We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful locaton with peace and quiet”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of La Ferme de Tabary

Farmhouse in the sun
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Farmhouse in the sun
It's 15 x7m ! Farmhouse Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Farmhouse in the sun
It's 15 x7m !
Farmhouse Kitchen
Farmhouse Bedroom
Farmhouse at Tabary
Spacious lawns at Tabary
Let's go exploring!  Hire bikes locally.
Hay's made!
Quad bikes & Paintball at Hautefort
The local castle
Former railway track to town & restaurants
Gatehouse Cottage at Tabary
Tabary and La Ferme
Nearby Montignac - Lascaux cave paintings centre.
The Gatehouse Cottage at Tabary
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Excideuil, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
maggos
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Beautiful locaton with peace and quiet”
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from La Tabary after spending a month in the old farmhouse which was delightful. The accommodation was very spacious, homely and very well equipped and Richard and Louisa were on hand if we should need anything. The grounds were very spacious with plenty of room to walk around and we had out door table, chairs and BBQ. when we wanted it. It was wonderfully peaceful and lovely to sit outside reading and listening to the cuckoo and other birds. The town of Excideul was only a few minutes away by car with its restaurants and coffee shops. Market day is Thursday and well worth visiting as it is well spread out with lots to see and buy. I should also mention that there is a very good Super U supermarket just down the road which caters for all tastes and is even open on a Sunday morning. We travelled all around the area and there is so much to see and do it would take too long to write about. It really is an ideal spot and hopefully we will be back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property and location
Liked least: The foor in the shower could get very slippery
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eglwysnew...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely relaxing fortnight in Perigord”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a lovely fortnight in and around Tabary in March/April 2015. We stayed in the farmhouse which is really spacious and the grounds outside provided plenty of space for our little boy to run around in. There are lots of good footpaths around Tabary which are accessible from the farmhouse and Excideuil is just a short 10-15 minute walk along one of these. We managed to patch up a couple of the mountain bikes for a few runs along the local paths while we were there which was fun (there is a baby bike seat too) although we'd suggest hiring bikes if you're looking to do longer rides on the road.

Excideuil is a quiet village and ideal for all basics - nice artisan boulangerie and a couple of decent patisseries. There are also a couple of nice cafes - cafe kitsh is a good place to relax with a book. We also enjoyed the food at Le Rustic on a couple of nights (excellent burgers. foie gras and Modelo beer on tap!) although it was quiet mid-week so perhaps better to head there at the weekend for more atmosphere. The weekly market was good too and the Super-U supermarket was pretty convenient for all essentials.

Richard and Luisa were really good hosts and it was useful to have them on site for local knowledge and tips on places to go etc. They provided us with anything we needed including a travel cot instead of the wooden cot which our little one found a bit too squeaky for a good night's sleep!

Around Excideuil we really enjoyed our day trips to Brantôme, Sarlat, Hautefort and a trip further south to Castelnaud, Beynac and Domme. We hired a car and all of these were within 30-90 mins drive.

Would be happy to recommend Tabary to a large family with young children although we'd recommend hiring a car for touring around. Diolch yn fawr/Merci beaucoup!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz E
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing fortnight in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We hired the three houses at Domaine de Tabary for two weeks for a group of 11 friends and family ranging from 9 to 54 years old. Taking the three houses worked really well, giving great communal areas for cooking and eating (including large outside tables) with separate living spaces also appreciated from time to time. The accommodation is charming, and attractively furnished.We made lots of use of the table tennis barn (great for rainy days)and the badminton nets, and the pool was easily big enough for games and diving - and refreshing on hot days. Richard and Luisa are excellent hosts/neighbours, never intrusive, but always available with information and guidance if required. Excideuil is lovely, and we might have spent more time in town, but the splendid food and drink we bought at Super U (5 minutes away) kept us happily cooking and barbecuing at the Domaine. Various people enjoyed excursions to Perigueux and Brantome - there's no shortage of sites to visit , but it's very easy to slip into delightful laziness at the Domaine. Canoeing nearby was worth the effort though!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The weather
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing