We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Under the Tuscan Sun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa La Palagina
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide South Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Under the Tuscan Sun”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

If you want to experience the closest you can get to the "Tuscan Sun" choose Villa Palagina. It is perched up on a hill and has magnificent views down to the pool and out across the orchards and grape vines. It is serene. The rooms are impecably clean and the food is wonderful. We were also lucky enough to be involved in a pasta cooking class which produced lots of laughs for our group.
The staff couldn't do enough for us. They were genuinely polite and professional. We didn't want to leave and I would recommend a decent stay of at least 5 days to fully "chill out".

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank decadencecouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    93
    28
    13
    3
See reviews for
90
189
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

If you want a beautiful place to stay with warm hospitality this is a great option for a couple or a family. The staff is more than accommodating. The views are amazing and the location is perfect...not far from Florence. If you want a fresh taste of Tuscany...you would want to stay here.

Room Tip: A lovely hotel in Tuscany with the true flavor of the Tuscan countryside. The view is breathtaking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChristineL1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
133 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

In one word: bellissimo! Great location overlooking the olive gardens and vineyards. The hotel offers nice rooms which put you back in time and perfectly fit in the Tuscany ambiance. Breakfast is incl and has been improved i think, since it doesn't reflect the previous reviews. 2 great pools are waiting for you with comfy sun beds. At the pool bar you can enjoy cold drinks and food. The restaurant is excellent. Al fresco dining possible. Staff is accurate and friendly. From the hotel it is easy to reach cities as Florence, Sienna, Pisa, Lucca etc. Great wine tours just around the corner. For shop aholics: the Mall is just a 20 mins drive where you find all the brands such as gucci, prada, moncler, Tod's, marni, D&G. It's affordable, it is an outlet mall. You can also do a walking tour, rent a mountain bike and explore the region in a sporty way. We will definitely visit again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Pascall K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savigliano, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Beautiful Hotel,wonderful views and staff,no words to describe the amazing food a really fantastic chef.A lovely place to just relax by the swimming pools,sip wine and dine on the terrace watching the sun go down.I would love to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I am from New York and travel quite often, and never in my life have I ever seen a Villa like this. I almost don't have words to describe what this place is like... Perfect.. Amazing.. Beautiful.. Breathtaking!!! If you are planning a trip to Italy, you MUST stay here!!! The view is incredible!! Every inch of the entire villa, the grounds, inside and out, are very clean. The staff was warm and welcoming, extremely friendly, accommodating, and made me not want to leave. The manager, Eric, takes the time to answer any questions you may have. He is full of knowledge and recommendations…trust him! He knows what he is talking about!! He treated us like royalty from the minute we arrived. The food….oh my…the food….it was orgasmic! They have a top notch chef, Frederico Cardi, who I recommend being on the next top chef. Not only does his presentation of his foods look amazing, they taste amazing! Frederico came out to deliver the food personally with his wait staff, described what we were eating, answered any questions we had, and gave us a little history on his cooking career. He is the true definition of a talented chef! The receptionist, Francesca was so sweet and welcoming! She helped answer our questions about tours, and places we wanted to see. The cleaning crew, wait staff, car driver always had a smile on their faces. I did NOT want to leave! The pictures don’t even do it justice….if you are amazed by what you see, imagine how much better it looks like when you see it firsthand…. Go there Go there Go there!! Thank you for making this trip so memorable, I WILL be coming back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had a wonderful stay, delicious food and wine, everyone was so considerate, we had a beautiful room looking out over the Tuscan hills and we had a fantastic dinners outside under the stars looking across at the vineyards. We also learnt to cook pasta and gnocchi which was great fun.
Thank you.

Room Tip: We borrowed bicycles and enjoyed exploring
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Add a Review
Jun 25, 2014
Villa La Palagina
When a friend of mine recommended this vacation spot to me, I was initially skeptical because I lived in Tuscany years ago, and I really didn't want to go the typical tourist route. There is nothing typical, however, about Villa La Palagina. An authentic restored villa in the Chianti region, from the noble Ricasoli family dating from the 1700s, it has stunning views, beautiful rooms with art deco style decorations bordering the ceilings and trimming the walls, and comfortable rooms. Our bathroom has a Jacuzzi. The air right now is perfumed with lavender plants and magnolias; bright geraniums in terra cotta pots are interspersed throughout the grounds close to the villa. If you want relaxation and quiet, perhaps after the bustle and at times overwhelming cultural impact of Florence, this is the place to stay. The staff is friendly, well-informed, and several languages are spoken here, including English and Dutch. The food is not tourist fare: everything served here is authentic and utterly delicious. The cooks are just fantastic - creative yet using ingredients that are simple. For me it is important to know what I am eating, and that is very clear here: scrumptious, good food. I especially recommend the Tuscan antipasto appetizer and the suckling pig. The grounds are surrounded by vineyards and olive cultivation that produce some of the excellent wine and the olive oil served in the villa's restaurant. There are also two swimming pools that look out over the rolling Tuscan hills. There is just nothing negative about this experience. The hotel has a website and a Facebook page as well. Please take a look.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Figline e Incisa Valdarno
6.8 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
515 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
504 reviews
6.7 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Villa la Borghetta
Villa la Borghetta
#1 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
1,216 reviews
15.2 mi away
Borgo Scopeto Relais
Borgo Scopeto Relais
#1 of 1 in Vagliagli
336 reviews
10.0 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa La Palagina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa La Palagina

Property: Hotel Villa La Palagina
Address: Via Grevigiana 4, 50063 Figline e Incisa Valdarno, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Figline e Incisa Valdarno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa La Palagina 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa La Palagina is situated in a seventeenth century villa that belonged to the Nobel Florentine family Ricasoli and is located in the heart of the Chianti region and is a stone throw away from Florence. All rooms offer a comfortable stay, decorated with beautiful frescoes and equipped with all amenities, including air-condition, mini-bar and satellite TV. In our luxurious restaurant you can enjoy the delicious dishes of the chef accompanied with the extraordinary Italian wine, magnificent views over the Chianti hills makes the experience complete! Two Infinity pools are there to relax, dream away and enjoy your cocktails. The Villa is surrounded by 110 hectares of olive groves, vineyards and forest and we produces our own wines and extra virgin olive oil which is for sale in our reception. In the direct neighborhood you can hike, horseback riding, play golf, visit wineries, explore the antique markets or do your shopping at one of the various big brand outlets as Ferragamo, Armani and Gucci.... Our professional and friendly staff of Villa La Palagina is always willing to give you the best information about the area and can organize all kind of activities such as cooking courses, wine tastings, rental cars, private tours to fulfill your wishes. Villa la Palagina the famous Tuscan cities Arezzo , Cortona and Siena Please come and visit us and fall in love with our property! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa La Palagina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Palagina Hotel Figline Valdarno
Hotel Villa La Palagina Figline e Incisa Valdarno, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing