We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional Value - Exceptional hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aux Delices d'Excideuil

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aux Delices d'Excideuil
Ranked #1 of 3 Excideuil B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Blowing Rock, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional Value - Exceptional hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed there 4 nights with friends to attend a wedding at Chateau Durantie and hit the jackpot enjoying warm, gracious hosts who even cooked delicious last minute special diet meals, charming rooms, beautiful garden dining and a very reasonable price. Location suited us all perfectly; a quiet, quaint peaceful spot to explore the region. Whatever we asked for (quite a lot), Francoise and Bart were happy to help with. I only wished I would have asked to take home the 10 home made jams served at breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harris108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
52
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We travel widely for pleasure and I travel even more widely for business, and we can't think of anywhere either of us have ever stayed that came close to this. It is that special. Francoise and Bart (and family) somehow magically make it feel like we catching up with old friends. It really is that good. Dinner, accompanied by well chosen wines, was simply superb, it just does not get better than this. The setting is lovely, the house and the room are, just like the hosts, charming. If Iike us you are a jaded traveller a stay here will set the world to rights. I wish we could give more than 5 stars.
My Facebook comment for our friends posted not long after we arrived and before we had the meal:
"Oh my you know you have made good choices when you turn up at a B&B and:
-The place is drop dead gorgeous
-The landlady suggest that before bothering to bring the stuff in and go up to the room that we all sit on the courtyard garden and share a 'welcome' glass of wine (fine South African Chardonnay... and we are in France!), .... which turns into a second glass of wine
-They offer to carry the stuff in for us
-The teenage kids come and say 'hello'
-They happily put up with our rubbish French
-The landlady runs through your likes and dislikes for food so she can go and buy the right fresh stuff for dinner and breakfast
... and asks her charming husband to joint us and it becomes a bottle of Chardonnay (and still not yet in the room, bags still in the car)
-They get out a map and show us the best places to go
-The room is drop dead gorgeous
-The rooftops are also drop dead gorgeous (OK, I have a thing about rooftops)
-They ask us what time we would like to eat, then suggest come down half an
hour before 'so we can enjoy a aperitif together'

No idea what the meal will be like, but boy for me this knocks spots off the swankiest hotel"

Room Tip: I don't think you need to worry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy190745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed in Aux Delices d'Excideuil for 4 nights when attending a wedding at nearby Chateau Durantie. We really loved everything about this B&B. Bart and Francoise were so welcoming and nothing was too much trouble - Francoise even arranged a delicious birthday cake for our daughter's birthday for the day we arrived! As we required 2 rooms, they also ensured both rooms were on the same floor opposite each other. The rooms were spacious and decorated with a personal touch. Breakfast was wonderful - served in a gorgeous courtyard and complete with freshly based croissants, pastries, breads and delicious home-made jams (and the hot chocolate was to die for). Excideuil is a gorgeously quaint village and we enjoyed strolling the cobbled streets and exploring its sights. We spent almost 4 weeks in Europe in total and this was our favourite accommodation. We would definately stay again if we return to France.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leonie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Like staying in a luxury hotel! Beautiful building and a lovely garden. Bart & Françoise are very welcoming, friendly and so attentive. They work so hard to make sure your stay is perfect. Excideuil is a charming historic town, not yet suffering crowds of summer visitors. Great central base for exploring the Périgord region with its World Heritage sites.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

My husband and I have just returned from the most relaxing and wonderful stay in Aux Delices d'Excideuil. We went to a wedding at a local Chateau and were just so well looked after throughout our stay. Bart and Francoise are such charming and attentive hosts who seemed to read our minds, offering delicious wine, meals and snacks at exactly the right moments. We made full use of their gorgeous walled vegetable garden and managed to fit in some wonderful sunbathing with a glass of wine time surrounded by beautiful plants. It felt to us like a piece of rustic French heaven, with everything we needed for an extremely comfortable stay. Our hosts truly went 'above and beyond' and it is an experience that will stay with us for a long time. Merci beaucoup!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrMrsA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totnes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

What a wonderful surprise to find this lovely chambres d'hôtes in Excideuil, beautiful bedroom tastefully and sympathetically decorated, delicious food and a warm welcome from hosts Bart and Francoise. Well worth making a detour to have the pleasure of staying in such a superb hotel. David and Annie

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Aux Delices d'Excideuil is an old french property that has been restored beautifully. The owners Brad and Fran onlong with their lovely family are excellent hosts in every way. We enjoyed a delicious meal with the family. To our shame we speak very little french, but Brad, Fran and Frans daughter were so kind to speak English throughout the evening, even to each other, which was very much appreciated ( we promise, before our next visit, we will try to learn a little more french)

The house has a lovely homely atmosphere throughout, with charming immaculatly clean bedrooms, a delightful dining room with an open fire, a stunning staircase and a beautiful courtyard and vegetable/flower garden. With the added bonus of very close and convenient parking within the square.

After a peaceful nights sleep we enjoyed a very relaxed breakfast of homemade jams, including Frans fabulously famous 'Melon Jam' and a selection of breads and crossaints.

We will not hesitate in booking again, hopefully in the not to distant future

Merci beaucoup x

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HattieHatfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Excideuil
17.6 mi away
Le Moulin du Roc
Le Moulin du Roc
#1 of 2 in Champagnac de Belair
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
19.4 mi away
Moulin De Vigonac
Moulin De Vigonac
#1 of 6 in Brantome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
8.9 mi away
Auberge de la Truffe - Hotel de la Mairie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Au Perigord Noir
Au Perigord Noir
#1 of 2 in Hautefort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
2.4 mi away
Domaine D'essendieras
Domaine D'essendieras
#1 of 1 in Excideuil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
20.3 mi away
La Maison De Leopold
La Maison De Leopold
#1 of 3 in Terrasson-Lavilledieu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aux Delices d'Excideuil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aux Delices d'Excideuil

Property: Aux Delices d'Excideuil
Address: 2 Place Bugeaud, 24160 Excideuil, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Excideuil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Excideuil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Throughout the year Françoise and Bart welcome you to "Aux Délices d'Excideuil", staying in their comfortable, cosy and authentic home. This house of character dating back over 250 years will enchant you with its architecture. The rooms tastefully restored, offer fine decor combining modern comfort and traditional charm. Set in the heart of the medieval quarter, nestling around its twelfth century church and only 200 meters from the castle which was traditionally the home of the Viscounts of Limoges, this place is ideally located enabling you to visit the many tourist attractions in the surrounding area.Nearby you will visit prestigious prehistoric sites and fantastic caves or you will indulge the pleasures of hiking, climbing, canoeing, kayaking or speleology… or simply join the pilgrims on one of the many walks on the Camino de Santiago de Compostela. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Aux Delices d'Excideuil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing