We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where's the warmth?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Abri-Cotier

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Surville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
L'Abri-Cotier
Ranked #1 of 5 Surville B&B and Inns
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
112 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Where's the warmth?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Our stay in Surville was pleasant, the area is lovely and the views from the top of the hill that L’Abricotier is on, is stunning. On such hills there is more than sufficient space for large backgardens and at this b&b this was well taken care off, including an outdoor swimming pool. It is close to Honfleur and Caen and Rouen and Le Havre are also not far away. We booked the Alice Suite because we had 2 small children. This room was spacious enough, although it lacked airco(and it was quite warm), and it had a nice bathroom, all of it was clean. Nevertheless, I am always disappointed when the showerdoor is so frail that you could damage it, if you shut it too firmly. Same from showernozzle, and many peaces of furniture. I know you can replace cheaper items quicker, but I prefer accomodation that was decorated regardless of costs. Also, despite our 2 night stay, we did not truely connect to the 2 owners. They were welcoming but distant persons, but maybe that is France in general, and I am more used to Germany. So concluding, great location, clean rooms yet fragile, mixed feeling about owners, let’s average it to 3 stars.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Willem_ter_Haar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matho185, Owner at L'Abri-Cotier, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
We deeply regret that Mr Ter Haar was disappointed with our facilities and found us lacking in warmth and difficult to connect with. All we can say is that over the last 10 years, the vast majority of our TripAdvisor reviews and feedback from some of the 6000 guests who have visited us, revisited us and recommended us to their friends, family, neighbors and colleagues, do not reflect his opinion of us or our facilities. In spite of Mr Ter Haar comments, we still have a 5 star TripAdvisor rating and a 97% "recommend" rating.

The shower head problem has since been sorted out and would have been during Mr Ter Haar's stay had he just mentioned it to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    8
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
35
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Perfect garden, beautiful view over the valley, refreshing Swimmingpool, very good breakfast, attentive hosts, spacious rooms, very clean and tidy - we really enjoyed our stay and can highly recommend this B&B

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaVoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

And what a view! We stayed at this delightful b & b in June for two nights, looking out over the beautifully tended grounds, plus pond and extremely spoilt ducks.

The house is tastefully presented, light, airy and spotlessly clean, with the splendid Tom and Marie-Jose on hand to chat and to provide advice on the area. Unfortunately, the weather was not kind to us, but my husband braved the elements to swim in the heated pool. Another huge bonus.

Breakfast, which was excellent, was served at individual tables. Dining is somewhat limited in the immediate area, (perhaps this is a little unkind, as we stayed for Sunday and Monday nights) but Honfleur and Deauville are with half an hour's drive and offer a variety of eating places, as well as excellent shopping.

L'Abri-Cotier is the perfect place to chill and to see a full moon rising over the gardens and surrounding countryside from our balcony was the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mole190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, OH
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Because of an error on my part, we were disappointed that we only had two nights with Tom and Maria-Jose. Their lovely country home was ideally located to be able to take advantage of many day trips. We were only within an hour or two from the beaches, Honfleur, Caen, Bayeux, Fecamp, Rouen, Giverny. Tom suggested that we stop in Etretat and we enjoyed seeing the cliffs with "the elephant dipping its trunk in the water". It was a wonderful place for lunch by the sea. So much else to see. The house and gardens were beautiful as was the house. Our rooms were very well appointed and spacious.

Room Tip: Definitely a small country village with most businesses closing early, but so nice to have a wonderf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosegoes100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

The location was great for our trip as we wanted to explore Normandy. The owners were very helpful and pleasant to visit with and they made our stay very comfortable. The home is well kept with beautiful rooms that were clean and well kept. We stayed in "Alice". The food was quite tasty and we had everything we could have asked for. We enjoyed everything about this B&B. I regret only that we could not spent so much time in a beautiful garden, which is really huge and fabulous. It was for us peaceful and relaxing time.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarek Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

I echo the positive comments of those listed below. "L'Abri-Cotier" was just lovely. It was situated in a beautiful country setting and was ideal for visiting nearby Honfleur. Upon arriving, we did not
expect the beautiful setting as most of the gardens and yard were behind the home. Our bedroom, Elise, looked out onto the gardens and the beautiful Norman countryside beyond that. The room was immaculate and nicely furnished with plenty of room for our belongings, and a private entrance. Our breakfast was pleasant as was our conversation with the owners. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this establishment. It might have been a little hard to find without the GPS coordinates which we had.

Room Tip: Beautiful view from Elise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coppersmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

The rooms, the house, the garden and the countryside are just as lovely as they appear on the internet photos. We stayed in “Elise” with its super comfortable king size bed. The bathroom was clean, bright and modern and there was plenty of space next to the wash basin to put all my toiletries. The walk-in shower was a delight. A good night’s sleep and then down for a late breakfast with fresh baked bread, fig, nut and cumin seed bread rolls, croissants (still warm from the oven), raisin and chocolate chip cakes, fruits, yoghurts and fruit juice. Our thanks to Mr and Mrs Kendall for helping to make our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surville
2.5 mi away
Hotel et Spa Le Lion d'Or
Hotel et Spa Le Lion d'Or
#1 of 2 in Pont-L'Eveque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Prieure Boutefol
Le Prieure Boutefol
#2 of 5 in Surville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
2.1 mi away
Le Vieux Pressoir
Le Vieux Pressoir
#3 of 5 in Surville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Auberge Saint Martin
Auberge Saint Martin
#5 of 5 in Surville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices

Been to L'Abri-Cotier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Abri-Cotier

Property: L'Abri-Cotier
Address: 996 rue d Enfer, 14130 Surville, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Surville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Surville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At L'Abri-Cotier we offer friendly and efficient service, excellent facilities and a large modern house in a beautiful location in the Pays d'Auge near Pont L'Eveque. L'Abri-Cotier is an ideal base for visiting the surrounding towns, Deauville and Trouville with their casinos, shops and beaches, Honfleur with its picturesque harbour and picture galleries, Caen and the D-Day Landing Beaches. There are lovely walks, golf courses and good restaurants everywhere for all tastes and all pockets! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing