We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Our very own fairytale wedding.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Domaine D'essendieras

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Domaine D'essendieras
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Our very own fairytale wedding.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is only my second tripadvisor review....and it is rather late but i could not not write a review on the place we were married!
My wife and I visited several chateaux's before deciding on the fairytale wedding at the Domaine. With the Domaines many options to say our vows and hold the reception - it really was a simple choice.
We married in Domaine D'essendieras in September 2013, we had 80 guests coming from across the globe. The location of the Domain makes it accessible to everyone with budget UK airlines going to the nearby airports and our International friends going via Bordeaux.
When you first set eyes on the Domaine you will be taken back by the long windy road with trees lined on each side before casting your eyes on the estate. The mixture of accomodation suited all budgets and the various group sizes. The gites especially are of a very high standard and it was like "home from home". The accommodation also included bikes to tour the grounds, a golf course our guests played in the morning of our wedding and swimming pools - enough to keep everyone busy.
The weekend started on the Friday night where we catered for our guests with the traditional dish moules en frites and drinks - this was superb and a great start!
The Saturday was our big day and we said our vows in the beautiful marquees near the water features and had our reception in the golf club overlooking the wonderful views.
Without bias, the wedding food was the best we have ever had and our guests said the same!
And how can I forget...the wedding suite is like a fairytale!
We had the most wonderful time and can honestly say it was the best day of our lives.
Words can not describe how beautiful our day was and we would not change anything for the world!
We can not praise Jerome and the rest of his family and team enough for catering for our every needs.
Thank you to everyone and see you for our 5 and 10 year anniversary!

Room Tip: The Wedding suite is like a fairytale!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walla90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    18
    9
    7
    5
See reviews for
38
16
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
165 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

First time at the domaine and not the last time. Stayed at a pavillon which was very spacious and practical but could use a touch up in the upcoming year. The view on the chateaux is fantastic and there is enough to do even if you do not play golf. Table d'hote was enjoyable. The menu of the clubhouse is small but the experience satisfactory. The domaine is very large so you have to drive to get your bread f.e. consequently we drove to the nearest village to get out French bread. We will miss the horses, friendly owners, good beds, long walks and lakes & pools. Saw in 2 weeks the top 5 touristy things to do as well so we leave very satisfied.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EUlrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

We chose Domaine d'Essendiéras based on location – we were on a north to south trip, with the next stop at Sarlat, so Domaine d’Essendieras was well placed for our overnight stay.

The property is large with lovely flower gardens planted around the main buildings, and includes a lake, pool, kids play area, golf etc etc.

We paid E220 for one of the suites in the 16th century castle, with the main bedroom built in the top of a turret and twin beds in a mezzanine loft bedroom. It was amazing. The kids loved the room and so did we. It was kind of like living in a fairytale castle – for one night. The room also had a small kitchenette where we cooked a basic meal, and a large, luxurious bathroom.

At the end of the holiday season, the grounds were looking a little tired – in need of recovery time – the pool equipment was broken, the pool room a bit of a mess, for example – but inside the common rooms and our room it was very clean and everything functioned as it should.

Although a great stopping point for us, Domaine d'Essendiéras is kind of remote. But we had a great stay and in the end, we wished be had more than just one night.

Room Tip: Spend the extra bucks for a suite in the castle. What an experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oz4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

I never write reviews on these things. I always just like reading what other people have to say! nevertheless I came across this page when searchng for my flights to return to the Domaine next summer after our wonderful experience this year and was shocked with the bad reviews below so felt i should share our experience.
Tucked away (i.e. without sat nav we took a while to find the place!) on the top of the hill is this beautiful place, we visited in the summer for 5 nights. We stayed in the 16th century castle... very quirky! Breakfast was included which consisted of freshly baked breads, cheeses, jams and pain aux chocolates.... mmm! Certainly no complaints there. The whole atmosphere of this place is so laid back. We lounged by the pool, played on the trampoline (though felt we should move when the kids wanted on!) and walked many miles around the beautiful estate, full of trees growing fruits and surrounded by fields of sunflowers - truely blissful!! If you enjoy peace, and beautiful surroundings, this place is a must. If I was ever getting married again this would be my dream venue, it truely is like something out of a fairytale! Anyway - We were made to be very welcome (even by the dogs!) and assistance was always available when or if required. We were given recommendations in the local vicintiy where we should eat although the restaurant on site food was amazing also. I would say my standards are pretty high but quite honestly could not say enough good things. Kep up the good wrk and we can't wait to come back next summer!

Room Tip: The suite is out of this world - if you like nice things you will love this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilly_UK82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

I am truely gobsmacked by the other reviews of this place. I genuinely think it is one of the most beautiful places I have ever visited. We have stayed in the annex on both occasions, although were shown around the vast amount of other properties to explore their beauty. The annex rooms here are basic, although perfect in every way for what we needed / required. My only moan would be that i would bring my own power hair drier when I next come to visit! and for 125 euros a night - who could ever complain?
I wish I could upload all of my photos on here to show the sheer beauty of it. The gites and Pavillions are so beautiful i would recommend anyone to come and see for theirselves. France is different to the UK. Here this hidden paradise is a true reflection of this. I say to the moaners below, enjoy something for its beauty and for what it stands for rather than making it something it is not.
Amazing scenary, quirkiness & great for long walks in the morning & at dusk. Truely beautiful in every way. And just to add the entire family are so friendly and welcoming, couldn't have been happier with the service.

Room Tip: The suites are to die for!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sc0tlandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Awful,awful,awful. A truly dreadful experience in a damp subterranean room, lacking proper facilities. No wardrobe, a kitchen sink in substitution for a vanity unit. The musty smell was pervasive.

We should have enjoyed a five day visit for a family wedding in a nearby Chateau. Alas our expensive stay was quite ruined. This property should have been condemned by the relevant local authority. Never again.

Room Tip: Drive straight past!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RBYSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

I cannot understand the other reviews of this place. We stayed here as a family group, for a wedding nearby. If you are happy with bedding so damp you could pretty much wring it out, 3 underground bedrooms with the type of windows outlawed in most prisons, one functioning lavatory between 12 people and a disgusting and pervasive stench of drains / bad drainage in almost all the rooms, then this is the place for you. Other members of the group stayed at another property on the Domaine, and this too was grim - a series of walk-through bedrooms and one bathroom at the other end of the building. It spoiled the trip completely for us all, and there are several members of the family who will never go back to the Dordogne, let alone this place, after such a horrible experience.

Room Tip: Avoid this place at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RedheadLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Excideuil
7.4 mi away
Au Perigord Noir
Au Perigord Noir
#1 of 2 in Hautefort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
19.2 mi away
Chateau de la Fleunie
Chateau de la Fleunie
#1 of 1 in Condat-sur-Vezere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aux Delices d'Excideuil
Aux Delices d'Excideuil
#1 of 3 in Excideuil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
La Maison du Bonheur
La Maison du Bonheur
#1 of 1 in Anlhiac
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
23.1 mi away
Chateau des Reynats
Chateau des Reynats
#1 of 1 in Chancelade
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
7.8 mi away
Domaine De La Brugere
Domaine De La Brugere
#1 of 1 in Nantheuil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine D'essendieras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine D'essendieras

Property: Domaine D'essendieras
Address: Lieu Dit Essendieras | 24160 St Medard d'Excideuil, 24160 Excideuil, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Excideuil
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Excideuil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Domaine D'essendieras 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domaine d'Essendieras is originaly a agriculture domaine from almost 400 Ha. The Bed and Breakfast rooms are in the Castles and in the buildings annex to the Castles. All buildings are renovated the last 15 years, where we chose to respect the authenticity as much as possible. On the domaine you will also find a small Camping where every camp place has its private bathroom. Next to that there are about 30 holiday homes on the domaine, from restaurated former cottages to very luxury new build holiday homes with private swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Domaine D'essendieras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing