We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel 4 stars, golf/staff service/restaurant 5 stars” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of UNA Poggio Dei Medici

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
UNA Poggio Dei Medici
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
240 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Hotel 4 stars, golf/staff service/restaurant 5 stars”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the resort for 4 nights. This is indeed a golfing heaven. The 18 holes golf course is very challenging and interesting. Tee box 8 is quite difficult to find. I met a lot of golfers having the same problem with locating tee box 8. The hotel is what it claims to be - 4 stars. Very rustic countryside feel. The rooms could look better - first impression was rather tired but it grows on you. We took the executive suite which is huge with an equally huge balcony and bathroom. The beds were very good. The room could brighten up with some art or nicer looking headboard. We were told that the air conditioning only operates when it gets warmer (near summer). As we were there in May, it was not considered warm enough. The first night was fine as the rain brought cooler temperature but the following 3 days were warmer. We were told we can open the balcony door to ventilate the room. We discovered that it was a big mistake as mosquitoes went into the room! The staff gave us some insect repellant but my spouse and I had each at least 8 mosquito bites by the time we checked out! I really think the management should let the air conditioning operate in the rooms even in May. Guests do not pay for mosquito bites! Staff are friendly, informative and efficient. The restaurant is also very satisfactory with a good breakfast spread and an interesting dinner and lunch menu. Also, we are allowed to bring our own wine with no extra charges. This was really a plus as we had been buying a few bottles in our earlier wine tours. So, other than the horrible episodes about the mosquitoes, I am quite happy with the golfing holiday.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mosto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    106
    29
    12
    4
See reviews for
35
93
1
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

My second business visit to this hotel served to reinforce my impression from the 1st time. This is a lovely place. Spacious, relaxed, friendly, tranquil and picturesque. The food is good, and, sitting on the terrace in the October sunshine, the views across the quiet golf course are superb while you're eating it. The rooms and bathrooms were well appointed with all you need, with far more space in both than you might expect, with serene views over the golf course to the hills.. Great value too, especially taking into consideration the array of facilities at your disposal. As a golf resort, I cannot comment, as I didn't get any further than the driving range, but judging from my colleague's golf lust, I'd guess the course was very alluring indeed. I look forward to my next return there.

Room Tip: Sk for a room with a view over the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LordKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsbruck, Austria
Level Contributor
203 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

We just come back from this hotel. It was our fifth time in a row for playing golf and were truly impressed again.
This time we had a junior suite at the top of wich is big enough for 9 days with two terraces a sleeping and living room with lots of space for all togs. The bathroom good sized with all facilities you need as shaving foam and shaver toothpasta and toothbrush, even handcreme etc.
Take a Executive room or a suit at the main building is more expensive but absolute worth it.
Breakfast was for the most part for italian standards
excellent with granary loaf, white bread, chees, 4 different juices, eggs, muesli, etc. above all lavish. Sometimes some thinks could be better. Its not a big deal but warmed up croissants which were old and also not a big deal but the tv in the restaurant should disable for breakfast and dinner is sometimes annoying. Also wi-fi to pay is not a standard nowadays. For lunch is the pool bar available with trifles as pasta and sandwiches etc. but for me personally overpriced and excessive. We didn't have dinner at the hotel because there are many excellent restaurant around the hotel for a reasonable value.
The golf course was in a good shape due to a good care and better weather conditions as 2012.
The staff overall was friendly as usual.
We think we come back again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tradate
Level Contributor
129 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed at Poggio Dei Medici during a late summer week end. The location is beautiful, the golf course absolutely fine tough quite difficult. The view from the room was very relaxing. The room was gorgeous, very clean and elegant. Breakfast was also very good, and we had it on a beautiful terrace. Dinner was also good-quality and well served. We enjoyed the swimming pool and the SPA. Nearby is the Mugello racing ring and Scarperia, a romantic small town worth the visit.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view on the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alessandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

A rustic setting in the Italian countryside, 30 minutes from Florence and 5 minutes from Mugello Race Track. The rooms are huge, very clean and have the bonus of air con. There is plenty of on site parking. Pool area is nice with on duty life guard. Golf staff and front desk very helpful. The Internet was ok at times but struggled when busy which is annoying. Breakfast is very good with the option of sitting outside but trying to eat at other times is more difficult as the pool bar and restaurant aren't always open at stated time on the hotel paperwork, but you can get a sandwich at the bar. The gym is well equipped and there is a long list of treatments available. Overall I would stay again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WWWtraveller1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We booked this hotel and free golf arrangement via a golf travel website for a very attractive price. We were surprised (positively) about the hotel, the breakfast, swimming pool, bar and resto at the pool, the location and the perfect maintained golf course. Located 20km from Firenze and a 60-90 min drive from Sienna, Pisa, Lucca, ..., it will be hard to find a better golf / culture / relax destination. Nothing to complain ? Perhaps the 18 euro you pay for a 4 hour internet connection but compared to the price / quality for the rest, just enjoy ... .

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dirk-uit-Antwerpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

Have just visited UNA Poggio Dei Medici in Tuscany, Italy once again.
It is a wonderful place, the staff are very friendly and do their best to help.
The rooms (only tried the the ones in the main building) are very spacious and have good beds and a nice big bathroom.
The golf course is long (walking over 11 kilometers) and not easy due to lots of hills and by that also the possibility of many difficult lies.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KateCPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarperia e San Piero
1.1 mi away
Hotel dei Vicari
Hotel dei Vicari
#2 of 6 in Scarperia e San Piero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Felicina
La Felicina
#3 of 6 in Scarperia e San Piero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
1.3 mi away
Residence Mugello
Residence Mugello
#4 of 6 in Scarperia e San Piero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Villa Torricelli by Il Giardinetto
Villa Torricelli by Il Giardinet...
#5 of 6 in Scarperia e San Piero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
8.9 mi away
Demidoff Country Resort
Demidoff Country Resort
#1 of 1 in Pratolino
3.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
3.1 mi away
Villa Le Maschere
Villa Le Maschere
#1 of 5 in Barberino Di Mugello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UNA Poggio Dei Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Poggio Dei Medici

Property: UNA Poggio Dei Medici
Address: Via San Gavino 27, 50038, Scarperia e San Piero, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Scarperia e San Piero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Scarperia e San Piero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Poggio Dei Medici 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort and golf club in the green Mugello valley, near the medieval village of Scarperia and all the best known towns in Tuscany like Siena, San Gimignano, Volterra and Lucca. 70 spacious elegant rooms, in restored old farmhouses, a prestigious 18-hole golf course, restaurant for 170 guests, 6 meeting rooms, fitness and wellness center, Turkish bath, outdoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi. Magnificent villa dating back to XVII century with spacious garden suitable for banquets and ceremonies up to 100 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your UNA Poggio Dei Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
UNA Poggio Dei Medici Scarperia e San Piero, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing