We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beccles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wheatacre Hall Barns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed here for a week in June 2014 and its been great. Excellent facilities, views, host. The Thai pub half a mile away is great and the food is delicious! Very good games room on site and hot tub. The decor is great but if you are visiting with small children/babies bring some window black outs as the blinds in the room do let the morning light in. Would definitely stay here again if we visit the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
There are newer reviews for Wheatacre Hall Barns
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed over a weekend in April. Had a fantastic time, Jo was ever so welcoming. Mallard barn was extremely comfortable and well equipped, couldn't fault anything here. The location was really good. First night we had a takeaway delivered, second night we walked 10mins down the road to the local pub and had Thai food. Used the hot tub,games room and visited the Dairy - kids loved it. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 88beep88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a week staying at Wheatacre Hall barns...what a wonderful place! Well maintained grounds and a friendly welcome from Joanna was what greeted us on our arrival.

We stayed in Widgeon barn-beautiful, light and airy accommodation that has everything you could possibly need during your stay. Lots of little extras that were very much appreciated...homemade carrot cupcakes, fresh eggs,milk, yoghurts & cream from the farm and stair gates, travel cot & highchair all spotless & in place for our 20 month old daughter. Joanna also accepted an online food shop on our behalf putting away the cold food for us before our arrival...all little things that make this place different class. Accommodation was sparkling clean & couldn't be faulted.

Facilities outstanding-games barn good fun for our daily table tennis competition & the soft play barn certainly well used by our daughter! Able to use bikes (all well maintained with helmets & a child seat) free of charge for the afternoon for a cycle to nearby River Centre/marina....certainly recommend!

Wheatacre is well situated to get out and about...a day spent in Great Yarmouth, a lovely afternoon at Southwold and lunch and wander in Beccles. We even stayed at the barns for a day enjoying the sunshine, copious amount of green space and watching the cows in the maternity barn!

In summary, a wonderful family holiday and have booked again next year! It's a place that certainly makes business on returning customers who have found an absolute gem & revisit year after year to enjoy everything it has to offer. Thank you Joanna!

Stayed: April 2014
3  Thank NSmith78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Cannot fault this family run but very professional self catering cottages at all, we have had a fantastic stay and are very reluctant to go home! The staff have been very welcoming especially Jo who was always on hand to help with information and the staff at the milking plant where my children spent most of their time! The property was immaculate , exceptionally well equipped and decorated along with the very well stocked farm shop and endless cupboard of board games and outside games, my son has also been given a bike for the week which has saved us bringing his own. I would highly recommend the Wheatacre hall barns for families and couples of all ages we will definitely be back thank you for a memorable stay.

Room Tip: All fantastic
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie29563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

18 of us as a family stayed here for a long weekend to celebrate mum and dads 50th Wedding anniversary and it was absolutely brilliant!! we didn't want to go home. The Games room suits all ages, table tennis, table top football and watching SKY sports football on the big projector screen on Sunday afternoon was great! The GYM was well used along with the fantastic hot tub, the farm cow shed was near so it was lovely just to watch them and they didn't smell too bad!. The dog came too so lots of long walks along with short walks to the local pub, could not ask for more. We have rebooked for next year.

Room Tip: every room/barn excellent!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had 5 of the barns for a friends 50th birthday, excellent accommodation, lots of lovely finishing touches to each barn, loved the hot tub,cows,gym& games room. Had a nice walk to the local white lion pub for Sunday lunch all 34 of us.would highly recommend, can't wait to book again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank sue s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This place absolutely deserves to do well - it's wonderful.

First and foremost, Joanna deserves a special mention as she is wonderful. Always welcoming, smiling, friendly, professional and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for her. We'll miss popping in to see her for our fresh eggs in the morning.

The barns themselves are well appointed and the setting is beautiful. We felt welcomed immediately, especially by the complimentary delectable cappuccino cake! We loved our barm as it was unique, quirky, clean, modern and comfortable. The beds were super comfy and the needs of our toddler were also catered for with travel cot and child gates all ready for our arrival.

We didn't get chance to make much use of the other amenities like the hot tub, playbarn etc, as we were busy out and about seeing the sights, but they all looked fantastic when we popped in.

We do fully intend to return here in the near future and make staying here something of a habit! Truly lovely. What a find!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah12091980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beccles
3.4 mi away
Waveney House Hotel
Waveney House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beccles
317 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beccles
532 reviews
15.3 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
503 reviews
3.8 mi away
Fritton Arms HOTEL
Fritton Arms HOTEL
#1 of 1 in Fritton
171 reviews
19.6 mi away
Dairy Barns Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheatacre Hall Barns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheatacre Hall Barns

Address: Wheatacre Hall Station Road | Wheatacre, Beccles NR34 0AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Beccles
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Beccles
Hotel Class:4 star — Wheatacre Hall Barns 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 5 star self- catering converted barns on a working dairy and arable farm. Located in South Norfolk in the Waveney Valley close the the North Suffolk boarder surrounded by the Southern Norfolk Broads. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wheatacre Hall Barns Hotel Beccles
Wheatacre Hall Barns Beccles, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing