We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beccles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wheatacre Hall Barns
GreenLeadersGold level
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic!”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This place absolutely deserves to do well - it's wonderful.

First and foremost, Joanna deserves a special mention as she is wonderful. Always welcoming, smiling, friendly, professional and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for her. We'll miss popping in to see her for our fresh eggs in the morning.

The barns themselves are well appointed and the setting is beautiful. We felt welcomed immediately, especially by the complimentary delectable cappuccino cake! We loved our barm as it was unique, quirky, clean, modern and comfortable. The beds were super comfy and the needs of our toddler were also catered for with travel cot and child gates all ready for our arrival.

We didn't get chance to make much use of the other amenities like the hot tub, playbarn etc, as we were busy out and about seeing the sights, but they all looked fantastic when we popped in.

We do fully intend to return here in the near future and make staying here something of a habit! Truly lovely. What a find!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah12091980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    0
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We found this place a couple of years ago and went on girl's weekend away, staying in Coot. We booked the beautician which was great. Hot tub, games room and Coot brilliant. Been back twice now with the family and stayed in Mallard. Kids love the freedom of going up and playing games, seeing the animals. We've just got back from weekend with another family, 6 kids and three dogs had a fantastic time, booked Coot and Mallard as next to each other. Southwold gorgeous for a visit and don't miss the really funny old fashioned arcade on the pier, kids aged between 4 and 21 all loved it.

Room Tip: All the barns look lovely but Mallard is all on one level so good if mobility problems or very young...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMRRRRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We visited Wheatacre Hall Barns for a week during last half term. Stayed in one of the larger barns (Teal) with my son, his wife and two children. What a wonderful place for a family to stay. The children loved it and didn't want to leave. Although it was in the heart of very pretty countryside there was plenty to do. There was a games room, soft play area for younger children, a picnic area, jacuzzi, plenty of bicycles for adults and children to use. The barns had everything you need for self catering. I was quite triumphant when I couldn't find a cheese grater. Five minutes later my son produced the grater from the back of the cupboard. Enough said! The star of the holiday was Jo Burroughs, who worked so hard to make our holiday a success. Nothing was too much trouble for her. On the day we arrived at the barn, there, waiting for us, was a delicious home made cake, eggs, milk, yogurt, tea, sugar and coffee. Her little office contained lots of board games, sports equipment,children's videos etc. the children were allowed to go to the office and choose. no deposit, no rentals no writing down names, just a big smile from Jo. I'd like to thank Jo and her team for making a perfect holiday for three generations. They really do think of everything. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goldenoldie010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My wife and I stayed in Partridge with our dog and 18month old son. The attention to detail was fantastic and the photos on the website do not do the place justice. Jo was amazing, always on hand with a smile, and nothing was too much trouble. Others in the hospitality industry could take notes from Jo. The visitors book consists of repeat business and it is not hard to see why. We are certainly staying next year and we are bringing to whole family to share this true gem of the Suffolk countryside.

Room Tip: There is accommodation for all tastes although the Partridge barn was excellent for a romantic getaw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5cubatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Having stayed here last year with our friends (where we had such an enjoyable weekend break with our kids) we decided to book again for a family gathering to celebrate a 70th birthday. This time we were accommodated in Teal and Coot which was ideal as there were 11 of us in our party and we all had a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

Our accommodation (Coot) comprised of 3 bedrooms, one en suite bathroom, one family bathroom and a further shower room on the ground floor, a gorgeous galleried landing as well as a very large open plan living area with plenty of sitting space and dining space. The kitchen was also large and fully equipped and has everything you would have at home down to the very finest detail.

The whole accommodation was spotless, and I really mean outstandingly clean, and had many little touches such as a homemade (Halloween) cake on the counter, fresh eggs from the farm, yoghurt and milk in the fridge from the dairy which all added to the specialness of the place.

For our toddlers there was a super soft play area with under floor heating, a fitness room and a great games room with table tennis, pool, table football and a large screen TV.

As well as all of this, a Jacuzzi in its own cabin and miles of open fields to walk around in or even a visit to see the cows being milked. Not only did we enjoy the place we loved being in the countryside.

We ill be back next year, and cant wait.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaffW61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West midlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I can't tell anyone enough how good this place is ! Barns are well equipped , clean and spacious. On arrival you get a welcome pack which adds a lovely extra touch , we have visited now 3 times with family and dogs and each time have been made to feel extremely welcome . We haven't been this year and tried somewhere new which I regret so may be booking before the year is out ! :)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Netstar19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed at Pheasant Barn for a long weekend. It was lovely. The cottage is very comfortable, well equipped and spotless. There was a lovely starter hamper (tea, coffee, sugar, salt & pepper, local milk, eggs, yoghurt, homemade muffins and fresh flowers, plus all the cleaning liquids). The games room, soft play, range of toys kept our 4 year old busy. The view from the barn is lovely, cows grazing, fields for miles. There are lovely walks and lots to do in the area. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to BeWilderwood and Africa Alive, with a stop off at Snape Maltings and Jimmy's Farm on our way back to London. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familytraveller229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beccles
3.4 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beccles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
1.5 mi away
Waveney Inn
Waveney Inn
#1 of 1 in Burgh St Peter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lowestoft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Waveney House Hotel
Waveney House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beccles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
2.1 mi away
Waveney River Centre
Waveney River Centre
#1 of 1 in Burgh St Peter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Swan Motel
The Swan Motel
#2 of 11 in Beccles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheatacre Hall Barns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheatacre Hall Barns

Property: Wheatacre Hall Barns
Address: Wheatacre Hall Station Road | Wheatacre, Beccles NR34 0AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Beccles
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Beccles
Hotel Class:4 star — Wheatacre Hall Barns 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 5 star self- catering converted barns on a working dairy and arable farm. Located in South Norfolk in the Waveney Valley close the the North Suffolk boarder surrounded by the Southern Norfolk Broads. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wheatacre Hall Barns Hotel Beccles
Wheatacre Hall Barns Beccles, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing