We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem”
Review of Hotel le Clement V

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel le Clement V
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Belves
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel as we were attending a wedding nearby but the hotel made our trip very special. The hospitality of the patrons Muriel and her husband was outstanding. We were made to feel very welcome . This hotel shows how a small family hotel can offer such a great experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ricky39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5253mumu, Propriétaire at Hotel le Clement V, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Dear Ricky39,
Thank you so much for having given your impressions and taken of your time to do it! We had difficulties in guessing who you were but, but.....you are certainly the future owner of a new kitchen!
Again thank you very much to you and your wife.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2013

My wife and I have used The Clement V on a number of occasions this year and have found it a perfect place to stay in the Dordogne. Geographically it is perfectly positioned to access all parts of the region. The hotel is well situated within Belves to access all facilities and absorb the atmosphere of this stunning medieval village. Within the hotel, for the guests comfort, there is a sensitive blend of an old restored building, antique furnishings and modern facilities which is both comforting and relaxing. Free wifi in the rooms was an added bonus for us. The views we had from the three different rooms ranged from delightful street views of the village to stunning views over a valley beyond the village's rooftops
This is a hotel run by its owners Muriel and Michel and their personal care and attention ensured that our stay was all that we wished it to be. The cleanliness of the hotel would rate as exceptional and the breakfast in a room overlooking a pleasant garden gives you no doubt that you are in the heart of the Dordogne.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankJVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We have spent a number of nights in this very comfortable boutique hotel, returning on two occasions, and found it to be a superb introduction to a holiday in the Dordogne. Belves is an excellent introduction to the region, well located to commence a visit, and nearby are outstanding local markets and restaurants. The hostess has always been extremely helpful and we can't fault the service and we continue to find the hotel an island of luxury, well worth the price.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I spent a week at the Hotel le Clement V, and was so glad I spent the extra money to stay here. The room was simple, but tastefully decorated, and with a very comfortable bed. Also, the view of the countryside from my room was gorgeous (note each room is unique, not all have views, but others may have a terrace). The entire hotel and surrounding area were extremely quiet at night, so it's a great place to unwind and relax. The owner, Muriel, is very kind and hospitable. She personally served breakfast and chatted with me and other guests each morning. She gave wonderful recommendations of what towns to visit, where to eat, and even recommended a great shop with jewelry made by a local designer (in nearby Dommes). I hope to go back to Clement V on a future trip through the Dordogne.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelatude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

I spent two nights recently during a trip to the south of France in Belves. I selected the Hotel Clement V and was very pleased with my stay! The room was beautifully decorated, with a nice terrace, and the hostess, Muriel was very nice. Muriel took the time to explain to my friend and I restaurants to go to, sites to visit, and brocantes to visit while in town.

Well worth the money!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJField
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

This hotel is way too expensive for what you get. My family and I have stayed in hotels all over France and all over the world and this has to be the worst value for money we have experienced. Also, check their Ts and Cs - they are very onerous and they will take your money if you book and have to cancel, even if you give them 2 weeks' notice to cancel 1 night. They will still charge you. DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
9  Thank Rhino012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed in Belves as a base for exploring that area of Dodogne. Parking in the main square is a bit tricky so it's a lot easier to park in the main car park near the look out point and then a short walk to the hotel (well sign posted). It is a small quaint town, full of character and when we were there middle of August there were lots of festivals on which were really lovely. Also it would be a good idea to call ahead to arrange a time when you are coming, as this is a family run hotel and someone might not be at reception at all times.
We had the Le Boudoir which was even better than in the photos on their website. I also saw the blue room which wasn't as big as the le boudior but did seem to have a wonderful view over the countryside. The room we had was fitted out to the highest order, with a very much welcomed air conditioning and separate toilet room and a wonderful bath. There was lot of fluffy towels and lovely toilletries. The bed was very comfortable and we had a great night sleep for each of the 3 nights we stayed there. The room was cleaned every day and towels replaced which was fantastic.
Breakfast is a continental type (bread, jam, coffee/tea and pureed fruit tubs). There is also a cafe a few doors down (opposite the pub) which had great coffee for £1.50 and pastries etc. There is also a bakery next door which has really nice pastries and bread, and a small supermarket across the lane for drinks and a greengrocer as well for fruit.
This is a very authentic French town and the hotel itself is of the highest quality.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TobyInTransit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belves
7.0 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Le Home au Pere William
6.1 mi away
Le Manoir De Bellerive
Le Manoir De Bellerive
#1 of 1 in Le Buisson-de-Cadouin
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er
11.1 mi away
Le Vieux Logis
Le Vieux Logis
#1 of 1 in Tremolat
431 reviews
2.7 mi away
Auberge de la Petite-Reine
Auberge de la Petite-Reine
#1 of 1 in Siorac-en-Perigord
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Clement V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Clement V

Address: 15 Rue Jacques Manchotte | Pays de Belvès, 24170 Belves, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Belves
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Belves
Price Range: £140 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel le Clement V 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Belvès, medieval city, one of the « Plus Beaux Villages de France », this former grocery shop has been transformed into a charming hotel. Michel and Muriel Fischer’s goal was to give the whole a “home sweethome” intimate atmosphere. Nothing was left to chance between the personalized welcome, the daily exchanges with the couple about tips and sites to discover, the harmony of the antique furniture (family owned and/or gathered) combined with the quality of the materials and fabrics. The bedrooms are spacious (26m² the smallest to 60m² the largest), individual controlled air-conditioning and/or heating, WC are separate from the bathroom. Beauty and calm in the heart of all major sites, castles and bastides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel le Clement V reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing