We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant place for a meal”
Review of The Old Inn

The Old Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Old Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Holt
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Old Inn is a traditional country pub in the heart of the idyllic village of Holt. Situated close to the historic town of Wimborne Minster, The Old Inn is the perfect destination when you fancy a homemade, traditional pub meal.
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We were staying at a cottage and asked for a pub recommendation and were told about this place and that they had never had a bad meal there. We went on a Tuesday night and the dining room was about half full. Service was pleasant and relaxed but effective We had fish and chips and trout with sauté potatoes and salad. Both well cooked and nicely presented. Dessert was gooseberry crumble a nice seasonal touch and sorbets from a good selection of ices unfortunately not local


Liked the atmosphere of the place and the pleasant mix of the old pub features but modern pastel decor.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank P&AEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldInnHolt, Manager at The Old Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Thank you for your kind comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
There are newer reviews for The Old Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 252 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had a lovely Sunday roast in this quaint pub, which has recently been done up. We both had Beef which was served on piping hot plates, the roast potatoes done to a "T" crispy outside, fluffy inside, the veg in fact the whole serving were good portions. Food arrived fairly quick and service was good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank asicit007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldInnHolt, Manager at The Old Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. All our meat, fish and vegetables are sourced locally. We cook the beef on a very low temperature to make it as tender as possible. Plus the roast potatoes are cooked in beef dripping. We look forward to seeing you at "The Old Inn" soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Appalling service is the only way to describe our experience tonight. Living in a neighbouring village we are spoiled with a choice of high standard local pubs around us. As we like to try new places, tonight we decided to visit The Old Inn in Holt. From the outside the pub looks idyllic and possibly if you were there for just a drink you would have had a different experience, however we were there to try the food. We went to the bar to order drinks first but instead were shown a table. That was fine and we were happy to wait for someone to take our drinks order, to begin with that was. The pub was reasonably full but there was no excuse for us waiting for over 30 minutes before a member of the waiting staff came over to ask us if we were ready to order! This poor standard of service continued throughout the evening with all members of staff we encountered being abrupt and sharp with us. We actually felt as if we had somehow unwittingly offended them. Our food eventually arrived and again the serving staff were rude and snappy. The standard of service is our only complaint; the location is beautiful and we would like to mention the excellent quality of the food- both meals and desserts were excellent. We hope the chef is aware how let down they are by the front of house staff. We have never been made to feel so unwelcome in a pub before and despite the high quality food available we will not return and will advise others to avoid it. The heart of a local pub is the staff who run it and we can only hope the landlord is aware of the staff issues they have.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
10  Thank Ralphonzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldInnHolt, Manager at The Old Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for the kind comments you have made regarding the food at the Old Inn. I sincerely apologise if you felt the service and attitude of the staff did not meet your expectations. We have been extremely busy for the last few months and the young waiting staff work extremely hard to deliver good service. When the pub is very busy it takes longer for the food to prepare as all fresh food is cooked to order, there for it takes longer for the guests to receive the food.They key staff have been with The Old Inn for a number of years, and the part-time waiting staff are the average age of 18, and keen to please and offer good service. We are a pub not a restaurant, and many guests choose to go to the bar and get there own drinks and sometimes even to place their food order. We have become one of the busiest pubs in the area, and certainly find it curious that you feel you we discredit other pubs in Dorset and have decided to recommend for people to avoid us even with the high praise on the food and the beautiful surroundings you have given us. With all your experience at eating in pubs in the area, I note that you have not written a review on any other pub in the area. In fact this is your first one. Interesting !!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We arrived for a wedding breakfast along with an escort of neon clad cyclists on a pub crawl. The staff handled this expertly and with great humour. You had the impression that nothing could rock these people from what they do best. The hospitality was as warm as the weather - nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent. So often there are signs of panic when serving food to large groups - but no. The service was swift and attentive. The food was delicious. The whole experience was fitting for the occasion.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldInnHolt, Manager at The Old Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you for your kind words. The cyclists definitely added a lot of colour to the pub but were a great bunch of lads especially when they clapped and cheered the arrival of the Bride and Groom, who took there presence in great spirit. Great Day by all. See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We had a simple meal, but it was wonderfully cooked. All the service was excellent and very friendly. This all coupled with sitting out in the pretty new garden area and lovely company meant our evening was one certainly to remember. The only thing I can give some criticism on was the price of the desserts which I think are a little high. But a lovely touch is the beacon shaped fire holders that were lit once the sun went down and it had got a little chilly. We will return sooner rather than later and am sure we will have just as good a time again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Nicki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldInnHolt, Manager at The Old Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to compliment us. It is always appreciated by all the staff, as they all work hard to deliver good service and meet all the guests expectations. We look forward to seeing you soon. We have a outside movie night on The 30th August 9pm. "The Rocky Horror Picture Show". Fancy Dress optional.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Old Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing