacre, its wonderful for chilling out, exciting holidays etc, etc, Im going back in september and December which are already booked. Its also great with the Hot tub, Games room swimming pool etc the list is endless.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed at the Wheatacre hall barns in March 2012 for a short break and thoroughly enjoyed it. The barn we stayed in was The Partridge for 2 people, it was so charming and everything you could possible want was there, even a tv at the end of the whirlpool bath so that you don't miss the soaps when your getting ready to go out lol! The area around the farm is so relaxing. The owners have thought of everything for families aswell with all the facilities they provide, and what a treat it was to go and watch the cows being milked and seeing the new calves. There is lots to do in the area and you can even swim for free.
Joanna is very welcoming. We will definately visit again.

Jo & Pete Madeley Derby

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoMadeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I work overseas and visit the UK to visit family often, renting accommodation for the weeks at home. Since I found Wheatacre Barns I stay no were else. I researched holiday rentals in the area and have found no better accommodation, trust me, I am in the hotel business. This would be the equivalent to Leading Hotels or Small Luxury Hotels of the World. I was tired of renting accom and be disappointed.This is quality, very very clean, pet friendly, great amenities, a fantastic games room, jacuzzi, even shop with your basic farm fresh items, eggs, diary etc from the owners own herd. Joanna is there to take care of your every need. They even have a fantastic meal service were you can order in freshly prepared meals. Call ahead before you arrive and it's there. It really is excellent food! we had double baked smoked salmon souffles & fresh fish pie! amazing! I've stayed in Mallard, great with friends/family, Woodcock and recently Partridge and looking to return in the summer & winter. Relaxing, peaceful, regenerating. Wheatacre has got it right and they deserve success. It's location is excellent, on the Norfolk/Suffolk border, in the country yet between the bustling city of Norwich, Norfolk Broads & Gt Yarmouth and the market town of Beccles. Forget the rest, this is the best!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I spent the recent half term break in one of the 6 person barns and we had a fantastic time. The barns have been converted to an immaculate standard and although the shower heads could do with a descaling, it was a perfect location.

We arrived late one evening to find essentials like milk and tea already supplied as well as a nice selection of locally made biscuits - yum!

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they even encouraged you to get involved with farm life like seeing new calves bein born or milking at the diary!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BallymenaBazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We hired Teal Barn for 3 nights inbetween Xmas and New Year and weren't disappointed. We were greeted warmly by Joanna the owner who is always in her office on site. The barn itself is well equipped warm and comfortable. There were 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms so perfect for 3 couples to share. We enjoyed the hot tub at the end of the day and the games room is a great facility for all to share. You can buy diary essentials from the office shop which is really handy. You do need a car as the local pub is a decent walk away and on a dark night wouldn't be very appealing but Beccles, Lowestoft and Southwold all close by with lovely villages inbetween. Don't miss out - book now!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bugbabe333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We stayed in Partridge barn which is for 2 people , the accomodation is outstanding with everything you could need and more, radio and ipod in lounge and bedroom which can be turned on in either room or both , tv in the bathroom, cows and pheasant 10 yards from your back door. The location is excellent for short trips to little villages and a short drive from Great Yarmouth.There are plenty of good pubs for meals or just enjoying a beer in front of roaring log fires, an excellent location supported by superb accomodation, great for couples and families alike

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moggie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beccles hotels
3.4 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beccles
561 reviews
3.4 mi away
Waveney House Hotel
Waveney House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beccles
351 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Swan Motel
The Swan Motel
#1 of 10 in Beccles
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Dawn Chorus Holidays - The Pines
3.4 mi away
The Swan House
The Swan House
#5 of 10 in Beccles
189 reviews
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Wheatacre White Lion
#4 of 4 in Beccles
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheatacre Hall Barns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheatacre Hall Barns

Address: Wheatacre Hall Station Road | Wheatacre, Beccles NR34 0AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Beccles
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Beccles
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 5 star self- catering converted barns on a working dairy and arable farm. Located in South Norfolk in the Waveney Valley close the the North Suffolk boarder surrounded by the Southern Norfolk Broads. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wheatacre Hall Barns Hotel Beccles
Wheatacre Hall Barns Beccles, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing