We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT TRUSTWORTHY”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Papallacta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Coturpa, Su Casa en Papallacta
Ranked #1 of 2 Papallacta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We had put down a $50 dollar deposit. We arrived and they tried to charge us $30/each + breakfast. That is about half of the advertised rate on their website. We had to show them an argue for 30 minutes to get the posted rates. Then breakfast was another $3.00/each. The hotel was drab & very cold. No wood for the fireplace. There are other hostels in the area which offer a better value. Do not stay here, if you do prepare to overpay.
The bed was comfortable and had many blankets. The screaming child that lives with the caretakers was not a welcome sound at 5-6am. He also likes to slam doors.

Coturpa is also 2 km downhill from the nice baths, there were no taxis or anyway to get up there. So if you are not driving be prepared for a good hike uphill.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spiveyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2013

This place is pretty old but comfortable and affordable. The water works well and after everyone got settled down for the night, it was pretty quiet too.

Mr. Perrez takes good care of you and I would be happy to stay at the Coturpa again.

Be careful of the local restaurant prices in town. We got nailed for $30 on a tipico almuerzo because we didn't "ask" about the prices before we ate.

The Coturpa restaurant was good and so was the restaurant at the Santa Catalina termas next door. The restaurant at the Santa Catalina served us a trout lunch with bottled tea for $4.25 each.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EC170131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Hostal coturpa has an excellent quality /price ratio , the rooms are heated , beds have termal sheets so you will never be cold there ( in the papallacta area the temperature drops close to 0 celcius sometimes) , the shower providfes hot termal , water , the place is clean , and Willo the owner is a very nice guy , they dont provide dinner so make sure you bring some food , before you get there have dinner at the springs or in the village, I recommend to anyone I have slept even better than in "las termas " which is like 162$ for adouble room , here you pay 25 $, if you go for the public pools at las termas and spend the night at Hostal coturpa you will save more than 130$ , very recomended

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andres P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Nice double room with private shower for only 15 dollers pr person. The bed was good. For 3 dollers pr person, we added a nice breakfast with fried eggs, bread, butter, marmelade, delicius juice and tee or coffee. The owner was nice and friendly and are ready for helping you out. The hostel is only 20 minuts walk uphill to the Termals. It is also really close to the place, where the bus from Quito drop you off at the big Y-intersection. It only take around 2 minuts to walk to the hostel from where you get off the bus.

Only one bad thing is that the internet (wi-fi) was not working/really slow. But that dosent matter, when everything else is really nice. Still 5 out of 5 from here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Great hotel, plenty of Hot Water, Very friendly staff, flannel sheets, good hot chocolate. I stayed there for a couple months as I was working out of the area and the owner treated us like gold. great deal for the price. Cheers.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cameron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Hi there, the guy insisted I give him a trip advisor review so here it is. The bed was comfy and there was a space heater which made it really cosy, but it was miniscule! Not even room to open the door when my backpack was on the floor so I had to put it in the wardrobe. Also the guy said that there would be 24 hour hot water from the municipal supply (one of the very few places in the world where the community enjoys hot water delivered to the house!) and it was off when I tried to have a shower at about 11PM. I had been sitting in a bath for the previous 3 hours but I wanted to get rid of the residue. I do love bathing! Anyway the food was decent and the price was low and I had a nice time so I am recommending it. I kind of want to say it is "GOOD" but you cannot - only average or "VERY GOOD"! WHy is that Tripadvisor? Is there nowhere in the world that is simply "GOOD"?

Room Tip: They might try and give you the BOX ROOM... fine-ish if you are travelling alone but for 2 people ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danmac0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We just passed through papallacta and we stumbled upon this gem very late at night. The owners of the hostel were a couple of the kindest people we met in ecuador. It was such a pleasure staying the night here. Great value and the most unbelievable showers you will find anywhere.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Papallacta hotels
1.1 mi away
Termas de Papallacta
Termas de Papallacta
#1 of 1 in Papallacta
845 reviews
30.5 mi away
PampaLlacta Termales Hostel
PampaLlacta Termales Hostel
#2 of 4 in Papallacta
85 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Sachacayu Termas
#4 of 4 in Papallacta
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Coturpa, Su Casa en Papallacta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Coturpa, Su Casa en Papallacta

Address: Quisquis y Rodrigo Vela | Km 63 via Quito Baeza, Papallacta, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Napo Province > Papallacta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Papallacta
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Coturpa, your home in Papallacta: rooms with WiFi, thermal fabric sheets, electric heating, TV, private bathroom with NATURAL THERMAL WATER; restaurant. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing