We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cooking class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Casagrande
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
1 review
“Cooking class”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Spent three days at this property.
The room was great but the high point was the cooking class with Paola and Daniela!
It was a fabuolas five hours!
Can't wait to try thr recipes when we get home.
We felt the reception staff were not very helpful,.
We also found three days here too long.
We walked the town on a couple hours, not many resturants and no tours we could take to the local vineyards.
If you want to sit and read it would be fine but we didn't come to Italy to read.
I would recommend one day here to take the cooking class. Definitely the hi light of our stay here.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gwen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    330
    108
    41
    20
See reviews for
111
457
14
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stayed 5 nights at this charming property, built at the end of the 15th Century. Excellent cuisine, charming staff and perfect location near to Figline Valdarno. A must is the historical tour with Luca followed by wine tasting and cookery demonstration in the original kitchen with Paola and Danielle. Swimming pool, 5 minutes up the hill, enjoys glorious fews of Tuscany with delicious light lunches. Recommend perfect for a short break. Maggi N

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ancasterLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I have just returned from Villa Casagrande overseeing an intimate elope wedding for a young couple. We put together an option for the couple who wanted to keep arrangements very personal. Villa Casagrande was very helpful in accommodating the requests. The couple had a lovely room, spa treatments, intimate dinner for two and after their civil ceremony aperitivi on the terrace that overlooks the cloisters.

Everyone I came across was extremely helpful. They had all my correspondence relating to the arrangements and everything went smoothly. The front of house staff, Lara, Caterina and Roberto are fantastic. The restaurant staff are all professional and accommodating and work hard. The lovely lady who put together the aperitivi was a total joy.

The location of Villa Casagrande in Figline Valdarno is perfect for walking to the main piazza (great for wedding photography) an its only a short distance to the train station.

I hope I can do something similar at Villa Casagrande very soon because it was such an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

The beauty of this hotel is hard to discribe. Its located in a villa that dates back to 1484. Everywere you go, anything you see, reminds you to this. Our room was spectacular with a large sleeping area and a staircase going to the seating area and bathroom. Dinner in the restaurant was great as well, good Tuscany dishes are served in the court yard, when weather is good. The breakfast could have been better, more variety would have been nice.

But, the best was yet to come. We had booked a Tuscany cooking class, not knowing what to expect we waited in the lobby to be collected. The lovely Daniela came to pick us up and told us she would be translating since the chef, Paola did not speak any English. The chemistry between these ladies is really amazing! Paola showed us all very detailed how to prepare the dishes and Daniela translated all. But the way the ladies work together and introduced us into their world and friendship was just amazing. The next day Paola (although, still only speaking Italian) showed us around the hotel, including the private ancient residences were once the famous Medici family lived.

The outdoor pool is located just outside the hotel on a hill, offering amazing views over the village.

We really enjoyed our stay and will for sure return!!

Again, a special thank you to Paola and Daniela for their contribution to an amazing holiday!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HospitalityLover79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

My expectations were running low after I came off the autoroute and into the rather lacklustre town of Figline Valdano. But the hotel itself turned out to be delightful. I only stayed for one night, but I found it full of character, staff were friendly and facilities very good. The refurbishment has blended a fine Tuscan villa with good modern design. I was surprised that it only has a three-star rating.

The room was small, but more than adequate, with a high-quality bathroom, and nicely lit. It was two lift rides from reception, however, in what is a rambling property, which might annoy some.

I didn't eat supper there but the restaurant, where breakfast is also served, is in a fine courtyard and one of the highlights

Good value and far far better for an overnight stop than a chain hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main building, where reception is
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

In the hart of Toscane, in the village of Figline Valdarno, you can find Hotel Villa Casagrande.
This hotel is rebuild from several ancient buidlings and part of the firtification.
Besides the hotel it facilitates a winery and impressive well preserved original chambers (ask for the tour, as it is restricted to hotelinhabitants),
Besides 2 swimmingpoules, the restaurant has a very good menu and exquisit wines to choose from; the staff is more than welcome.
Breackfast is served in the same location, the innerpatio of the hotel, in shades by the balcony columns and right next to the garden.
For the hotel itself, the rooms provide the ancient athmosphere of the building as it was in the past but provides at the same time all you desire during your stay: airconditioning, nice showers, good beds, etc. Every 2 days renewal of bedlinnen and towels.
To make your stay extra special, take the cooking class given by Paula and her friend.
You will get a small insight in the true Tuscan way of cooking, get some real menu's, and of course you will have to particate in the cooking yourself. All with a good glass of wine in reach.

By train Florance to the north (Firenze) is only 45 minutes away. By car Pisa to the west can be reached in 1,5 hours, Lucca in 75 minutes. And you can do the Chianti tour with superb siteseeings directly from the village Figline itself, in the direct neighbourhood.
Sienna is easily reached to the south.

A lasting experience, and one well to come back to.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric731axel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed as part of a cooking course, which was wonderful overall. Our stay here though was disappointing on a number of levels... The hotel layout is confusing, our room was dark, the phone didnt work and we did not find the staff service orientated at all. We arrived back one day to find our room only being cleaned at 15:30 in the afternoon and then despite agreeing to help us with our bags on our last day (even though they don't offer a porter service) the receptionist didn't make request in the end or let us know our driver had arrived. There were no lifts where our room was so we dragged our heavy bags 4 flights of very steep steps. When we expressed frustration we were told they dont offer this service very rudely. I fail to understand how you can expect your customers to transport their own luggage when you locate them in such a difficult location. I was highly unimpressed. The breakfasts were also very average. The scrambled eggs cold and no hot water urns for making tea. We also battled to get towels for the indoor pool and you need to pay for the outdoor pool (towels, umbrella, lounger) which is advertised as part of the hotels facilities. In fact it is managed separately in reality.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Figline e Incisa Valdarno
1.8 mi away
Villa la Borghetta
Villa la Borghetta
#1 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
10.2 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Villa La Palagina
Hotel Villa La Palagina
#3 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
22.7 mi away
Castello di Leonina Relais
20.2 mi away
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Casagrande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Casagrande

Property: Hotel Villa Casagrande
Address: Via Giovan Battista del Puglia 61 | Figline Valdarno, 50063 Figline e Incisa Valdarno, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Figline e Incisa Valdarno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Casagrande 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Casagrande is an elegant, superior category hotel, located in the old town centre of Figline Valdarno, a little town strategically located in a central position between the cities of Florence, Arezzo and Siena. It is a large, distinctive building with a spacious, austere enclosure in pure Tuscan style. Ideal both for business trips and for tourism, the Staff of Villa Casagrande will welcome you with their willingness to satisfy your every need and, by giving you specific advice, they will help you discover the beauty and the flavours of our "Tuscan Land". Free parking and free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Villa Casagrande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Casagrande Hotel Figline Valdarno
Casagrande Hotel Figline Valdarno
Hotel Villa Casagrande Figline e Incisa Valdarno, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing