We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for peaceful stay”
Review of Residenza San Leo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residenza San Leo
Zagreb, Croatia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for peaceful stay”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I went with my club there because we had a seminar in Figline Valdarno. We stayed there for four days and 3 nights and i was mesmerized with the beauty of the scenery and apartments. Apartments are rustic and designed in Tosca style but with air conditioners. The four of us were in the apartment for four. There is a little kitchen with fridge, big living room, one room with double bed and one bed above the bathroom.
The breakfast was original Italian, with lot of sweet delicacies, coffee, lemonade, milk and cereals.
The other members of our group of nine were also very satisfied with their apartments (they had a baby and said everything worked out great).

The host was very pleasant, always smiling and asking us if we wanted something more.
In the main building you can buy their olive oil, honey, peppers, wine, nuts and lots of other stuff for pretty good price.

Location is, I think, very good. You have about an hour to Florence and about 15 minutes to Figline Valdarno. Some members of our group went to see the surroundings of the locality and said there was a quite nice restaurant but not much of anything else.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dora Ž
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
28
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Noord-Holland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

San Leo is a beautiful agriturismo in the middle of the Chianti region in Tuscany. We stayed here for the second time in five years, and not without reason. The accommodation is good: clean and spacious and is equipped with the most important things. The service from owner Patrizia is very good. She does everything to please the guests and works very hard.

If desired, you can make use of the breakfast for 5 euros per person per day. This is typical Italian: fairly basic but fine. Coffee and cappuccino can be made  yourself for a small amount.
For 15 euros a day you can also have dinner at San Leo. Patrizia regularly organizes a tour at the olive oil factory and that is fun to do. Afterwards you can sit at a buffet with local homemade food. Fun to do, although we found it a pity that this was something 'more organized' than five years ago. Then all the guests were sitting down at one long table in the garden. Now the tables were made per group which made it harder to meet and greet with other guests.

We were there in August / September and did suffer from mosquitoes and horseflies (horseflies at the poolside). If you like to have the windows open at night I would recommend to bring a mosquito net. We heard that there are not so many annoying insects in spring time, but especially in summer that is just an inherent factor in nature.

All in all we had a great time at San Leo and I am sure to get back there one time again.

Room Tip: If you like to have a little garden book apartment Limonaia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N00rtje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This was our first experience of staying at an agriturismo and we could not have chosen a more stunning place with great accommodation, facilities, setting and very hospitable staff. This is an ideal place for a very relaxing holiday, although we did not spend as much time on the farm as we had hoped as there is just so much to see and do while travelling in Tuscany.

Our double room was very spacious and had a balcony with beautiful views of the rolling Tuscan hills. There is a large pool and you can also visit the rest of this working farm, including the Cinta Senese pigs (a breed of pigs native to Chianti). The rooms/apartments offer self catering and visitors should buy food and supplies on the way at places like Figline Valdarno or Greve in Chianti as there are no shops close by, other than a tiny store in the village of Ponte Agli Stoli a few kilometres away which offers only a limited range.

The hotel provides breakfast (Euro 5 per person) and dinner (Euro 15 per person) which we found to be very good value. The meals are prepared using fresh produce from the farm and showcase great Tuscan cooking and hospitality.

While Residenza San Leo is a perfect base from which to visit the Chianti region and its amazing wine farms, it is probably a bit far from the heart of Tuscany when visiting places like Siena, San Gimignano and Lucca.

During our stay here we did the most amazing Tuscan cooking class near Impruneta, which is only about 20 minutes away. We organised this through Ciao Laura (www.ciaolaura.com) which offers cooking classes across Italy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeTownGraeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Residenza San Leo in Figline Valdarno (20 kms south of Firenze) is a unique place to find rest and friendships. It may be tough to get there the first time for your GPS. The last kilometer is tough and dusty. Don't matter, time stands still once you're there. Patrizia is your host and the real mama for everything. Charming appartments or a little house, a great swimming pool with a unique panorama over Patrizia's olive trees. You can participate at the dinner, without any obligation. Again a great experience. We had the chance to meet there families coming from San Diego, California, from Québec Canada and even a family coming from India. And the meal offered has without doubt the best quality over price performance. Real Italian gastronomy. Take your time and enjoy it. San Leo is also ideally situated to visit Firenze (even by train) and Siena, but also Arezzo, Assisi and Perugia are easily accessible by car. Nearby is also Impruneta (authentic terracotta production) and the Chianti Route.

Room Tip: If you can get it, try to have the little house (for 3 prs). Very convenient and cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

A jewel, which we found thanks to Trip Advisor. An agriturismo, with shop and restaurant. Magnificent old buildings, lovely courtyard area, excellent pool. We stayed down the road in a villa and visited regularly for the fresh farm produce, freshly baked bread, wonderful olive oils, home made pasta sauce and a lovely meal. All run by the amazing Patrizia, whom most other reviewers have commented on.

Well worth a detour to find.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Packed_To_GoSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

If you want to get away from everything, this is the place. A beautiful setting, great hospitality, peace and quiet. Comfortable rooms, nice swimming pool (even though it closed early in October), and greatly placed in the middle of the Chianti region. Patrizia has a great place, and is nice enough to share it with us. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valkenswaard, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Stayed here last year and decided to go back: what a good idea!!!
This agriturismo is the best we visited and is our favourite in Tuscany…Close to the Chianti, Firenze, Sienna and within driving distance of San Gimignano and still you are not at a busy camping site: there is peace, tranquillity and nature.
The owners are very very nice, but do not expect an very accurate planning: take life as it comes: diner is served when it’s ready and breakfast is different every day....Patrizia did not cook every day during our stay, but the new chef in the kitchen made very nice (often vegetarian) meals.
The pools is still wonderful and has a view never to be forgotten. Go eat at Dudda, go to the market and try to visit Albola...

We came back… we will return… that’s my advice to you as well…

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wLeQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Figline e Incisa Valdarno
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa La Palagina
Hotel Villa La Palagina
#3 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
2.4 mi away
Villa la Borghetta
Villa la Borghetta
#1 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Casagrande
Hotel Villa Casagrande
#2 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hotel Tenuta il Burchio
Hotel Tenuta il Burchio
#4 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
6.2 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
2.1 mi away
Norcenni Girasole Club
Norcenni Girasole Club
#1 of 23 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza San Leo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza San Leo

Property: Residenza San Leo
Address: Localita Badia Montescalari 11, 50063 Figline e Incisa Valdarno, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Figline e Incisa Valdarno
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
san leo residence can be found in the heart of the tuscan hills in the chianti valley, your time with us will be spent in a beutifully restored medieval hamlet with 9 different apartments of various types and sizes, from two up to six persons. you will soon acclimatize to the relaxing atmosphere found here, full of cultural and gastronomical interests. the hamlet aslo offers many farm's products such as olive oil, honey, different kinds of cinta senese's salamis etcc. which can be bought and tested in the farm's shop.you can also see the firm's farmyard animals and cinta senese pig breading area, as well as join our guided visits to the modern and old oil pressing mills and honey laboratory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residenza San Leo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza San Leo Figline e Incisa Valdarno, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing