We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Inn in a beautiful part of Italy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergo Diffuso - Locanda Senio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Locanda Senio is an inn, restaurant and apartments situated in a small town in the mountains north-east of Florence and Tuscany. It is run by Ercole and his wife Roberta who does the cooking. They have been there for 29 years. We visited previously 14 years ago, and it is as friendly and quiet as ever.

We stayed for a week in one of the small apartments furnished with antiques, eating breakfast and dinner in the hotel. The locanda is popular with walkers and the surrounding hills (up to 1200m or so) have excellent and well signed walking routes. You can be supplied with routes which radiate naturally round Palazzuolo, or you can be driven to a starting point further away and make your way back over the hills. There are also road and mountain cycling paths, but we didn't try these modes of travel.

The walks were completely uncrowded, except for butterflies and wild flowers. A photo cannot do justice to the beautiful views across the hills and down to the valleys and the distant plain of the Po.

After the walks we had the option of a sauna/jacuzzi and there is a swimming pool which benefits from the warm evening sun.

Dinner is a special event! At least five courses, small in quantity but delicious in taste and interesting in creation. Roberta uses fresh local food and in particular the herbs which grow freely in the surrounding gardens, woods and meadows. There is an excellent wine list and Ercole is pleased to advise the best to match the evening's menu.

On request, Ercole will be pleased to teach you some simple tips how to prepare food as an Italian would, an enjoyable way to whet your appetite if you need such encouragement!

Room Tip: If you have a problem going up steps make sure Locanda Senio know when allocating a room as a few of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestofEnglandTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

Warmly welcomed by Ercole, we were delighted by his wife's superb cooking at their old inn in medieval Palazzuolo sul Senio in the heart of Italy's unspoilt Mugelo ( the hills between Florence and Ravenna). We had a log fire in our sitting room in the suite, ate excellent breakfasts and over indulged over Roberta's amazing dinners of local produce, while drinking their very reasonably priced wines from Emilia Romagna. Our bill represented excellent value for money. There is good walking and cycling .nearby, pretty, ancient cities to vist (suggested by Ercole but ignored by tourist guide books), with towns such as Faenza, with iits ceramic museum and Ravenna not too far away for a day's visit.

Room Tip: If you can run to it, ask for the suite- amazing value low season. Noise is not a problem in any r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malcolm566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed for a week whilst walking with Headwater. The food was amazing, with a completely different menu every night. The six different types of homemade bread each evening were a real treat. We particularly enjoyed the cookery demonstrations and wine and olive oil tastings that were part of our package. The walking was beautiful..

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L-and-Ntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Unless you are staying in the apartments, there are only a few and they are charming and quite spacious, then look elsewhere because the value is not there. After an annual touring holiday of Italy and France, staying in similar accommodation each night, we found the prices here were exorbitant especially given the fact that our room and bathroom were minute and basic. remember also that the town is small and fairly obscure quaint though the experience may be. our bed looked like a camp bed and was not comfortable. It was difficult to escape from our small room because the guest area downstairs was very cluttered, dark and unwelcoming. On the positive side the staff were very friendly and helpful however this is negated by the overcharging.

Room Tip: Choose your room carefully. Room number 1 is very small especially for an extended stay. Room number...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Heather323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

The food, service and walking on this holiday were all superb! ercole is a lovely man who is always working for the good of his customers. and his wife roberta made some of the best food we have ever tasted. also ercoles cooking classes featured pasta dishes and a pork one. the walks were scenic and you always could come back to a cold drink by the lovely pool. our rooms were lovely and they all had a great veiw from the shuttered windows. it is in the heart of the beautiful village. we had to have a early start on the last day (5:30 am!) but ercole was happy enough to give us cake and coffee before leaving. a overall excellent stay!

Room Tip: any of the 7 small rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lc s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We spent a week here on a walking holiday. The hotel is in the heart of the village and close to all amenities including an excellent gelateria. The village is very friendly and, considering its size, surprisingly vibrant. Ercole is a very genial host and makes you feel really welcome, his wife Roberta, cooks the most amazing food and there is plenty of it! Roberta uses a lot of fruit and veg from their own garden which Ercole tends with infinite care. Each course was carefully explained and Ercole was very adept at choosing an appropriate wine to accompany it. We ate breakfast and the evening meal on the lovely terrace surrounded by Ercole's well tended borders and climbing plants. We had an apartment style room which was fab, very traditional, very clean and well equipped with espresso machine and fridge. The area is wonderful for walking, very scenic and the hotel pool was a welcome treat on return from the walks. We also took the train to Florence one day, which was cheap and efficient. It all made for a very memorable and magical holiday.

Room Tip: We paid extra for an apartment room - well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LinnieLou42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We were based here during a weeklong walking holiday. The walking was terrific, but it was the accommodations that made the trip magical. Our room was lovely, well-appointed, and (thanks to thick stone walls and careful shutter management) cool in spite of the fairly intense July heat during our stay. The staff were unfailingly helpful and kind. Among the efforts that helped us to more fully appreciate the amazing place we were in were Ercole's wine and olive oil tastings, his pasta-making demonstration (we got to eat the upshot!), and the hotel mini-bus, which on three occasions drove us off to some remote spot connected to the Locanda by a beautiful walk along ridges and past ruined Medici forts. Roberta remains a theoretical entity, but the cooking attributed to her was delicious, remarkable both in its variety and its quantity, and rich in terroir. Finally, the cani of the Locanda were enchantingly hospitable, and made it clear the morning we left that they were sad to see us go.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank torpified_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palazzuolo Sul Senio
2.6 mi away
Residence Antico Borgo I Cancelli
Residence Antico Borgo I Cancell...
#3 of 3 in Palazzuolo Sul Senio
50 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Gli Orzali
Hotel Gli Orzali
#1 of 2 in Firenzuola
66 reviews
15.2 mi away
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Rifugio I Diacci
Rifugio I Diacci
#1 of 5 in Palazzuolo Sul Senio
84 reviews
14.6 mi away
Tenuta Le Tre Virtu
Tenuta Le Tre Virtu
#1 of 13 in Scarperia e San Piero
57 reviews
16.0 mi away
Villa Le Maschere
Villa Le Maschere
#1 of 5 in Barberino Di Mugello
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Diffuso - Locanda Senio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Diffuso - Locanda Senio

Address: Via Borgo Dell Ore 1 | Palazuolo sul Senio, 50035 Palazzuolo Sul Senio, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Palazzuolo Sul Senio
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Palazzuolo Sul Senio
Price Range: £104 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Diffuso - Locanda Senio 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locanda Senio: where stay is fine In this medieval town, Ercole and Roberta created a jewel of Tuscany hospitality: Locanda Senio. An hotel of a refined and searched style, itimate with perfume of peace, mirth and carefree in each season: in front of a lighted fireplace, toastig chestnuts and sip a good red wine, oder at the edges of the swimming pool with hot water immerse in the garden with rare herbs. The bedrooms 6 peaceful and beautiful rooms and 2 suites, these with fireplace, are all furnished with some local antiquarian pieces and each corner passes on owners’ care and attention. Family furnish and old mobiles repropose guests all the memory and the sentiments of the old time without forgetting modern conforts. All the rooms has a indipendent bathroom , lot of fresh and good air. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Albergo Diffuso - Locanda Senio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Senio Palazzuolo Sul
Albergo Diffuso - Locanda Senio Palazzuolo Sul Senio, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing