We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAB”
Review of Il Gavillaccio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Il Gavillaccio
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
“FAB”
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Just read some of the reviews and most have the same impression as I had. I had to chuckle about the one that would expect someone to carry his luggage, this place is not a hotel with porter service. Secondly that he had to walk up the hill. Should there have been an elevator?

I have been coming for many years, I know what to expect, I want to relax and every year I have met wonderful people from all over the world. will be back in October.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hassia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
18
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2011

We had a wonderful time in Tuscany, mainy due to our accommodation at Il Gavillaccio. The apartment (and overall property) was even better than the photos and video that we had viewed before the trip. It was so peaceful and relaxing at Il Gavillaccio. The location was perfect. Close enough to Figline for groceries and restaurants, but out in the countryside for peace and quiet. Only 20 minute drive to Greve and the Chianti route (S222). Thanks to Lorna and her staff for a trip that we will never forget.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkM22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2011

When ever we are in Tuscany this is where we stay. We always come back as it is a home away from home!! We love the idea of having a glass of wine on our own little patio: and cooking dinner or breakfast in the kitchen. We have come back almost every year since 2003 with family or firends...and will continue to do so whenever our travels take us to Tuscany!! Lorna is a gracious hostess, who has become a friend over the years.. We would not think of going anywhere else! You need a can to get around as you are out in the country..But it is a great area to explore the wine roads, the discount malls, and Florence

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank marshadef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Coming summer we will go for the fourth time to this location, because it's absolutely superbe: the stunning Tuscan views, the swimming pool, the spacious and chique furnished appartments, the well equiped kitchen, the comfartable beds, and this all very clean. Furthermore there is the friendly owner, Lorna, who is always willing to help and makes sure that your stay will be pleasant. The surroundings are very calm and quiet, but if you want to visit some culture then you just have to drive for 30 minutes and you will be in the centre of Florence. Our children always enjoy their holidays at Il Gavillaccio because there are always peers at the swimmingpool. We went 2 times to Rome when staying at Il Gavillaccio, and this is a 2 hrs and 10 minutes drive. We also visited Siena, Lucca and San Gimignano. Great place to stay!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mirandaholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2011

I hadn't been to Italy in 20 plus years. My return to the beautiful country was great. I couldn't have picked a better place - Gavillaccio. I had heard from one other person about this serene mountainous place that overlooked the Figline countryside. I wanted to check it out with my companion. Lovely place. The pool area is massive and peaceful. The owner was gracious and professional. Whenever we needed something or had a question, she was always available. Very clean, internet service was good, apartments were comfortable and attractive, and we were able to travel on tours to see the countryside nearby (wine tour, honey and olive oil tour). Absolutely worth it!
Victor

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank villa096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2010

We visited Il Gavillaccio in September. The first days we enjoyed our vacation but on Friday our family and friends arrived for our wedding.

The location lies on the top of a hill and has a beautiful view over the Chianti area. From the pool area you can see the whole valley. There is a gardener who makes sure the place looks perfect.

The owner is from the USA and speak perfect English and Italian. She was the best help during the wedding but also during the organization.
Mrs. Currie makes sure you feel at home and knows how to work with Italian. She knows what quality is and only wanted the best for us and our guests. She was very involved.

The apartments are very clean and have enough space and look good. A big plus is also that all the apartments are equipped with the basic needs such as; salt, pepper, oil, vinegar, coffee and tea.

Perfect location for a good holiday and wedding.

Make sure you have a car, because it is on the country side and the nearest supermarket is a 5-10 minutes drive.

The location is also perfect for trips to Siena, Arrezzo and Florence.

If our marriage will be as good as our wedding at Il Gavillaccio.....than we are looking forward for the years to come. :-)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marieke-Harold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2010

Il Gavillacio is a great location to enjoy your holidays in Italia. It is located in a small city named Gaville and it takes up to 30 minutes by train to the city center of Florence. The location and surrounding is fantastic! The appartments are very nice and clean, from the swimming pool you have the best view as well as from the appartments. You would need a car to drive up to the appartments, but that comes also in handy if you want to drive by all the beautiful wineyards and nature in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janne01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Figline e Incisa Valdarno hotels
0.9 mi away
Villa la Borghetta
Villa la Borghetta
#1 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
1,255 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Casagrande
Hotel Villa Casagrande
#2 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
841 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villa La Palagina
Hotel Villa La Palagina
#3 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Residenza San Leo
Residenza San Leo
#2 of 12 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
81 reviews
2.3 mi away
Agriturismo Casavecchia
Agriturismo Casavecchia
#6 of 23 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
78 reviews
3.6 mi away
Villa La Fornacina
Villa La Fornacina
#6 of 12 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Gavillaccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Gavillaccio

Property: Il Gavillaccio
Address: Via di Gaville 24, 50063 Figline e Incisa Valdarno, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Figline e Incisa Valdarno
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Il Gavillaccio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Gavillaccio Figline e Incisa Valdarno, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing