We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful tuscan lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Locanda "Il Poderino"
Ranked #28 of 57 Manciano B&B and Inns
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A wonderful tuscan lunch”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

We stopped there because it was on the road side. The menu had all of the local dishes, but the taste was superior, so was the sevice and the overall atmosphere. Wonderl sense of being in the campana. Very attentive and friendly service. Excellent "cinghiale" (wild boar). A must if you are in the vicinity.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bernard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    22
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
44
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Arriving in this place by chance didn't make the whole experience any less overwhelming.
Went with my friend and decided to get some Tuscan food since we were in the vicinity.
View was absolutely breathtaking; overlooking a thousand-or-so hectar of vinyard and mountains.

Serving us this day was a girl in her 19-20's who always managed to arrive at the proper moment, chatting away for a bit and, diligently, handling our meals.

Starting off with an antipasto full of salami, prosciutto, melone and crustini just made my mouth water. Everything just felt spot on.

For primi, I ordered gnocchi and my friend tagliatelle. We were not disappointed. My gnocchi was split in two; one made with a ragu (which one, I sadly dont remember) and the other one with prosciutto or speck, cream and parmesan cheese.
Everything melted in my mouth.

Moving on the secondi we had a 800(!) gram fiorentina which was absolutely perfect. Considering that my friend also had straccetti we thought we were going to finish half.
There was not a piece of meat left on the plates.

Finishing off with limoncello, tiramisu di fragule and espresso wrapped this feast into something more tasty than a slice of heaven.

Food of this kind can only be cooked with a one-of-a-kind ingredient: Love.

However, we didnt get to swim in the pool. Maybe a good idea since we probably would sink to the bottom :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NiklasSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Staying at Locanda Il Poderino “Tre Querce” was like visiting the family cottage of a good friend.

The rooms were large and comfortable, and ours had direct access to a patio which proved to be an apt relaxation spot after a day exploring Maremma or Argentario. Overlooking the Tuscan hills - with horses, sheep and patchwork of fields – it’s the perfect spot for enjoying a coffee or glass of wine with traveling companions.

The proprietor, Rossana, was warm, friendly and accommodating and our food experience at the inn was enhanced by the passion that the chef and wait-staff have for their cuisine. Each meal was delicious and we enjoyed the casual atmosphere to relax and socialize.

Tre Querce is a gem in southern Tuscany!

Room Tip: Some rooms have direct patio access
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nle272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2012

This past May, my wife, daughter and I embarked on a unique adventure in southern Tuscany. We hired biologist/guide Marco Valtriani (www.walkinginetruria.com) to lead us through some of the diverse habitats of the Maremma region. Over 4 days we were exposed to a wide range of bird and animal species, medieval towns, and tasty trattorias. We used the Locanda il Poderno in Manciano as our home base and we all felt the accommodations and cuisine were excellent. The Locanda has a great location outside of Manciano, with a superb view of the valley and adjacent olive grove operated by the owners. Sitting on the terrace, we were visited by a variety of unique birds – golden Oriole, woodchat shrike, hoopoe and assorted finches. The house restaurant provided us with an amazing breakfast spread and served local wines and regional specialties at the evening dinner (which we enjoyed on the outdoor patio). Manager Rossana spoke fluent English and was able to help us with any questions. I highly recommend this Locanda and region to visitors interested in escaping the flocks of tour buses and tourists more typical of more northerly towns in the Sienna valley.

Room Tip: The rooms with a terrace are a delight to catch the end of day (or sunrise if you are an early bird)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We wanted to experience the Tuscan countryside for a week or so following a group tour to the more heavily traveled cities and towns. We contacted Marco Valtriani (http://www.birdinginitaly.com/) and asked him to arrange a tour for us that included some birding as well as sightseeing.

The accommodations highlight of the fantastic trip was our 3 nights Locanda Il Poderino .... What a charming country inn, with a great dining room (all home-made). The grounds are beautiful, with flowers, fruit, olives and herbs growing all around. Fresh figs right off the tree! A sunset from the patio off our room.

Our room was large, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was modern. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

The inn's operation has recently been taken over by the owner's daughter and family, who lived in the States for 20 years, so they speak English as well as Italian. This was also helpful arranging our stay there thanks to informational emails from Rosanna

Once can see the small town of Manciano from the grounds, but it is quiet and in a beautifully rural setting. This would be a great place for small groups or as well as couples or solo travelers who want to experience the real countryside of Italy.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dodgema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Il Poderino/Locanda Tre Querce is possibly my favorite country inn/agriturismo in Central Italy. I've made more than 40 solo and accompanied (wife) trips to this region over the years and have stayed at this particular location perhaps 7 or 8 times over the last 9 years. Needless to say my experience with it is extensive, and I've never been disappointed. The facilities are almost painfully clean -- from the rooms to the common areas to the exterior garden/surroundings. It's quiet, lovingly decorated with many period pieces, and the staff is both extremely competent and friendly. Although the proprietor (Sr. Ciocca) has been under the weather of late, his daughter has capably taken up the cause, and the inn continues to run like clockwork. I can't recommend this place highly enough. It's approximately 1 minute by car from Manciano proper, where you will find several excellent and out-of-the-way restaurants (Da Paolino is unassuming and particularly good), and within easy driving distance of many interesting spots -- Orvieto, Pitigliano, the archaeological sites of Vulci and Tuscania and the natural parks along the coast. Go, and stay at least 3 days. 4 or 5 would be even better. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BagnoCaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manciano hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rossi
Hotel Rossi
#14 of 15 in Manciano
119 reviews
0.8 mi away
Il Borgonuovo
Il Borgonuovo
#13 of 15 in Manciano
157 reviews
3.0 mi away
Quercia Rossa Farmhouse
Quercia Rossa Farmhouse
#8 of 15 in Manciano
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Casale Giacomini
Casale Giacomini
#17 of 57 in Manciano
57 reviews
2.9 mi away
Agriturismo Poggio della Quercia
1.2 mi away
Azienda Agrituristica Bio Le Macchie Alte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda "Il Poderino"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda "Il Poderino"

Property: Locanda "Il Poderino"
Address: SS 74 Maremmana, 58014 Manciano, Manciano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Manciano
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Manciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place to relax and regenerate in the Tuscan Maremma ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Locanda "Il Poderino" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda "Il Poderino" Tuscany/Manciano, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing