We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveller rating
251
7
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
7
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 260 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2015

Modern clean hotel close to trade centre . .
Language skills are still an issue with staff .
Catering in restaurants is generally quite good with an extensive range of food .
Comm cation with staff somewhat difficult and times .
Payment for basic such a faxing etc to be laid in cash instead of room bill
Orange juice and drinks, not readily available in the restaurant .

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2014

Since this appears to be the first review of the Grand Plaza Royale, will try to go into some depth. First, the executive summary: speaking to friends who've stayed at other highly-ranked Chenzhou hotels on Tripadvisor, I suspect this Wyndham managed property is easily the best place to stay in town (Dec 2014). It effortlessly reaches international standards; the staff are very good; the food's decent with excellent pizza and wonton noodle at the main restaurant ad good, albeit rather expensive coffee at the small lobby café. A few teething glitches aside, WGPR matches anything else top-end I've stayed at in Shanghai or Beijing over the last 15 years. It's also far better value for money (750 yuan a night, excluding tax).

In more depth: Booking a room at this hotel can be incredibly problematic. I couldn't find a dedicated hotel website in Chinese or English; even the Wyndham website didn't list this property despite the fact that it's most definitely in their portfolio. I accidentally stumbled on Ctrip.com and came across the hotel there. Made the booking not entirely persuaded that the hotel even existed and prepared to go somewhere else on arrival in town. But enjoying an adventure, took the risk ... and things turned out very well.

The location is 25 mins from Chenzhou West bullet train station. Since there's no airport in town (or nearby; Changsha, Guilin and Guangzhou are probably closest at 2-4 hours away, depending on transport type) this is likely to be the way many non-local visitors access town / the hotel. Although the property is still relatively new, taxi drivers all seem to know the location, over near the new soccer and sports stadium.

The rooms are very pleasant (see pics). Reception upgraded me on arrival, so not sure of the difference between room types. However, 828 was very spacious with separate living and sleeping areas. Well equipped bathroom with plenty of hot water (and a strange mirror above the bath that has a red LED light in it, which made me feel like I was being watched by a secret camera, though no doubt there is an innocent explanation!) a kettle and tea bags. No milk or coffee I could find, but that was no biggie. There's a huge tv that turns on its wooden pedestal so it can be viewed on the sofa in the living room, or from the lovely large and very comfy bed. The carpets are clean as is the rest of the room - which as old China hands will know, is always something of a crapshoot in Chinese hotels, even high end.

Areas for improvement? In the knowledge this is still a new place and snagging might be ongoing: it would be great if the room could be a little warmer. No matter how high I set the two thermostats in the room, the temp. never seemed to rise above 20 degrees celsius. In a Chinese winter, this is much warmer than most homes/hotels, but maybe not quite warm enough for someone coming from hot climbs.

The deposit and payment policy is a bit idiosyncratic. You're asked for a Y500 deposit on checking in, but if you exceed that amount at the cafe, bar or restaurant, you're asked to stump up cash. It was a bit awkward at dinner when my request to put an evening meal on the room account was denied and i was taken to reception to top up my deposit. Again, no biggie and actually quite logical.

Although the hotel feels geared towards business travellers (don't imagine many tourists visit Chenzhou) FOR ANYONE TRAVELING WITH YOUNG CHILDREN be careful of bedroom and hallway windows. Even on the 8th floor, both sets open so wide that, if I was travelling with little ones, I'd be very nervous for their safety. They might not open quite wide enough but - see my pics - it's not something I'd risk. Child locks would put a lot of parents at ease.

Finally, the hotel staff are very good. English is widely spoken. Elsa, Sally, Ivy and all their colleagues in the restaurant are exceptionally kind and very eager to practice their English; William and his colleagues on the front desk are all helpful. A particular word of thanks to Bruna from Brazil, the Wyndham guest manager, who was most professional and clearly very good at her job. The hotel is lucky to have them all and I would gladly stay again, as much for their great care for their guests as the fact the hotel is all in all, a perfectly good place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ivan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
wyndhamchenzhou, 预订部 at Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Chenzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
wyndhamchenzhou, 预订部 at Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Chenzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
wyndhamchenzhou, 预订部 at Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Chenzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews