We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A dream come true in Italy.”
other travellers have booked this property
The villa with view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The villa with view
View of grazing sheep and olive grove Kitchen entrance, loggia and garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
The villa with view
View of grazing sheep and olive grove
Kitchen entrance, loggia and garden
View of valley
Kitchen and dining area
Fireplace in kitchen
Living room
Master bedroom
Master bathroom
Bedroom with queen bed
Back yard
Bedroom for three: queen bed and single bed in loft
Room for three with loft
Sun room
10x5meter pool and patio
The pool 10x5 meters
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Scarperia e San Piero, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Marrowsto...
Marrowstone Island, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A dream come true in Italy.”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We found this Tuscan Villa almost by accident and it turned out to be the most wonderful vacation ever. The Villa has old farmhouse charm, but has been modernized with wonderful bathrooms, kitchen, several bedrooms with very comfortable beds, and a large Great Room to relax in at the end of the day while recapping the days' activities over wine and cheese. There was also a beautiful Sun room for reading or napping, and the Villa had good Wi-Fi service which was important to us. We spent a week and it was too short. We became fast friends with the owner who is delightful and took good care of us. She is an amazing chef and prepared our dinner upon our arrival and brought delicious homemade pastry for breakfast. She knew all the best local restaurants, made reservations for us, and recommended a wonderful Winery in Chianti. She speaks several languages including English and Italian, which was very helpful to us Americans, as well as checked in with us every day to be sure we were taken well care of.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: This felt like our home away from home.
Liked least: Our time was too short.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrismate...
Mazan, France
1 review
“What a fabulous place!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The location of this villa is wonderful, in the hills above Scarperia, teaming with wildlife.
The villa comes very well equipped from the kitchen to the internet and is very comfortable, cool and spacious.
It's a 10 minuite stroll up the track to the main road where there is a restaurant/bar where you can eat in or take home made produce back to the villa, perfect for us as we were only there for 4 days for the Mugello MotoGP 5 km away. We could have stayed a lot longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it really
Liked least: The track was a little difficult on a road motorcycle.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pvbsue
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous hostess and property!”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

My husband and I just returned from a trip to Italy which included a week in Lake Como and 8 days in the Tuscany region. We traveled with friends and had done a good bit of research before booking this property. The Trip Advisor reviews were the real selling point and we were not disappointed in our selection. The farmhouse is simply amazing and is truly a home - the owner, Janilee Jones, moves to a downstairs apartment when she has guests in the main house. Having her on property at all times, made our visit complete in more ways than one.
First of all, she helped us with travel arrangements and reservations in the area and led us to wineries, hiking trails and out of the way restaurants that we would never found on our own.
Secondly, she is a fabulous cook and prepared 2 glorious meals which were really the highlight of our visit to her home.
The farmhouse is very unique in that it looks down at sheep grazing in the fields below, you can hear donkeys braying at very odd times, and the property itself, while 500 years old, comes equipped with modern kitchen equipment, Wi-Fi, and hot water. The farmhouse is just outside Scarperia and you must be prepared for a drive up a very steep curvy road and then down a very steep gravel road to get to the property. The beautiful valley views and serenity of the site make the drive worthwhile.
Scarperia is a nice town with all the amenities including a large grocery store, a few restaurants, and shops specializing in the cutlery that the area is known for. There is also a well known racetrack nearby which adds another element to your visit to the area.
Thank you Janilee for being such a gracious hostess and sharing your beautiful home with us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The setting and the hostess.
Liked least: The location from town and the long curvy driveway!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachlady...
Michigan City, Indiana
1 review
“It was a perfect week in rural Italy”
Reviewed 7 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We spent a week in this wonderful farmhouse. It is a perfect way to experience rural Italy and to live for a week in a comfortable, well appointed home. Janilee was an excellent hostess and provided everything we needed plus more. Her knowledge of the area and language are really great resources and she was "one of the family" before we left. We could not have asked for a better location, accommodation and experience in Tuscany

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Liked least: rental car
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stretchmo...
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Family Vacation for All”
Reviewed 6 July 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We rented Janilee's 500 year old farmhouse after quite a bit or online searching. Our primary goal was a well stocked and updated kitchen, as our adult son loves to cook! Secondary, it had to have modern conveniences for the parents, and well located for all to enjoy the beauty of Italy.

Janilee's 500 year old farmhouse met all our criteria!

We traveled with our son, his wife and their 20 month old and we all fit easily into the farmhouse. The kitchen was truly our hub, more than the living space upstairs, and the unknown bonus before our arrival was the 150+year old pizza oven which our son fired up on two separate occasion, cutting wood and enjoying every minute! We got to enjoy pizzas like none other you have ever tasted--yum!

The beds were all comfortable which you sometimes worry about when renting a house. Janilee lived here with her family for over 20 years so it is furnished well and very comfortable.

Another bonus of this beautiful property is Janilee herself. Born in Italy to American parents, she speaks perfect English and lives on the property. She picked us up at the train station and returned us on our departure day. She is a gracious host and a good soul.

You are close to many wonderful cities and towns, plus there are great hiking trails nearby. Even the little city park in Scaperia was perfect for our granddaughter.

And if you are traveling with little ones, there are animals right there as you sit above a sheep meadow. Next door are donkeys, chickens, dogs, and cats. Our granddaughter thought she was living on a farm--she loved it!

And I believe you would too! I have already recommended this property to many friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The well stocked kitchen had every appliance, gadget, and dish!
Liked least: There is only one shower, as the other bath is a tub; so four adults using one bathroom for showering.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitakers
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A dream Italian villa.”
Reviewed 13 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

There's not much more to add to the other reviews. There were eight of us that occupied the entire main building, which was a very good deal. Being able to cook and eat outside under the stars was fabulous. I even liked the donkeys and have their ringtone. The tranquility is worth the drive to Florence. Use lat/long to find it though. A pool will be a nice addition for the teenagers. There aren't too many places I would go back to but this is one of them. It was close to perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: tranquility and communal living
Liked least: drive to Florence but still worth it
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clu12
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing Place!”
Reviewed 25 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a wonderful stay at Janilee's. Our group of 4 women stayed in 2 bedrooms of the house and had meals and transportation to and from the train station in San Piero al Sieve provided by our very gracious hostess who, though she grew up in Italy, speaks English without an accent. The surrounding countryside is so rustic and peaceful-just like it has been for centuries with donkeys braying at night, sheep grazing, and women nearing 100 years old going for their morning walk along the winding road. Wake up to Janilee's home-made fruit tart for breakfast filled with her home made jam. Home made olives and olive oil, home grown tomatoes and zucchini featured in her 3 course dinners at a very reasonable add on cost. She can also teach authentic Italian cooking! She was so helpful in making us feel welcome and sharing what her life there is like with us. We did day trips to Florence and Siena and returned to wonderful dinners and peaceful countryside away from the heat and crowds. Wifi was a little spotty at times but Janilee let us use her computer if we were having trouble.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Personal touch of the owner, including home made meals and breakfasts
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing