We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK hotel, bad food and very suspicious procedures” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Romantic Hotel Mlyn Karlstejn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Romantic Hotel Mlyn Karlstejn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Karlstejn
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“OK hotel, bad food and very suspicious procedures”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

I stayed for a wedding reception at this hotel recently. I decided to split my review in 3 areas:

Hotel was nice, well located, clean. had nice big rooms and bathrooms. Hotel 4/5.

Restaurant - every meal comes with tonnes of sodium glutamate. Salt + pepper would be enough to enjoy trout I ordered but chief decided to turn me into chemical plant. Conclusion - If you go there take your own food. Restaurant 1/5.

Procedures: They collect unacceptable amount of personal information. I was asked to provide: date of birth, place of birth, also address, all backed by ID. if that wouldn't be enough they even take down your credit card number (after the transaction was cleared via POS) and store it on their system. After I told receptionist that they collect a lot of sensitive data and that credit card details might be easily stolen by 14 year old with internet access and lot of time on his/her hand. She told me that it have happened believing that the internet if full of fairies and angels. This downgrades Hotel to 1.5/5

Total score: Terrible - if not the procedures I would rate it average (very good for hotel and terrible for restaurant).

WIFI did not work in my room - i had to go to the reception.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martinez007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHOTELSPRAGUE, Manager at Romantic Hotel Mlyn Karlstejn, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear client,

your comment very unpleasently surprised us, during your stay we haven´t received any complaint from you.

We are sorry that the check-in procedure has bothered you so much that you gave our hotel the worst rating. Please, let me inform you, that everywhere in the world upon arrival any client's obligation is to fill the accommodation form. In Czech republic it´s given by the Act on the stay of foreigners in Czech Republic. Presentation of CC is required as a guarantee – the normal check-in procedure of all international hotels.

In the hotel a modern, high-speed internet was installed recently. During your stay no technical problems were reported.

About food. We have never used and we don't use any chemical or artificals preparations, which you mention in your comment.

In the hotel you were staying just for one night, for the most part you were attending as a guest wedding receptions. The Menu and food was prepared on special request of the newlyweds and all were satisfied. We do not believe, therefore, that you could properly assess the dishes offered in MENU of hotel restaurant.

Your comment we consider to be inadequate and detrimental to the good reputation of the hotel Mlýn.

Best regards


Hotel Mlýn Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    18
    11
    1
    4
See reviews for
34
73
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

I found a Spa in Karlstejn little town known for magnificent kastle the Romantic Hotel Mlyn witch stands in own park by the river Berunka. Lots of space, art, flowers, unexpectedly quiet, petting zoo, sunny terrace, nice people, great service and mainly my favourite genuine romantic island.
Next time I will by back with my family, I think we dont need to leaf the property for few days.

Room Tip: My room towards the river was filled with the sound of the river. Real meditation. I relaxed well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHOTELSPRAGUE, Manager at Romantic Hotel Mlyn Karlstejn, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Mr. David,

thank you very much for your lovely comment! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel Mlýn Karlštejn. You are right, Karlštejn is the best place for family. We do look forward to your next visit!

Best regards


Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I visited this place with friends for one night.Beautiful environment, nature.We were very happy with the choice of rooms.
The restaurant was nice and clean, friendly service.The food we really enjoyed. Beautiful sitting on the terrace by the river. Certainly here again we return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GGPcoleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHOTELSPRAGUE, Manager at Romantic Hotel Mlyn Karlstejn, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear client,

thank you for your lovely comment! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel Mlýn Karlštejn. We do look forward to your next visit!

Best regards


Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Very nice hotel in quite area, nice for a couple weekend. Nice surrounding and great service. Clean and nice hotel room, no disturbing noise from other rooms. Very nice relax center.
I would recommend hotel restaurant, great food at a nice terrace.
Will came back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skopik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHOTELSPRAGUE, Manager at Romantic Hotel Mlyn Karlstejn, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Mr. Skopik,

thank you for your lovely comment! It is really nice of you. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel Mlýn Karlštejn. We do look forward to your next visit!

Best regards


Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilsen, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at Romantic hotel Mlyn Karlstejn for the first time and we were really satisfied with all services,our room with river view was clean and spacious,front office manager was professional worker and restaurant services were good as well, we tried to order fresh fish from inside aquarium and the fish was really testefull,
We recommend the acoomm at this hotel for all potentional visitors.

Room Tip: Room with river site
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karel v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHOTELSPRAGUE, Manager at Romantic Hotel Mlyn Karlstejn, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Mr. Karel,

thank you for your lovely comment! It is really nice of you. We are glad that you enjoyed your first stay in our hotel Mlýn Karlštejn and hopefully not the last stay. We do look forward to your next visit!

Best regards


Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I can say only the best for hotel Mlyn, I stayed there with my family for second time.I recommend it for the others,especially I liked their ZOO with donkies and camels from Mongolia.
The countryside is also nice, prefering hotel location beside the river Berounka.

Room Tip: The best is the best room - no 108.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank homza s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHOTELSPRAGUE, Manager at Romantic Hotel Mlyn Karlstejn, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Mr. Homza,

thank you so much for your lovely comment! It is nice of you. We are glad that you and your family like our hotel Mlýn Karlštejn and our small ZOO. It is a good choice for family. We do look forward to your next visit!

Best regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Fantastic place for relaxing and if you choose stay for two nights with a package you can enjoy hotel restaurant and also other greek restaurant which is close to the hotel. Thanks for great unforgetable memories. K.T.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomsJakub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHOTELSPRAGUE, Manager at Romantic Hotel Mlyn Karlstejn, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Mr. Toms,

thank you so much for your lovely comment! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel Mlýn Karlštejn. We do look forward to your next visit!

Best regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karlstejn
Praha 5
Wellness & SPA boutique Hotel pod Lipkami Prague
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Hotel Koruna
#3 of 3 in Karlstejn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Grand Litava
#2 of 5 in Beroun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Praha 5
Volcano Spa Hotel
Volcano Spa Hotel
#292 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#28 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantic Hotel Mlyn Karlstejn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantic Hotel Mlyn Karlstejn

Property: Romantic Hotel Mlyn Karlstejn
Address: Karlshtejn 329 | near Karlstejn Castle, Karlstejn 267 18, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Central Bohemian Region > Karlstejn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Karlstejn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Romantic Hotel Mlyn Karlstejn 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic Hotel Mlyn Karlstejn has unique location in the beautiful surroundings of the Protected Landscape Area of the Czech Karst, on the banks of the river Berounka, under the medieval castle Karlstejn, 25 km from the centre of Prague and 15 km from the international airport Ruzyne. Hotel disposes of a total of 21 stylishly furnished rooms, restaurant with a summer terrace, conference premises, relaxation centre and adjacent private island for organizing various social events -parties, weddings etc. Hotel serves also as a convenient point of departure for tourist trips to the wide surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Romantic Hotel Mlyn Karlstejn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing