We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Romantic Hotel Mlyn Karlstejn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Karlstejn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at Romantic hotel Mlyn Karlstejn for the first time and we were really satisfied with all services,our room with river view was clean and spacious,front office manager was professional worker and restaurant services were good as well, we tried to order fresh fish from inside aquarium and the fish was really testefull,
We recommend the acoomm at this hotel for all potentional visitors.

Room Tip: Room with river site
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank karel v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHOTELSPRAGUE, Manager at Romantic Hotel Mlyn Karlstejn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Mr. Karel,

thank you for your lovely comment! It is really nice of you. We are glad that you enjoyed your first stay in our hotel Mlýn Karlštejn and hopefully not the last stay. We do look forward to your next visit!

Best regards


Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

I can say only the best for hotel Mlyn, I stayed there with my family for second time.I recommend it for the others,especially I liked their ZOO with donkies and camels from Mongolia.
The countryside is also nice, prefering hotel location beside the river Berounka.

Room Tip: The best is the best room - no 108.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homza s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHOTELSPRAGUE, Manager at Romantic Hotel Mlyn Karlstejn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Mr. Homza,

thank you so much for your lovely comment! It is nice of you. We are glad that you and your family like our hotel Mlýn Karlštejn and our small ZOO. It is a good choice for family. We do look forward to your next visit!

Best regards

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Fantastic place for relaxing and if you choose stay for two nights with a package you can enjoy hotel restaurant and also other greek restaurant which is close to the hotel. Thanks for great unforgetable memories. K.T.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomsJakub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHOTELSPRAGUE, Manager at Romantic Hotel Mlyn Karlstejn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Mr. Toms,

thank you so much for your lovely comment! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel Mlýn Karlštejn. We do look forward to your next visit!

Best regards

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Hard place to find as the signs are very misleading. Don't ask at the Tourist Info because they don't care.
Room was nice at first glance with a lovely view,however, curtain was hanging off the rail, and the suitcase stand was broken No Aircon and it was very warm.The Bar and restaurant were closed so we decided to have a beer from the bar fridge- no such luck. Asked downstairs if we could get a beer- no bar is closed. We were directed to a nearby Greek restaurant were we could get a drink and decided to go back for dinner, which was very good.
Breakfast next morning was huge and delicious.
It's a good spot for visiting the castle though.

Room Tip: ASk for aircon-they may have some rooms with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank HollyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHOTELSPRAGUE, Manager at Romantic Hotel Mlyn Karlstejn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear client,

thank you for your comment. Minor deficiencies will be rectified as soon as possible, thank you for the warning. Every Monday and Tuesday hotel restaurant and bar are closed all year. We are glad that you enjoyed your meal in our Greek restaurant U Ezopa.

Best regards


Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is very nice looking hotel, (4*), on the excellent place, next to river, nice interior and I guess very good place for wedding parties. Unfortunately it looks better the it is in reality, especially if you look into details: air-condition cannot be regulated by yourself (on/off only, so cold and noisy or nothing), no lift (very "good" if you carry big luggage to the second floor by yourself, in front of rooms you see half day bags with dirty towels and blankets. Breakfast was good and nice, but again, no questions and we got eggs and sausage (we eat eggs but lot of people don't), the rest of food was already served on the table, no buffet. Terrace is not covered so after shower you cannot sit outside because everything is wet (it is a pity, most of guest would like to sit outside during the summer, inside the restaurant was quite hot). Dinner in the restaurant was just average quality and one of us got shrimps which were really bad and smelling on one meter, OK, they exchange them for something else, but they did not notice what they are serving? Chef came to check the matter and told us that shrimps arrived this morning, so it should be fresh, we asked him to taste, he promised to do it in the kitchen and then we did not see him anymore.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dostaljr, Manager at Romantic Hotel Mlyn Karlstejn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear client,
we are happy that You liked the Romantic hotel Mlyn and at the same time we thank you for Your insights and comments, which we will certainly use in improving services for our guests.As you might notice, the hotel is located in a historic building, /originally Mill/ which has undergone a complete reconstruction, but the historic character of the two floors building does not allow us to install the elevator . However, our front manager , on your demand would certainly like to help you with the luggage. Regarding the bags of dirty laundry--the hotel has reserved hours collection/time between chech out and check in/ so that clients were least bothered.
The summer terrace serves clients primarily in the sunny days, there are 5 large parasols and the sun-blind which sufficiently protects clients against the sun, but unfortunately when it rains, the adjacent restaurant overlooking the river is available.
Breakfast at the hotel, in the case of lower occupancy,is served as " minibuffet " directly on the table of the client and our staff is ready to meet any client's wishes. For the quality of the dinner we are very sorry, we have checked carefully with our Chef and we believe that a similar situation will not repeat.
Management Romantic Hotel Mlýn Karlštejn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We had room 207 which was set in the corner of the top floor. It was one of the few non smoking rooms at the hotel. The room was extremely spacious with large sitting and storage areas. It had a slightly rustic feel but was in good condition and contained quality furnishing. Lighting was muted and we could not get the air con to work. There was only one window but it offered a lovely view over the river and caught the breeze to cool the room down. The bed was quite comfy and was like a cocoon swallowing around you. Soundproofing was good and we could not hear any of the trains that some reviews have come across.
The bathroom was an adequate size with lots of storage but it had no shower cubicle and the shower head over the bath could only be set to hip height which was awkward. Amenities in the bathroom were plentiful but there were no tissues or in room coffee maker. The wifi signal was good.
Meals are served in a nice restaurant overlooking the river. Breakfast was mixed because on the first morning there was no buffet instead a selection had been laid out on the table which was quite limited. It turned out that very few guests were staying on our first morning where as on the second morning when it was busier a full buffet was offered. We did not appreciate this.
We had a late lunch one day as they offer an all day menu. The meals were good quality and we had sea bass with vegies, duck with cranberry sauce, excellent coffees and a chocolate soufflé.
The hotel is located on private grounds with a gated entrance and friendly farm animals although it is only a short drive to local attractions.
Overall a pleasant hotel.

Room Tip: There are only a handful of dedicated non smoking rooms. Rooms facing the river are the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TassieTravellers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

One night out of our busy life. I can highly recommend this hotel. We had a nice clean room with river view and the murmur of the river was very soothing. All staff was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the time in this place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petra Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karlstejn
Hotel Koruna
#3 of 3 in Karlstejn
35 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Appia Hotel Residences
Appia Hotel Residences
#11 of 646 in Prague
757 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel Ariston & Ariston Patio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 7
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#233 of 646 in Prague
714 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Elysee
Hotel Elysee
#163 of 646 in Prague
746 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Kavalir
Hotel Kavalir
#268 of 646 in Prague
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantic Hotel Mlyn Karlstejn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantic Hotel Mlyn Karlstejn

Address: Karlshtejn 329 | near Karlstejn Castle, Karlstejn 267 18, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Central Bohemian Region > Karlstejn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Karlstejn
Price Range: £82 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Romantic Hotel Mlyn Karlstejn 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic Hotel Mlyn Karlstejn has unique location in the beautiful surroundings of the Protected Landscape Area of the Czech Karst, on the banks of the river Berounka, under the medieval castle Karlstejn, 25 km from the centre of Prague and 15 km from the international airport Ruzyne. Hotel disposes of a total of 21 stylishly furnished rooms, restaurant with a summer terrace, conference premises, relaxation centre and adjacent private island for organizing various social events -parties, weddings etc. Hotel serves also as a convenient point of departure for tourist trips to the wide surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Romantic Hotel Mlyn Karlstejn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing