We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”
Review of Hotel Il Cigno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Il Cigno
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Covigliaio
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
129 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We came across this hotel on internet while looking for a place to stay in Tuscany.
We had actually planned on going down further but decided to stay here as we were really tired after a long trip.

Well needless to say that the place was absolutely lovely we ended up staying for three nights and have returned 3 times since.

The rooms are lovely very big and the service is excellent.
The pool is very quite and all in al I would say that the hotel is very very relaxing.

Costs are absolutely within limits, just one very small point I was not very enthusiasthic about the restaurant but having said this there are loads of fab ones in the area.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
84 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2010

We were there for a weekend and we were the only guests there as it was low season. It might be a little difficult to find, especially at night, but it is a wonderful hotel, with huge rooms and a fantastic buffet for breakfast. It has very nice places around, such a garden and a very big swimming pool. In the middle of nature and beautiful landscapes. A place to go. We got a very nice price due to the time we went there.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepitopulpito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We stayed in this hotel in June and the service has been very poor. In cold and rainy days (10 degrees Celsius) they left us having breakfast outside in a gazebo with no heating and the wind coming in. We asked for eating inside in the morning but they refused. We asked for some heating in our room given that we had a baby and that our friends had heating in their room. Not only they refused but also turned off the heating in our friends' room since they said, they were not supposed to have it. In addition, the hotel is very far from the city of Florence. I would recommend it only in a very warm period (July and August), and only if you want to relax in the mountains and being far from noise. The place is indeed beautiful and quite. However, there are many other places like that in Tuscany, cheaper, better located, and likely more caring for their guests.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcy792001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varese, North Italy, close to the alps and lakes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2009

I was in this Hotel two days, because I had to get some stones, said "Pietra Serena" (a very beautiful, architectural grey floor stone) from a local quarry.
I decided to spend one more day to stay in this place.
The experience was simply fantastic and great.
The quitness is total, you can live your holiday immersed in total silence and nature.
The cleanless is perfect, the rooms furnished with refined elegance, you can spend all the day in the swimming pool and walking in the woods of Italian Appennino.
To eat, you can find good local restaurants with exquisite Italian cuisine not far from the hotel.
After all, if you want to try a unique experience, spend some days in this place!
A suggestion: visit the Second World War German Soldiers Cimitery not far from the Hotel.
To Remember.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItalianEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2008

After 24 hours of traveling, lost luggage, a stressful drive to the hotel without having had a chance to get dinner we arrived at the hotel late in the evening, so late the restaurant had closed. The gentleman at the desk saw how exhausted we were and immediately offered to get us a bottle of wine then went back into the kitchen to make up an antipasto platter. I can't imagine ever receiving this kind of service at a Hilton. The room was lovely, the bed was comfortable and the area was so peaceful. The next morning when we woke up we were able to appreciate the incredible beauty of the area. Our only regret was that we were only able to stay the one night. Most definately on our list of places we want to return to.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dufurhammel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Covigliaio
4.4 mi away
Hotel Gli Orzali
Hotel Gli Orzali
#1 of 2 in Firenzuola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Roncobilaccio
Hotel Roncobilaccio
#2 of 2 in Castiglione Dei Pepoli
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Piccola Firenze
Hotel Piccola Firenze
#2 of 2 in Firenzuola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
UNA Poggio Dei Medici
UNA Poggio Dei Medici
#1 of 6 in Scarperia e San Piero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
16.9 mi away
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort
9.8 mi away
Palazzo Loup
Palazzo Loup
#1 of 1 in Loiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Cigno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Cigno

Property: Hotel Il Cigno
Address: Strada Prov.le no. 65 della Futa | Km. 49,500, 50033 Covigliaio, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Covigliaio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Covigliaio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Il Cigno 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tuscany countryside with its colours and characteristic landscape is the perfect setting for the wonderful stone buildings that render the Il Cigno Hotel the ideal place to spend your holidays enjoying the relaxation and the outdoor life.The Cigno Hotel is found within the 120-hectare homonymous estate at 750 m above sea level. It is ideally positioned to visit the cities of Florence and Bologna, while the Mugello motor racing circuit and the Bilancino Lake are only 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Il Cigno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing