We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect mini-break for foodies”
other travellers have booked this property
Relax in the evening - so peaceful
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax in the evening - so peaceful
Your apartment has lots of room and wide open views. A pool with a view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
521 reviews
Relax in the evening - so peaceful
Your apartment has lots of room and wide open views.
A pool with a view
Shall we take a drive out this afternoon or just take it easy and look at the view?
Maybe you fancy apartment Ricci with a spiral staircase?
Your own private garden - would you like lunch here?
One of the things you really want is a good nights sleep
Fancy a swim? or maybe just take it easy and read your magazine
Are you joining us for our free pizza party on Monday?
We think a nice bathroom is so important
Extensive landscaped grounds means there is space for everyone
Get lost in a big big bed!
Sunflowers everywhere in the summer
If there is anything else you need, just ask
Now maybe that is the spot to chill-out this afternoon!
I never get tired of that view!
We have lots of lavender by the steps to the pool
There is everything I need in this kitchen
Each apartment has a  unique feature
What do you fancy for lunch?
Shall we have a game of Bocce on the top lawn?
Not too much around to disturb you
There are always lots of places to sit, relax and look at the view.
Take a trip up to the mountains - spectacular!
Breakfast in bed? -  relax, you deserve it
I wonder what's in that little town over there on the hill? let's ask Bob & Ian
Sit for a while - no need to rush around here!
Lunch in your own private garden.
Lets pick something from the veggie garden for lunch
I want to find a beautiful bay on the Conero today
Lets go for a walk in the grounds
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Francavilla d'Ete, Province of Fermo, Marche

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 521 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Helen D
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect mini-break for foodies”
Reviewed 12 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Ian and Bob's property is in the middle of an area renowned for its food and wine. We managed to do justice to most of it especially the wine! I shall hope to return. Thanks so much Bob and Ian. Your efforts were much appreciated.....now for a Sheffield winter.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
r k
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Second Visit Just As Good As The First”
Reviewed 7 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We first visited Casal Dei Fichi for our honeymoon back in May of 2014 for about a week and we liked it so much that we promised Bob & Ian that we will be back for sure.

Sure they have a lot of repeat visitors from all over Europe, but for us, we were coming from Vancouver, Canada (a long flight & connections) for about 3 weeks and we stayed only there, that is how much we liked it.

Prior to our vacation here, we were questioned by many of my colleagues, family and friends who were shocked when we told them that we were going back to Italy and back to the same place we had already visited. The thing is, the premises of Casal Dei Fichi, the delicious food for cheap, picturesque landscape everywhere, along with Bob and Ian's hospitality just cannot be topped. The apartments we stayed in were spotless, clean, very comfortable and had everything needed to cook. The scenery from the apartment windows are like paintings everywhere you look.

Around the time we arrived, most of the fruits and vegetables in their garden was coming in season. We ate so many fresh figs, delicious grapes, tomatoes, lettuce and walnuts. Almost every restaurant we went to, recommended by Bob & Ian in their guidebooks (in the apartments) were absolutely fantastic. Some places were middle of no where, but were true fine dining establishments and we were amazed by the experiences.

On our last visit, we had been introduced to one of their dogs named Balzo and my wife really loved him. Sadly Balzo passed away a few months prior to our visit and when we arrived, we did miss him. On the last week of our visit, Bob & Ian adopted a 4 month puppy named Jake which was a very pleasant surprise for my wife. We took him for a walk, dog sat him and just played around with him, he was awesome. They also have a few cats, one of which Jago was really friendly and loved to be petted. He even followed us while we were taking Jake for a walk, which for a cat seemed highly unusual, guess he wanted some company?

I do have to say one thing about the local Italians in that area. Not once did they make us feel like we were foreigners, unwanted or unwelcome. We never got looked at strangely, treated like tourists or poorly treated. In fact, other than the language barrier, we were treated very nicely and welcomed everywhere we went!

You definitely need a car there to explore the area or to go out for a bite. The roads are windy and people do tailgate (a no no in Canada and US), I found driving there to be a lot less stressful than here just because of the open roads.

Tip for those without GPS: Download an app called HERE MAPS on your smart phone. It works offline and without mobile signal and it worked wonderfully for us while we drove around, it even took us via back roads that we did not even know or see.

We loved our stay the second time around and again wished we had more time to spend here. We will definitely return for the 3rd time in the next coming years.

I know I am missing a lot of stuff as I type this, but if you enjoy quiet vacations, this place is the best!

Thanks Bob & Ian for everything you did to make our visit so comfortable and everything you did for us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: The local seista hours were a bit of a challenge for us
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen M
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great gourmet break”
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

An all inclusive weekend with locally sourced food and wine aplenty. Bob and Ian have done their research well and are entertaining and caring hosts. Nothing was too much trouble. The setting is spectacular. The area is better than Tuscany and much cheaper though as it was all inclusive we didn't spend a single Euro. The apartments are top quality, spacious and comfortable, so much that we will return, and this is unusual for us.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Gourmet concept with transport laid on.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springer
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Another Fabulous Holiday”
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We have just had our 4th stay at Casal dei Fichi and it was as good as ever. The views from the farmhouse are stunning, the apartments are comfortable and well-equipped, and the resident owners are only too willing to ensure that you have a wonderful holiday. There was a very welcome bottle of wine chilling in the fridge when we arrived, and we loved breakfasting on fresh eggs from the resident chickens, and courgettes and herbs from the vegetable garden. The kitchens in the appartments are very well equipped but if cooking when you are on holiday is not for you, you will be spoilt for choice when eating out. There are many wonderful, and very cheap, restaurants within easy driving distance of CDF - you certainly won't go hungry here!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warm welcome from the owners
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
llo1846
Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Gourmet Weekend: wonderful encore”
Reviewed 25 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We visited Casal dei Fichi in Spring 2103 and experienced the friendly and expert guidance of Bob and Ian on the gourmet styles of "Le Marche" for the first time. (See review)
This time we came in Autumn to see a different complexion and were not disappointed!
We visited two of the restaurants which we particularly liked last time and they came up trumps again. Bob and Ian had found some new wine-tastings that were really excellent and perhaps a step-up from last time; certainly more colourful characters. The cookery school was also different, really well prepared and executed in a lovely location.
Other favourites from last time were just as good.
The apartments are very comfortable and the views from the house stunning; the weather was in fine form.
Our hosts were magnificent. nothing is too much trouble for them and all with a smile.
We weren't sure if they could do better than last time but they did; well done!
Thoroughly recommend this gourmet weekend experience you only have to book, pay and turn up to have an unforgettable time in Le Marche

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the hosts
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForeFood
New York
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“I DIDN'T WANT TO LEAVE”
Reviewed 24 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

One of the very best stops on our 24 day tour of Italy was Casal dei Fichi. Hosted by the wonderful Ian and Bob, we stayed for a week in a magnificent apartment with a spacious rooms including a kitchen and large private patio overlooking the magical Marche countryside. Although not for those who seek a fine hotel with daily linen changes and a restaurant, Casal dei Fichi is a relaxing oasis along a dirt road off the main road in tiny Francavilla d'ete. I cannot begin to tell you how wonderful it was cooking eggs from their chickens and picking ripe tomatoes, zucchini, eggplant and more from the garden, not to mention out of this world figs from the hundred plus year old fig trees which are the namesake of the property. You are left on your own here to enjoy the true feeling of living in Italy. Go shopping in the morning, tour in the afternoon and then come back to a homemade dinner, Or, go to one of the many local towns for a spectacular lunch and return "home" for wine, bread and cheese on your patio or cook a farm to table dinner if you wish. We will be back as are many of the guests that stay each year. We miss you guys!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the apartment
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin J
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little bit of paradise”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This is the third time we have spent a week with Ian and Bob at their fantastic Italian farm conversion into luxury apartments the only thing missing on this occasion was Bolso their Belgium Shepard dog who recently passed away..Ian and Bob introduced us to local Italian restaurants and the best of Italian wines and of course we had the usual make your own Pitza evening.We enjoyed the local festival in the village and met a lot of their Italian friends and ex pats.The week flew by and now look forward to a further visit in the not to,distant future

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing