We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Karlstejn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Karlstejn
Ranked #1 of 10 Karlstejn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Karlstejn, Stredocesky Kraj, Czech Republic
1 review
“Very nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

We spend here very nice and excited weekend. This hotel is comfortable and very nice, good price, clean and really nice designed rooms with own sanitary facilities (shower, wc), parking, heplful, diligent and friendly staff. Good location of the hotel. Beautiful nature around, possibility to see Koneprusy caves, Big America canyon and of course Karlstejn Castle, and it's not far from Prague. So i can really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krist_na_M551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    18
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
26
44
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Yerushalayim, Israel
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this excellent hotel: Comfortable, very clean room. Very helpful staff and manager!! They did everything to help us with all our needs. Not expensive, although it is in very near the main tourist atraction of the region, the Karlstejn castle which is just above the hotel. Parking lot in the hotel helped a lot, since otherwise it is not possible to enter the vilage by car during the day. At night very quiet, after shops close. It is also a good starting point to make nature tours, and also close to Prague.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus Nebraska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

This hotel was close to the castle and had parking. It was charming and had great food. The room was furnished with furniture that carried out the theme of the area. This place should be your first choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobandJudy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno, Jihomoravsky Kraj, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

I ordered a room via booking.com for me and my gf and asked them to confirm the reservation of a double room (one large bed). I would have expected some feedback, however I didn't receive any reply to my request. Nevertheless the staff had made sure we get the correct room type. When we arrived there was no-one at the reception, so we had to ring the bell and were lucky enough that some other guests (who were already accomodated) were just coming in, so we didn't have to wait outside in the cold, coz it took the receptionist a while to come. At least he was very friendly and helped my gf get her suitcase on the room and he didn't even bother us with payments (this was taken care of during the check-out (which strangely took place at the hotel restaurant). The reception was hardly ever occupied which didn't leave the best impression. Nevertheless everyone was very friendly. The hotel comes free wifi, however it is password protected and you have to ask the receptionist right away, since there is no information and also no phone on the room. And even if you get the password there is no guarantee that it will work. It worked with my gf's iPhone yet it didn't work with my ultrabook. The hotel itself was very beautiful and looked very cozy and clean. The furniture has style and you can definitely see that ur in one of the better hotels. Room number 9, which was ours during the stay, had a wonderful view of the castle. The hotel is situated directly at the foot of the hill on top of which stands the castle, so it's not a long walk up there. However it's a 1.4 km walk to the train station. It's also a pity that the hotel restaurant only runs till 8 pm, so if you want to have ordinary dinner you have to go elsewhere. The restaurant recommended by the receptionist was good, yet much further away than indicated and also wasn't eqipped with an English menu, so I had to translate all the dishes to my gf. That was quite surprising in a town which lives from tourism and was definitely no pleasure for either of us. Still the food was good and not pricey, so that we were satisfied with the receptionist's reccomendation. It was a nice gesture that they gave us a little bottle of mead as a little present when we checked out but didn't quite make the fact undone that it's not very warm in the entire hotel and also the breakfast wasn't very rich. There was enough for both of us but not so much to choose from. All in all we were satisfied with the hotel though, they should just work a little more on their services, other than that it's maybe not quite deserved that they have 4 stars but this could easily be sorted out. The room wasn't pricey which is just another plus.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Pros: location to access Karlstejn Castle; secure car park. Now the downsides....a very small and cramped room, without castle view; unclear signage on road into Karlstejn to access hotel with a vehicle (we ended up paying for parking and walking to the hotel initially - road access is largely in a pedestrian area and very crowded); breakfast quite plain; staff not particularly helpful or friendly; walls thin and lacking soundproofing (in spite of this being a newer hotel we could clearly hear tv noise, people talking, etc. in other rooms). We would not return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DandDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karlstejn
Hotel Koruna
#3 of 3 in Karlstejn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Art Deco Hotel Imperial
Art Deco Hotel Imperial
#44 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,653 reviews
Penzion Karlstejn Vinice
#5 of 10 in Karlstejn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Penzion U Kralovny Dagmar
#2 of 10 in Karlstejn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Karlstejn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Karlstejn

Property: Hotel Karlstejn
Address: Karlshtejn 7, Karlstejn 267 18, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Central Bohemian Region > Karlstejn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Karlstejn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Karlstejn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel offers 11 tastefully furnished rooms, 9 doubles, 1 triple and 1 single room. Total capacity is 22 beds. On each of the rooms have private facilities, private bathroom with shower or bath, LCD TV, SAT, internet. One of the double rooms de luxe, which has a bathroom with tub and the most beautiful view of the castle Karlstejn, others are of the type or the Standard Apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Karlstejn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing