We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great golf hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
UNA Poggio Dei Medici
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Went back into Poggio dei Medici for playing golf for a couple of days. Were there several times already because the hotel is perfect for golf. The check in was very quick although there was a group of people in front of us. The room ( Executive ) was big enough for a few days above all clean with plenty space for all togs. Also the balcony was very comfortable with nice views to the golf course. The golf course itself was in very good shape very green and well-kept. All the staff was great as usual. The hotel has really longstanding staff what is a good sign. Everybody did a good Job. The first time we did use a massage and it was great for a good value. For sure we come back for golf and would highly recommend.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

what an amazing location in the Tuscan Hills near Scarperia. the hotel complex with it's original villa overlooking the stunning view of their must play championship golf course, meandering its way through the untouched landscape. it is just a shame that the service in the bar and restaurant did not initially meet the same standard. However as the week went on and we got to know the staff the service improved significantly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Set in a basin in the mountains of Tuscany, it is difficult to imagine a more idyllic setting. A grand old property in classic Tuscan design with an historic villa in the grounds. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and I can't think of anything hitting the 'too hard basket'. The rooms were ok; clean and functional; probably 3½ Star rather than 4 or 5 and although not modern, the exterior of the buildings were starting to look tired and definitely would benefit from some maintenance work.

The bar offers a superb selection of drinks, served with handsome quantities; there were none of the parsimonious measures delivered in the UK. Rafael, who seemed to be the head barman, seemed 'a bit Manuel' at first, but we soon learned to laugh at his dry humour. Similarly, the restaurant offers an excellent menu and the staff, particularly Franco, go above and beyond to ensure guests receive good food and attentive service.

We both enjoyed a deep tissue massage at the spa and my wife also had a facial, both of which were 'to die for'. The masseuse, whose name, to our eternal shame, we either did not learn or have forgotten, was excellent.

Finally, the golf and what a superb course. However, let me get the negatives out of the way first. It is a long and undulating track and many people will benefit from using a buggy, as we did. Unfortunately, the cart paths have been very poorly maintained, as have the buggies; twice during our four rounds of golf we had to return our buggy, as it no longer held sufficient charge to last for a full round. On a third occasion, the buggy started to struggle right at the end of our round and only for one round did we have an incident-free buggy! As for the golf course, it is sufficiently testing for the accomplished golfer, but sufficiently forgiving to allow the higher handicap player to enjoy their round. The fairways are well maintained and the greens are excellent; I loved the greens, all of which are of a good size, hold a well struck shot and putt true.

So, in conclusion, it might surprise readers to know that although we had a wonderful time and thoroughly enjoyed the golf, we would be reluctant to return. The staff and golf course are great attractions, but the state of the property, the buggies and the cart paths swing the balance against any return, unless the owners provide the staff and the course with better tools with which to continue their good work.

Room Tip: Opt for an Executive Room on the first floor overlooking the 1st Tee, which provides a great balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RogTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDAngelo, Direttore at UNA Poggio Dei Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest,
we thank you very much for sharing with us your feedback on the stay at UNA Poggio dei Medici.
All our Staff is devoted to giving our Clients the best service and assistance, and we are pleased to know that also in this occasion we met your expectations.
We have much appreciated your nice comments about Franco, Raffaele and Lisa, who have been informed and thank you so much and wish to welcoming you soon again.
We also would like to assure you that we have already done plans for a renovation of car paths on the golf course and extraordinary maintenance of the externals walls of the Resort at the end of the season, together with upgrading of the batteries of our golf buggies to avoid any troubles with the players.
We hope you will be visiting us again next season to see our improvements.
Sincerely,
Danilo D'Angelo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We were a golfing group of 56 and the hotel clearly do not have the management skills to accommodate such a large group and might be wise to refrain from accepting such parties. Our room was spacious and well appointed. It was maintained to a very high standard. The bed was comfortable and there was sufficient storage space and furniture to meet the needs of guests but you became aware that sound from adjoining rooms could be a factor and late night/early morning conversations should be avoided!!
Early in the week I informed the hotel duty manager that I would write a very negative report and hoped that it might prompt some improvement in the quality of service. Sadly there was little change throughout the week and what could so easily (and profitably) arranged was beyond the capability of the hotel management.
I will give just five examples of the appalling service to avoid boring the reader.
1. One person servicing a bar with waiting times of 45 minutes, All charges to the room had to be had written by this young lady who was working frantically to pour drinks, waitress them to tables, clear tables.
2. No food after 2.30. Golfers returning from a round of golf would find the main restaurant closed and the pool bar unable to provide any food. This has got to be a staffing issue which needs addressing.
3.On at least three occasions the bar ran out of certain drinks (eg tonic water, brandy) and glasses.
4. Two staff to run the bar AND wait at table for 58 diners at an arranged meal. Hence food arrived cold and unpalatable. One of our group even assisted with waiting on!!!
5. Several golf buggies broke down. The buggy we were in had to be pushed back up the hill to the clubhouse by a very kind grass cutting tractor driver to get a replacement!!

I could go on....and on!!

A hotel with so much potential can and should offer so much more.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OtleyAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDAngelo, Direttore at UNA Poggio Dei Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest,
We thank you very much for sharing with us your opinion about your experience at UNA Poggio dei Medici. We are happy that you have appriciated our room and bed but we are sorry to know that you are not entirely pleased with your stay, and for the negative impression you had about our organization.
We know for sure that the whole staff and the manager on duty did all their best to assist the guests while they have been served and in your case we apologize for the waiting times at the Pool Bar you have experienced.
As already explained by the Manager on Duty, who was at your complete disposal trying to meets all your needs, our Resort has been hosting groups and meetings with high numbers of participants since years, and we are confident that we have all the necessary skills. Unfortunately without any advice It is quite difficult to keep high standard of service for such a big group which walk in to the bar and restaurant at the same time with no reservation.
However after your prompt information we improved the service by opening on the following days the main Bar and Restaurant in order to offer more seating spaces and food serving until 16.00.
Finally, about the golf carts we can assure that we are already checking the reason why we had a number of buggies which were not able to completing 18 hole round, as it might be caused by a malfunctioning of the batteries. We will make sure that this is not going to happen anymore.
Please accept our sincerely apologize for any trouble or inconvenience we have caused you. Again we highly appreciate your feedback as It will assist us in providing in future a better service to our guests and in the meantime We hope you will give us again the opportunity of welcoming you, to re-evaluating UNA Poggio dei Medici.
Regards

Danilo D'Angelo
Direttore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Just back from a 4 night stay at the UNA Poggio Dei Medici golf resort just outside Florence . Great golf course in a beautiful surrounding , lovely rustic Tuscan accommodation overlooking the course detached from the main hotel however within a 2 minute walk from all amenities . Very good food and attentive staff making it a thoroughly enjoyable stay .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Kenneth Bruce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the resort for 4 nights. This is indeed a golfing heaven. The 18 holes golf course is very challenging and interesting. Tee box 8 is quite difficult to find. I met a lot of golfers having the same problem with locating tee box 8. The hotel is what it claims to be - 4 stars. Very rustic countryside feel. The rooms could look better - first impression was rather tired but it grows on you. We took the executive suite which is huge with an equally huge balcony and bathroom. The beds were very good. The room could brighten up with some art or nicer looking headboard. We were told that the air conditioning only operates when it gets warmer (near summer). As we were there in May, it was not considered warm enough. The first night was fine as the rain brought cooler temperature but the following 3 days were warmer. We were told we can open the balcony door to ventilate the room. We discovered that it was a big mistake as mosquitoes went into the room! The staff gave us some insect repellant but my spouse and I had each at least 8 mosquito bites by the time we checked out! I really think the management should let the air conditioning operate in the rooms even in May. Guests do not pay for mosquito bites! Staff are friendly, informative and efficient. The restaurant is also very satisfactory with a good breakfast spread and an interesting dinner and lunch menu. Also, we are allowed to bring our own wine with no extra charges. This was really a plus as we had been buying a few bottles in our earlier wine tours. So, other than the horrible episodes about the mosquitoes, I am quite happy with the golfing holiday.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mosto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My second business visit to this hotel served to reinforce my impression from the 1st time. This is a lovely place. Spacious, relaxed, friendly, tranquil and picturesque. The food is good, and, sitting on the terrace in the October sunshine, the views across the quiet golf course are superb while you're eating it. The rooms and bathrooms were well appointed with all you need, with far more space in both than you might expect, with serene views over the golf course to the hills.. Great value too, especially taking into consideration the array of facilities at your disposal. As a golf resort, I cannot comment, as I didn't get any further than the driving range, but judging from my colleague's golf lust, I'd guess the course was very alluring indeed. I look forward to my next return there.

Room Tip: Sk for a room with a view over the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LordKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarperia e San Piero
1.1 mi away
Hotel dei Vicari
Hotel dei Vicari
#2 of 6 in Scarperia e San Piero
113 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Felicina
La Felicina
#3 of 6 in Scarperia e San Piero
57 reviews
8.2 mi away
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Villa Torricelli by Il Giardinetto
Villa Torricelli by Il Giardinet...
#5 of 6 in Scarperia e San Piero
12 reviews
1.2 mi away
Residence Mugello
Residence Mugello
#4 of 6 in Scarperia e San Piero
28 reviews
3.1 mi away
Villa Le Maschere
Villa Le Maschere
#1 of 5 in Barberino Di Mugello
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UNA Poggio Dei Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Poggio Dei Medici

Address: Via San Gavino 27, 50038, Scarperia e San Piero, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Scarperia e San Piero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Scarperia e San Piero
Price Range: £91 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Poggio Dei Medici 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort and golf club in the green Mugello valley, near the medieval village of Scarperia and all the best known towns in Tuscany like Siena, San Gimignano, Volterra and Lucca. 70 spacious elegant rooms, in restored old farmhouses, a prestigious 18-hole golf course, restaurant for 170 guests, 6 meeting rooms, fitness and wellness center, Turkish bath, outdoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi. Magnificent villa dating back to XVII century with spacious garden suitable for banquets and ceremonies up to 100 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your UNA Poggio Dei Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
UNA Poggio Dei Medici Scarperia e San Piero, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing