We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bad food, arrogant service, nice rooms however” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Romantic Hotel Mlyn Karlstejn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Romantic Hotel Mlyn Karlstejn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Karlstejn
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“bad food, arrogant service, nice rooms however”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

we stayed here for four days, but after first dinner we ate elsewhere. the food was really awful, service at the reception and restaurant unwilling and extremely arrogant. we had the best apartament and it was nice and spacious with large baththub, however not 100% clean. If you want to eat good, try the restaurant U Adama just below the castle.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank inq-visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dostaljr, Manager at Romantic Hotel Mlyn Karlstejn, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear client,

I would like to assure you, that we truly appreciate any feedback or commentary coming from our guest. However, we consider your critique to be greatly overblown and on the verge of defamation.
It is striking that according to your review you have stayed in hotel Mlyn in June, when the hotel was almost whole month closed, due to the damaged technical facilities caused by severe floods. It is a real shame that you did not inform us about you unpleasant experience during your stay, when we had the chance to solve any of the problems which you have described.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    18
    11
    1
    4
See reviews for
34
73
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed there from 24.09.2013 until 25.09.2013. The room and bath was spacious and clean. The rooms have a nice atmosphere. The mattresses were also good. Our room was facing the river which is quite loud - however if you close the windows it is almost not hearable anymore.

The Hotel staff was very polite and helped us out wherever they could (changing money for the train, etc., printing out schedules etc.) The waiter in the restaurant also was very attentive. We had lunch outside on the terrace. The quality of the food was good. The breakfast is also very nice.

The hotel is a charming, small hotel. It is located about 45 minutes with car or train from Prague City Center. The connection with the train is very easy and the train station is a 10-15 minutes walk from the Hotel.

The only negative thing was that we were not informed that the Spa was closed due to construction during our stay. When we asked where it is located in order to have a short look at it for future stays they did not want to explain to us where it is located in the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BBBGIH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

This is a very comfortable and stylished hotel, where you can spend few nights as a surprise for your beloved. Rooms are extremely nice (especially the romantic suite ment for honeymoon!), personnel is absolutely helpfull, food is very tidy. Ok, the spot was just after the floods, otherwise the surrounding of the river would look much nicer. But it was nothing against the overall feeling from this hotel. All the recommendations!! :)

Room Tip: The room on the side of terrace might be slightly louder when some guests are having a celebration t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariHari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

Chose this hotel without any prior reservations and we were not displeased. Minor misunderstanding at check in but all was resolved to our satisfaction. It was a bit of a gloomy late afternoon but it was pleasant watching a couple of folks trout fishing in the nearby river. Dinner was excellent as was the breakfast the following morning.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 12911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ehrenfriedersdorf, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

We really enjoyed the stay in this nice and quire hotel. The rooms and also the restaurant
were very tidy, the service excellent. The food was best quality and delicious. The nearby
railway station ensure best oportunity to travel to Prague in less about 30 min.

Room Tip: Rooms to the river side are quiter as the oposite rooms (rail road).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank re_hofmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindau, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stayed there 4 nights. It's a very nice Hotel lying in a beautiful area near to Praha. Also the service was restaurant. By the way, there's a very nice girl at the reception which was always very kind and helpful!!! Greetings to her by the way!
Very large, comfortable and tidy rooms. Also I liked the animals which are there to see, especially the donkeys and the picks.
If I can I'll come back and definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielH878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dostaljr, Manager at Romantic Hotel Mlyn Karlstejn, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your pleasant commentary. We are happy to know that you liked your stay. We will gladly pass your greetings to our receptionist. Hopefully we will soon have a chance to welcome back again at our hotel.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

Great location by the river Really awesome place with profesional approaching staff on highest level. Rooms are very comfortable and with amazing river view. Restaurant is just perfect and food is deliciour

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dddenis2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karlstejn
Praha 5
Wellness & SPA boutique Hotel pod Lipkami Prague
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Hotel Koruna
#3 of 3 in Karlstejn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Grand Litava
#2 of 5 in Beroun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Praha 5
Volcano Spa Hotel
Volcano Spa Hotel
#292 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#28 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantic Hotel Mlyn Karlstejn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantic Hotel Mlyn Karlstejn

Property: Romantic Hotel Mlyn Karlstejn
Address: Karlshtejn 329 | near Karlstejn Castle, Karlstejn 267 18, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Central Bohemian Region > Karlstejn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Karlstejn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Romantic Hotel Mlyn Karlstejn 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic Hotel Mlyn Karlstejn has unique location in the beautiful surroundings of the Protected Landscape Area of the Czech Karst, on the banks of the river Berounka, under the medieval castle Karlstejn, 25 km from the centre of Prague and 15 km from the international airport Ruzyne. Hotel disposes of a total of 21 stylishly furnished rooms, restaurant with a summer terrace, conference premises, relaxation centre and adjacent private island for organizing various social events -parties, weddings etc. Hotel serves also as a convenient point of departure for tourist trips to the wide surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Romantic Hotel Mlyn Karlstejn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing