We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and comfortable”
Review of Hotel Podhrad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Podhrad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed here overnight whilst on a cycle touring holiday. The first impression was very good as the hotel have a dedicated and very large garage/ barn for keeping our cycles safe and secure.

The room was comfortable but not superbly comfortable: The temperature outside was VERY HOT and the attic rooms have no air con (maybe the other rooms do?), and thus our sleep was not exactly comfortable.

The shower room was large and clean

Breakfast was average - why oh why is it so difficult to get a real coffee? The hotel is certainly not cheap and I really expected to find a proper coffee machine in the breakfast room and a selection of FRESH pastries. Large selection of meats, cheese and bread, etc

Would I stay again? No...

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank theyogaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPodhrad, external sales manager at Hotel Podhrad, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear guest, thank you very much that you found some time and reviewed us. We will try to work on our breakfast menu. Overall thank you for your visit and hopefully after some time you will visit our beautiful country again as well as hotel Podhrad. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Podhrad
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2011

I'd like to thank Hotel Podhrad management as they have been very polite and very professional for a reservation misunderstanding.
Thank you very much, hoping to see you soon!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edocolombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPodhrad, external sales manager at Hotel Podhrad, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

"Thank you very much for your stay at hotel Podhrad and your nice review, we really appreciate it.

Best regards,
The HotelPodhrad team"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

We spent a nice weekend in this hotel. A romactic package. Everything OK, but for the price, which was not cheap, I expect more than that. All the details that make a hotel worth to come back went wrong. After our arrival we have been told that a surprise is waiting for us at our room. The surprise was a warm sparkling wine. Without any sparkling-wine glasses. The breakfast wasnot as rich as I would espect, you have to ask the staff to bring you everything, nothing comes automatically. The coffee really horrible, but if you ask, you will get an espresso for free. The cakes just artificial, from the supermarket I guess. The same about the deserts in the hotel restaurant. The chambermaid didnt clean up the dust bin at our room, the room cleaning in general was relatively soft. The wine-list in the restaurant was poor. But as I said, it is everything about details. I liked the small wellness spot as well as the parking opportunity for the hotel guests (without the hotel-card rather problematic). The village Hluboka is clean, nice and safe. So everything fine, but not for the most demanding guests.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reposak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPodhrad, external sales manager at Hotel Podhrad, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

"Thank you very much for your stay and for your review, we really appreciate your feedback.

The satisfaction of our guests is essential for us, we appologize for the inconvenience. A feedback like yours helps us to make our hotel the best place for our guests.

We appologize once more for the inconvenience and we hope to welcome you soon again to offer you a nice relaxing stay."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We stayed in the hotel annexe, which has rooms all round the adjacent courtyard which felt like a converted stables area. Very spacious room with a great view over the countryside. Bathroom was great, but beds were a little too soft for our liking. Breakfast was quite good, but the coffee came out of a giant urn and consequently wasn't great.

Hluboka itself is an undiscovered gem (well, at least to us Brits), with a great castle and easy access to cycling routes.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrKemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPodhrad, external sales manager at Hotel Podhrad, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for very much for your nice review, we are very glad you enjoyed your stay. We would be more than happy to welcome you at hotel Podhrad again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2010

V Zari 2009 jsme meli v Hotelu Podhrad svatbu...pani Lenka planovala vsechno....a vsechno dopadlo skvele. Hotel bych rozhodne doporucila vsem, lokalita je skvela...hned pod zamkem. I kdyz mozna trochu drahe na mistni pomery, obcas trocha luxusu, skveleho jidla a milych cisniku nezaskodi.

We got married in September 2009 in Hluboka Castle and had reception in Hotel Podhrad afterwards. Mrs. Lenka organized everything and we had spectacular day! Most of our friends stayed there as well...staff was friendly, Czech food is excellent, we stayed in honeymoon suite, which was spaces and lovely with only balcony in hotel. You place for romance!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucieandBradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPodhrad, Front Office Manager at Hotel Podhrad, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014
Google Translation

Dobrý den, děkujeme za Váš pobyt v hotelu Podhrad i za hezkou recenzi. Jsme rádi, že Vám byl personál a konkrétně Lenka nápomocná a rádi jsme udělali vše k Vaší spokojenosti. Budeme potěšeni, když k nám přijedete a strávíte u nás víkend či dovolenou. Front office manager hotelu Podhrad.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kateřina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pavlína S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hluboka nad Vltavou
0.1 mi away
Wellness Hotel Diamant
Wellness Hotel Diamant
#1 of 5 in Hluboka nad Vltavou
107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Zavis z Falenstejna
Hotel Zavis z Falenstejna
#4 of 5 in Hluboka nad Vltavou
21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stekl Hotel
Stekl Hotel
#3 of 5 in Hluboka nad Vltavou
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Parkhotel Hluboka nad Vltavou
Parkhotel Hluboka nad Vltavou
#5 of 5 in Hluboka nad Vltavou
23 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Zvon
Grand Hotel Zvon
#3 of 20 in Ceske Budejovice
344 reviews
17.3 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#1 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Podhrad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Podhrad

Address: Nam. Chsl. Armady 30, Hluboka nad Vltavou 373 41, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Hluboka nad Vltavou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Hluboka nad Vltavou
Price Range: £39 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Podhrad 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the fantastic amenities and services of the Hotel Podhrad in the heart of Hluboka nad Vltavou, take a time and visit the one of the most beautiful place in the South Bohemian region. Our hotel is situated a few steps from the unique state castle Hluboka.The hotel offers free parking, guarded by camera system, free internet access, a wellness center and restaurant with a wide range of local cuisine. This stylish hotel meets all the standards of modern accommodation in the beautiful rooms and luxury suites. Guest rooms have bathroom with bath or shower, WC, hairdryer, safe, minibar, direct dial telephone, satellite TV and free the internet connection. Guests can dine in the stylish restaurant, which seats up to 80 people. The menu consists of a variety of domestic specialities, which are complemented by a wide selection of Moravian and foreign wines. Our team of chefs is ready to satisfy every of your wish and mediate an unforgettable culinary experience. If you're aching to create unforgettable events, hotel Podhrad is the perfect place to do it. Air-conditioned hall and restaurant with natural light are suitable for conferences and social events, corporate parties, meetings, seminars, gala events and wedding receptions. There is a professional sound system and modern presentation equipment. Revive body, mind and spirits with a visit to our wellness area. Come for glamour or relaxation and be restored from the stress and strain of modern life. Our guests could use the hotel's wellness center with swimming pool 2,5 x 5 m, whirlpool, sauna, infra sauna, massages and beauty services.Dependency hotel Knizeci dvur **** located only a few steps from the hotel Podhrad ****, was opened in 2006. Guests could visit the local gallery inside, presenting works by renowned contemporary artists. Breakfast,wellness and restaurant amenities are provided in the main building. Hotel Podhrad is regional winner Hotel of the year (CHA 2013) in South Bohemian Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Podhrad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing