We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“I gelsi” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of I Gelsi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
I Gelsi
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“I gelsi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Very nice place - just as descibed on the homepage. Nice nature around, wonderful views, clean, cosy, fine swimming pool, nice garden and terraces etc. Friendly and helpful hosts. We recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Birthe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I knew this place was going to be special based on the reviews… I had no idea how special! The apartment is well appointed and spacious for 2. We loved the patio outside our room and the veranda overlooking the Tuscan hills. Everything is very well done, and Paulo and Enza went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay. Enza even drove is into town one evening so we could enjoy our dinner and wine! One of the highlights of our stay was when we enjoyed a fantastic evening with Paulo and Enza and their family for dinner, it was such a relaxed enjoyable evening! We can't say enough about this tranquil, beautiful place or about it's fantastic hosts!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NBourque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camogli
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We came to the Gelsi with our children with another family group, children aged between seven and eleven. The setting of the property is just breathtaking, with real unspoiled countryside for miles around, so much so that we could see fireflies at night and watch the wild boar come and eat the mulberries - I Gelsi - at the end of the garden at night! The swimming pool is just lovely, not too deep but great for jumping in, our children loved it. The apartments are spotless and very well thought out, with every sort of equipment in the kitchen, lovely tiles in the bathrooms, with a genuine Italian feel. Each apartment also has a lovely secluded sitting space, where you also eat al fresco or lounge in deck chairs, and there is also a super BBQ spot and a communal games rooms for rainy days or thundery afternoons. There is even good wifi throughout if you really can't turn your device off! Best of all though are the hosts, Paolo and Enza and their family, who really make you feel welcome. With a wonderful restaurant nearby and the village at 3km, you couldn't really ask for more. A lovely lovely stay.

Room Tip: The fienile was lovely, can be a bit light in the morning - choose one of the other three if that is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jesseCamogli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

It felt heavenly to sit on the veranda watching the sun setting over the valley, after a day at the pool. We were a couple with 2 young teens: all loved the yard, the pool, cooking and having dinner with breath taking views. Thank you Paolo and Enza!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

I Gelsi is a well restored Tuscan villa with numerous excellent standard self contained apartments each of which has its own private terrace along with sharing the stunning pool and amazing large terrace looking over the Tuscan Hills and the valley of the Arno river. I have stayed at I Gelsi a number of times and the location is perfect to see the many delights of Tuscany whether it be by train through Figline itself, the A1 motorway or the many smaller roads. There is great shopping nearby, Florence is around the corner and the property is just perfect if you want to just relax by the pool. Enza and Paolo the owners here are simply amazing and will help you with anything at all. Enza speaks perfect English and Paolo is just incredible in general.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Beautifully restored accommodation in the centre of the Tuscany Region, approximately 2 hours drive from Pisa Airport. Our apartment, one of 5 available for letting was perfect for our needs, with plenty of space for 2 couples, including a private covered outdoor seating area. All linen, crockery and cooking utensils are provided plus a very useful welcome pack of groceries including a bottle of Paolo's wine which was much appreciated after our long journey.

Enza and Paolo are such gracious hosts and did everything possible to make our stay memorable including arranging a get together for all their guests one evening with delicious Tuscan food and more of that lovely aforementioned wine!

I Gelsi is a perfect getaway, whether you are planning on exploring the beautiful Chianti Province or just needing to recharge your batteries in peaceful and unspoilt surroundings.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed at I Gelsi in May/June 2013. We originally booked for one week, with the intention of moving around, but booked a second week after our first night! The place is in a beautiful setting and has been very lovingly restored to a high standard. We stayed in one of the 2 bedroomed apartments which was spacious and had everything we needed for a comfortable 'home from home' stay. The views off the various terraces are magnificent and you can see for miles. The location, in our view was perfect for exploring the entire region, with Florence, Arezzo and Siena all only an hours car drive away. The train links to Figline are very good for getting to the larger cities too, and the fares very reasonable. The thing that made it for us however, was the exceptional kindness of our hosts, Enza and Paolo. Nothing was too much trouble and they were on hand to gladly assist however they could, giving advice and recommendations for days out, eating etc. We will most definitely be taking another trip to I Gelsi.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monojnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Figline e Incisa Valdarno hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Casagrande
Hotel Villa Casagrande
#2 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villa la Borghetta
Villa la Borghetta
#1 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa La Palagina
Hotel Villa La Palagina
#3 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Toscana
Hotel Toscana
#5 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Tenuta il Burchio
Hotel Tenuta il Burchio
#4 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.7 mi away
Norcenni Girasole Club
Norcenni Girasole Club
#1 of 21 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to I Gelsi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Gelsi

Property: I Gelsi
Address: Localita San Martino Altoreggi No 46, 50063 Figline e Incisa Valdarno, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Figline e Incisa Valdarno
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4/5 beautiful apartments in farmhouse with large pool in Figline valdarno, Tuscany, Italy. Superb private grounds set in 15 acres of Tuscan countryside including olive groves. Despite its quiet location “I Gelsi” lies centrally between important art-historical places of Tuscany: Florence 25km, Arezzo 40km, Siena 60 km, and is within easy reach of the A1 motorway. The nearest town is Figline Valdarno 3kms away, a lively small medieval town with an attractive weekly market, an excellent supermarket selling local produce and plenty of medieval attractions and festivals. In Figline you will find all amenities including train station with frequent direct trains into Florence (travel time 20 mins).The well-known Chianti region with places such as Greve, Gaiole and Castellina and its fine wines, lies not far from the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your I Gelsi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
I Gelsi Figline e Incisa Valdarno, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing