We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite good”
Review of Hotel Podhrad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Podhrad
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quite good”
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We spent a package holiday in Hotel Podhrad. The first impression was ok, but problems were in details. We got room somewhere else than reservation said to be, we got a surprise - hot sparkling wine without any glasses in the room... The room itself was quite ok, but not equiped as you would expect in 4stars hotel. What made us really surprised was that the staff at reception desk did not know anything about near attractions in the city nor how to get there... They also did not provide any maps. Last thing - we had a baby with us. It spilt some water on the carpet during the dinner. The waitress got a bucket and a rag to our table and asked us to clean it. :-( Very strange. Also the waitress did not know how to really serve food and wine... So - the hotel is fine but is not worth 4 stars for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zdenka411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPodhrad, external sales manager at Hotel Podhrad, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest, we are very sorry to hear about your inconvenience during Your stay at our hotel. As You may know, we have changed a lot of things since Your stay and we will be more than happy to welcome You here again to improve Your opinion about our hotel. We try to improve our services so Your opinionhas been very valued and helped us to change some imperfections. Thank You for your review and we hope You will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    37
    19
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
59
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Nice place, nice view, nice rooms... clean, quiet. Perfect breakfast. The only "problem" is just one card per a room which you need even to open the door to the building... so you have to go in together all the time. Good price for the spa services (whirlpool, sauna, swimming pool with counterflow). Lots of parking places in price.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lukas_Vo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPodhrad, external sales manager at Hotel Podhrad, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you that you found the time to write a review, we really appreciate it.Its a real pleasure to read a comment like this, we are glad you enjoyed our services. Looking foward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed here overnight whilst on a cycle touring holiday. The first impression was very good as the hotel have a dedicated and very large garage/ barn for keeping our cycles safe and secure.

The room was comfortable but not superbly comfortable: The temperature outside was VERY HOT and the attic rooms have no air con (maybe the other rooms do?), and thus our sleep was not exactly comfortable.

The shower room was large and clean

Breakfast was average - why oh why is it so difficult to get a real coffee? The hotel is certainly not cheap and I really expected to find a proper coffee machine in the breakfast room and a selection of FRESH pastries. Large selection of meats, cheese and bread, etc

Would I stay again? No...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank theyogaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPodhrad, external sales manager at Hotel Podhrad, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much that you found some time and reviewed us. We will try to work on our breakfast menu. Overall thank you for your visit and hopefully after some time you will visit our beautiful country again as well as hotel Podhrad. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

I'd like to thank Hotel Podhrad management as they have been very polite and very professional for a reservation misunderstanding.
Thank you very much, hoping to see you soon!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edocolombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPodhrad, external sales manager at Hotel Podhrad, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
"Thank you very much for your stay at hotel Podhrad and your nice review, we really appreciate it.

Best regards,
The HotelPodhrad team"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

We spent a nice weekend in this hotel. A romactic package. Everything OK, but for the price, which was not cheap, I expect more than that. All the details that make a hotel worth to come back went wrong. After our arrival we have been told that a surprise is waiting for us at our room. The surprise was a warm sparkling wine. Without any sparkling-wine glasses. The breakfast wasnot as rich as I would espect, you have to ask the staff to bring you everything, nothing comes automatically. The coffee really horrible, but if you ask, you will get an espresso for free. The cakes just artificial, from the supermarket I guess. The same about the deserts in the hotel restaurant. The chambermaid didnt clean up the dust bin at our room, the room cleaning in general was relatively soft. The wine-list in the restaurant was poor. But as I said, it is everything about details. I liked the small wellness spot as well as the parking opportunity for the hotel guests (without the hotel-card rather problematic). The village Hluboka is clean, nice and safe. So everything fine, but not for the most demanding guests.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reposak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPodhrad, external sales manager at Hotel Podhrad, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
"Thank you very much for your stay and for your review, we really appreciate your feedback.

The satisfaction of our guests is essential for us, we appologize for the inconvenience. A feedback like yours helps us to make our hotel the best place for our guests.

We appologize once more for the inconvenience and we hope to welcome you soon again to offer you a nice relaxing stay."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We stayed in the hotel annexe, which has rooms all round the adjacent courtyard which felt like a converted stables area. Very spacious room with a great view over the countryside. Bathroom was great, but beds were a little too soft for our liking. Breakfast was quite good, but the coffee came out of a giant urn and consequently wasn't great.

Hluboka itself is an undiscovered gem (well, at least to us Brits), with a great castle and easy access to cycling routes.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrKemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPodhrad, external sales manager at Hotel Podhrad, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for very much for your nice review, we are very glad you enjoyed your stay. We would be more than happy to welcome you at hotel Podhrad again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2010

V Zari 2009 jsme meli v Hotelu Podhrad svatbu...pani Lenka planovala vsechno....a vsechno dopadlo skvele. Hotel bych rozhodne doporucila vsem, lokalita je skvela...hned pod zamkem. I kdyz mozna trochu drahe na mistni pomery, obcas trocha luxusu, skveleho jidla a milych cisniku nezaskodi.

We got married in September 2009 in Hluboka Castle and had reception in Hotel Podhrad afterwards. Mrs. Lenka organized everything and we had spectacular day! Most of our friends stayed there as well...staff was friendly, Czech food is excellent, we stayed in honeymoon suite, which was spaces and lovely with only balcony in hotel. You place for romance!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucieandBradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPodhrad, Front Office Manager at Hotel Podhrad, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Google Translation
Dobrý den, děkujeme za Váš pobyt v hotelu Podhrad i za hezkou recenzi. Jsme rádi, že Vám byl personál a konkrétně Lenka nápomocná a rádi jsme udělali vše k Vaší spokojenosti. Budeme potěšeni, když k nám přijedete a strávíte u nás víkend či dovolenou. Front office manager hotelu Podhrad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hluboka nad Vltavou
0.1 mi away
Wellness Hotel Diamant
Wellness Hotel Diamant
#1 of 5 in Hluboka nad Vltavou
106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Zavis z Falenstejna
Hotel Zavis z Falenstejna
#4 of 5 in Hluboka nad Vltavou
20 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stekl Hotel
Stekl Hotel
#3 of 5 in Hluboka nad Vltavou
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Parkhotel Hluboka nad Vltavou
Parkhotel Hluboka nad Vltavou
#5 of 5 in Hluboka nad Vltavou
22 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Zvon
Grand Hotel Zvon
#3 of 20 in Ceske Budejovice
335 reviews
5.1 mi away
Clarion Congress Hotel Ceske Budejovice
Clarion Congress Hotel Ceske Bud...
#2 of 20 in Ceske Budejovice
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Podhrad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Podhrad

Property: Hotel Podhrad
Address: Nam. Chsl. Armady 30, Hluboka nad Vltavou 373 41, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Hluboka nad Vltavou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Hluboka nad Vltavou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Podhrad 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the fantastic amenities and services of the Hotel Podhrad in the heart of Hluboka nad Vltavou, take a time and visit the one of the most beautiful place in the South Bohemian region. Our hotel is situated a few steps from the unique state castle Hluboka.The hotel offers free parking, guarded by camera system, free internet access, a wellness center and restaurant with a wide range of local cuisine. This stylish hotel meets all the standards of modern accommodation in the beautiful rooms and luxury suites. Guest rooms have bathroom with bath or shower, WC, hairdryer, safe, minibar, direct dial telephone, satellite TV and free the internet connection. Guests can dine in the stylish restaurant, which seats up to 80 people. The menu consists of a variety of domestic specialities, which are complemented by a wide selection of Moravian and foreign wines. Our team of chefs is ready to satisfy every of your wish and mediate an unforgettable culinary experience. If you're aching to create unforgettable events, hotel Podhrad is the perfect place to do it. Air-conditioned hall and restaurant with natural light are suitable for conferences and social events, corporate parties, meetings, seminars, gala events and wedding receptions. There is a professional sound system and modern presentation equipment. Revive body, mind and spirits with a visit to our wellness area. Come for glamour or relaxation and be restored from the stress and strain of modern life. Our guests could use the hotel's wellness center with swimming pool 2,5 x 5 m, whirlpool, sauna, infra sauna, massages and beauty services.Dependency hotel Knizeci dvur **** located only a few steps from the hotel Podhrad ****, was opened in 2006. Guests could visit the local gallery inside, presenting works by renowned contemporary artists. Breakfast,wellness and restaurant amenities are provided in the main building. Hotel Podhrad is regional winner Hotel of the year (CHA 2013) in South Bohemian Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Podhrad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing