We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor value”
Review of Twyfords

Twyfords
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Beccles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$16
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Poor value”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Twyford's used to be a great place for a coffee, cake and light meals so maybe it has rested on its laurels and decided to inflate its prices. The ambience, especially the garden at the rear, is pleasant enough but I'm afraid at £2.50 for a small/regular Americano coffee it is significantly over-priced and there is little to mitigate/justify why it is so expensive.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Calmascustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    106
    63
    35
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Malling
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great place to grab a lunch or cake to go.”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Since moving to Beccles, I've been a regular visit to Twyfords, starting off by dining-in with their afternoon tea on the first encounter with all subsequent visits to get food to go. The quality of the food is excellent although very pricey for dining in, with the surcharge being considerably more than simply adding VAT to the take away price. A fiver will get you a premium toasted sandwich (delicious, by the way), packet of crisps and a drink.

I'd highly recommend popping in next time you're in Beccles as their cakes, ice cream and luxury chocolates are all delicious. It's worth noting that they clearly mark the ingredients used in the cakes, etc, so very useful indeed if you have food allergies.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PuffinRub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very Impressed”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I have been to this cafe / restaurant several times and have never been failed in the excellence of service and food. I went yesterday for lunch, as I was shopping in Beccles with my 30 year old son. We both decided on the skillet cooked all day breakfast. It arrived sizzling hot in the skillet it was cooked in. It had everything in it: Bacon, sausage, potato, croutons, mushrooms and tomatoes, all chopped and fried, with two lovely fried eggs in the middle. Sensational! Followed it up with some of their delicious marmalade ice-cream. Again - sensational. Would definitely go again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Too expensive and cramped surroundings”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

The food is way too overpriced and when there is a group of you, you have to crowd around a small table to the disgruntlement of the staff. Not a great cafe...

Helpful?
2 Thank Daredevil3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“What a delight”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My husband and i had lunch in this delightful place on Easter Saturday, It was really crowded but the staff were so pleasant. The food is probably a bit overpriced but was absouletely delicious and nicely presented. The deserts were also mouthwatering.
If we were in the area again we would most certainly return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gymbatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Twyfords also viewed

 
Beccles, Suffolk
 

Been to Twyfords? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing