We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Starhotels Vespucci
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Campi Bisenzio
Greece
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A bad experience”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Exterior/Hotel location & view:
The hotel is located very far from Florence. Even with moderate driving it takes 30 minutes to reach the city center. The area is industrial with high voltage power lines next to the hotel. Rooms are facing toward the power lines and a small river that has mosquitoes during spring time.

Public Areas/Reception Staff/Check-in:
Staff seemed very "stiff" trying to be professional but was not made you feel welcome nor friendly. The only friendly person we encountered was a woman at the reception. The hotels give the perception of a pseudo-expensive 4-star hotel. Leather couches and bronze/gold decoration. Slow speed free Wi-fi works inside the public areas with an annoying password you have to take a ticked each time from the reception.

Breakfast:
The breakfast experience was horrible. Cold croissants, sweet taste of omelet, burned-coil-like-bacon and generally the lack of variety. Also one day we had to eat the leftovers of other clients, nothing on the buffet (not even bread) and when I asked why the buffet is empty the explanation I received from the staff was just a plain "Sorry" not even an explanation. They did not even provide us an excuse. Other customers were complaining but nothing was done. Persons in charge were absolutely absent. The next day the buffet was normal by some kind of miracle

Room/Facilities:
The rooms were spacious with same style 50s-60s decoration and with big opening windows. Unfortunately our room had a very bad smell and odor of cigarette. The rooms have old carpets on the floor with ugly stains and spills on them (even coffee stains). Obviously the carpet absorbs all the smells & odors. Not healthy at all. Stains are also on the wall and on the old tapestry. We tried to sleep and we could not sleep from the strength of the cigarette odor. The next day we complained at the reception and the only option they offered is a change of room, the receptionist did not feel to really care if we slept or not. We were given the excuse that the rooms are non-smoking but some customers smoke. Rooms had an old tube-TV and refrigerator.

Cleanliness:
Cleaning service was provided every day.

Conclusion/Check-out:
I cannot suggest this hotel for anyone staying to Florence. The gas price and the bad quality of services do not justify the price difference that you will find with other Hotels closer to Florence. I would never come back to this Hotel. I have stayed on Starhotels before (in Milan) and the experience was far better there.

Pros:
+Price compared with other hotels in Florence
+Free Parking
+Spacious Rooms
+Comfortable beds

Cons:
-Stiff Staff
-Mediocre Breakfast
-Old carpets inside the rooms
-Expensive for the services provided
-Location is very far from Florence (30mins driving)
-Located in industrial line next to high voltage power lines

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yannis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    124
    79
    16
    15
See reviews for
56
90
11
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

The hotel is located in a rural/residential area about 35 minutes north of Florence. The rooms are spacious but the rungs were worn and soiled. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was clean. We had a smoker nearby (even though the floor was designated as Non-Smoking) and the hallways reeked of smoke. When I approached the front desk they said that they can't control what people do in their rooms and offered no solution. We were with a group and our meal included the following: 1) small (shallow) bowl of minestrone soup (looked similar to Progresso canned soup); 2) Two thinly sliced pieces of pork loin (about 2 inches in diameter) with boiled vegetable (which were mushy and looked like they too came out of a can); 3) Two scoops of ice cream that had freezer burn. The wine was over-priced compared to other parts of Italy. Needless to say our meal was so bad that we had to walk over to a nearby mall and ate at the food court. Pretty sad that we were near one of the most beautiful cities in the world and a country known for its cuisine and we had to eat at a mall. My advice is to stay closer to Florence (even if it costs more).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2cmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Campi Bisenzio hotels

Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
325 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

The location is not good in midst of industrial area far from city centre, the taxi will cost about 40 Euro to the city centre. The rooms are large, clean and have all modern amenities including tea/coffee maker. The breakfast was quiet okay if not the best. The bathroom was also of good size and well kept. The airconditioning was just about ok. The reception was quiet helpful. The wifi in lobby is free for 30 minutes. The train station is about five - seven minutes walk from station.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nareshm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2012

great hotel but the location is terrible. No reliable transportation and the nearest bus stop is about 5 km away, the train that stops at Calenzano runs at irregular hours. If you are not going to rent a car stay away its very far from the city centre.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank nhlalala k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Excellent clean and comfortable rooms with large well-equipped bathroom. The taxi cost 40 Euros to historical part of Florence. This was still worth it as the rooms were so cheap. Very quiet location too. Apparently the best bar in Florence was around the corner, but we didn't make it there. There is a train station nearby (700m) which was also easy and cheaper to get into city, but you have to plan more as they only come hourly.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsAnon88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level Contributor
137 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

It was very difficult to find accommodation in Florence: everything was either fully booked, or expensive, or awful (in general all the three of them). So, it was excellent to find this hotel!
Starhotels Vespucci is a great value choice if you have a car. The hotel is quite outside the city, in an industrial area, so it should be difficult to reach otherwise. It offers free covered parking and is near the airport. If you have some free time, it is also halfway from the great Barberino Outlet.
The hotel itself is quite old, but clean and well-kept. The room and bathroom have good size, central aircon and are quiet. Bed is excellent.
Breakfast is average, as well as the meals of the (pricey) restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FernandaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

I have only two complaints. The hotel is very far from the centre (I should have checked!) and they charge too much for room wifi. I've stayed in 3 star hotels in Rome and Pompei which had excellent in-room wifi - FREE. 4 star hotels should include this as a service.

The rooms are large, well furnished and clean. Checking-in staff were efficient and gave us rooms on high floors. They knew, we didn't, that there were 3 tour groups coming and kept us away from them. Good thinking. Didn't work at breakfast, but see below.

Parking is free and secure. There is free wifi, for 30 mins, in the lobby and staff were good enough to allow me two such free periods, but it is difficult to concentrate when there's a crowd of tourists from different countries jostling for seats and speaking rather loudly. So I opted for the in-room wifi so I could deal with e-mails in peace. 11.50Euros.

Food. There seems to be nothing much around for evening meals. We opted to eat in the hotel restaurant and were glad to have done so. The quality was excellent and the prices similar to what we paid in downtown Florence. Wines were also reasonably priced. Service the first night was so-so (those large and loud tour groups) but excellent and attentive thereafter, when we only noted one small group of older Germans on tour. Breakfast also suffered from the large tour groups on the first day. The restaurant looked as if it had been used by the RAF for practice bombing. We were shown to a cluttered table, which we refused. Staff changed their attitude immediately once we made clear we were independent. They quickly re-set a table for us and made certain fresh food was available. The tour groups had left nothing. I even saw one taking a decorative wax apple. For later? Breakfast was very good and peaceful on subsequent days. The moral of the story is - find out if there are going to be tour groups when you book!

Would I return to this hotel? Yes as a base for touring the area. Not for visiting Florence. I've stayed in other hotels in Florence with garages and though pricey, they are more convenient. It took about 1 hour each way, which is a bit of a waste of time. The station parking is very close to the sights (by Santa Maria Novella), has plenty of room and is easily accessible if you have a navigator, but given the cost of parking there, one might as well stay in the centre and leave the car in the hotel garage.

Room Tip: Starhotels offer different sized rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeGibraltar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campi Bisenzio
0.5 mi away
Ibis Firenze Prato Est
Ibis Firenze Prato Est
#1 of 10 in Campi Bisenzio
716 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel 500 Firenze
Hotel 500 Firenze
#2 of 10 in Campi Bisenzio
426 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Miro
Hotel Miro
#4 of 8 in Calenzano
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Starhotels Tuscany
Starhotels Tuscany
#102 of 422 in Florence
721 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel First
Hotel First
#6 of 8 in Calenzano
515 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Gate Hotel
The Gate Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sesto Fiorentino
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Vespucci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Vespucci

Property: Starhotels Vespucci
Address: Via San Quirico 292/A, 50013, Campi Bisenzio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Campi Bisenzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Campi Bisenzio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Vespucci 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Starhotels Vespucci in Florence. We're located in the Campi Bisenzio commercial area, opposite I Gigli shopping mall, close to Peretola airport and 25 minutes' drive north from the heart of Florence.At our hotel you can enjoy the ideal combination of traditional comfort and technology - perfect when you're away for business. There are 79 relaxing rooms in our 4 star hotel, two conference rooms and a fitness room open 24 hours a day. La Polena restaurant serves excellent international and local Tuscan cuisine; our bar is the perfect spot to meet with colleagues and clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Starhotels Vespucci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Vespucci Florence
Starhotels Vespucci Hotel Florence
Starhotels Vespucci Province Of Florence/Campi Bisenzio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing