We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuscan tranquility”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
UNA Poggio Dei Medici
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My second business visit to this hotel served to reinforce my impression from the 1st time. This is a lovely place. Spacious, relaxed, friendly, tranquil and picturesque. The food is good, and, sitting on the terrace in the October sunshine, the views across the quiet golf course are superb while you're eating it. The rooms and bathrooms were well appointed with all you need, with far more space in both than you might expect, with serene views over the golf course to the hills.. Great value too, especially taking into consideration the array of facilities at your disposal. As a golf resort, I cannot comment, as I didn't get any further than the driving range, but judging from my colleague's golf lust, I'd guess the course was very alluring indeed. I look forward to my next return there.

Room Tip: Sk for a room with a view over the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LordKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

We just come back from this hotel. It was our fifth time in a row for playing golf and were truly impressed again.
This time we had a junior suite at the top of wich is big enough for 9 days with two terraces a sleeping and living room with lots of space for all togs. The bathroom good sized with all facilities you need as shaving foam and shaver toothpasta and toothbrush, even handcreme etc.
Take a Executive room or a suit at the main building is more expensive but absolute worth it.
Breakfast was for the most part for italian standards
excellent with granary loaf, white bread, chees, 4 different juices, eggs, muesli, etc. above all lavish. Sometimes some thinks could be better. Its not a big deal but warmed up croissants which were old and also not a big deal but the tv in the restaurant should disable for breakfast and dinner is sometimes annoying. Also wi-fi to pay is not a standard nowadays. For lunch is the pool bar available with trifles as pasta and sandwiches etc. but for me personally overpriced and excessive. We didn't have dinner at the hotel because there are many excellent restaurant around the hotel for a reasonable value.
The golf course was in a good shape due to a good care and better weather conditions as 2012.
The staff overall was friendly as usual.
We think we come back again.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed at Poggio Dei Medici during a late summer week end. The location is beautiful, the golf course absolutely fine tough quite difficult. The view from the room was very relaxing. The room was gorgeous, very clean and elegant. Breakfast was also very good, and we had it on a beautiful terrace. Dinner was also good-quality and well served. We enjoyed the swimming pool and the SPA. Nearby is the Mugello racing ring and Scarperia, a romantic small town worth the visit.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view on the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alessandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

A rustic setting in the Italian countryside, 30 minutes from Florence and 5 minutes from Mugello Race Track. The rooms are huge, very clean and have the bonus of air con. There is plenty of on site parking. Pool area is nice with on duty life guard. Golf staff and front desk very helpful. The Internet was ok at times but struggled when busy which is annoying. Breakfast is very good with the option of sitting outside but trying to eat at other times is more difficult as the pool bar and restaurant aren't always open at stated time on the hotel paperwork, but you can get a sandwich at the bar. The gym is well equipped and there is a long list of treatments available. Overall I would stay again

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WWWtraveller1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We booked this hotel and free golf arrangement via a golf travel website for a very attractive price. We were surprised (positively) about the hotel, the breakfast, swimming pool, bar and resto at the pool, the location and the perfect maintained golf course. Located 20km from Firenze and a 60-90 min drive from Sienna, Pisa, Lucca, ..., it will be hard to find a better golf / culture / relax destination. Nothing to complain ? Perhaps the 18 euro you pay for a 4 hour internet connection but compared to the price / quality for the rest, just enjoy ... .

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Dirk-uit-Antwerpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Have just visited UNA Poggio Dei Medici in Tuscany, Italy once again.
It is a wonderful place, the staff are very friendly and do their best to help.
The rooms (only tried the the ones in the main building) are very spacious and have good beds and a nice big bathroom.
The golf course is long (walking over 11 kilometers) and not easy due to lots of hills and by that also the possibility of many difficult lies.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateCPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

I have been at Poggio dei Medici with Executive room or suite several times and I always felt good. Spacious rooms with comfortable beds, huge bathroom and a nice balcony where you can see a small part of the beautiful golf course. The golf course is impressive, hilly and hard to play. Expect someting special, but you should be fit as the course is demanding to walk. Above all the course is not busy and you have no pressure. Breakfast is ok, sometimes good, sometimes average. Dinner is ok, which you can take outdoor on a nice terrace. The pool area is very clean with enough space good maintained with enough sunbeds and sunshades, above all no crowded. Overall the staff is attentive and friendly. Florence is about 30 km away. Barbarino outlet about 10 km away worth to go there! You can find a lot of very good restaurants within 5 km.
I'm ready to go back.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarperia e San Piero
1.1 mi away
Hotel dei Vicari
Hotel dei Vicari
#2 of 6 in Scarperia e San Piero
113 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Felicina
La Felicina
#3 of 6 in Scarperia e San Piero
57 reviews
8.2 mi away
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Villa Torricelli by Il Giardinetto
Villa Torricelli by Il Giardinet...
#5 of 6 in Scarperia e San Piero
12 reviews
1.2 mi away
Residence Mugello
Residence Mugello
#4 of 6 in Scarperia e San Piero
28 reviews
3.1 mi away
Villa Le Maschere
Villa Le Maschere
#1 of 5 in Barberino Di Mugello
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UNA Poggio Dei Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Poggio Dei Medici

Address: Via San Gavino 27, 50038, Scarperia e San Piero, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Scarperia e San Piero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Scarperia e San Piero
Price Range: £91 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Poggio Dei Medici 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort and golf club in the green Mugello valley, near the medieval village of Scarperia and all the best known towns in Tuscany like Siena, San Gimignano, Volterra and Lucca. 70 spacious elegant rooms, in restored old farmhouses, a prestigious 18-hole golf course, restaurant for 170 guests, 6 meeting rooms, fitness and wellness center, Turkish bath, outdoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi. Magnificent villa dating back to XVII century with spacious garden suitable for banquets and ceremonies up to 100 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your UNA Poggio Dei Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
UNA Poggio Dei Medici Scarperia e San Piero, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing