We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy cottage with great view from Bedroom window”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Riversmeet

Bright and sunny living room in the summer or warm and cosy by the wood burner in winter.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bright and sunny living room in the summer or warm and cosy by the wood burner in winter.
Cosy double bedroom with stunning views overlooking the Tressilian River. Quaint Cornish cottage overlooking the stunning views of the 3 rivers merging to become e river Fal.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Bright and sunny living room in the summer or warm and cosy by the wood burner in winter.
Cosy double bedroom with stunning views overlooking the Tressilian River.
Quaint Cornish cottage overlooking the stunning views of the 3 rivers merging to become e river Fal.
Open plan recently decorated kitchen, dining and living area. TV and DVD available.
Velux Windows allowing a  plenty of natural light into the new bathroom.
Exposed natural beams in the twin room add character and a spacious feel to this delightful room.
The view from Riversmeet cottage is truly stunning in this tranquil location.
Conveniently, about 20 metres up the road is the Heron Inn, a classic old Cornish pub.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Malpas, Truro, Truro District, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Freedom69...
1 review
“Cosy cottage with great view from Bedroom window”
Reviewed 18 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Cosy cottage with very comfortable beds. Open plan downstairs worked well and the
kitchen was well equipped - home from home. Furnishings comfortable with
.homely touches. Books well chosen and great to have jigsaws to do
Truro was an excellent centre for shopping and we loved going round the
Cathedral..Beautiful area to explore and we enjoyed looking round several gardens .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2017
Thank you Barbara for taking the time to write this lovely review. I'm so glad you had a great holiday and were such appreciative guests. Best wishes, Elaine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed 18 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I visited with my family in August and have already taken my issues up with the owner of the property. I had to clean the house on arrival which wasn't the best start to our holiday. Unfortunately for us we wouldn't stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2017
I'm glad we were able to resolve your issues quickly and hopefully reimbursing you for all cleaning costs was helpful. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Cornwall with your family and lovely doggie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieJane...
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
“Ideally located base from which to explore Cornwall :)”
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We are a family of 4, consisting of a husband and wife, 10 year old son and mother-in-law and we stayed at Riversmeet for a week at the end of the school holidays.

The cottage was very comfortable, though the housekeeper skimped in a few places (may be just me being picky about cleanliness but the fireplace area was very dusty and there were cobwebs in the eaves in the second bedroom). The beds had winter duvets on which we couldn't sleep under having glorious weather and as the second bedroom (the twin room) does not have any curtains in the two large skylights, if your children sleep in this room they WILL wake you up daily at 5:00am when the sunlight comes streaming in! The kitchen was generally well stocked, though a vegetable peeler would have been handy! A welcome gift of scones, cream, jam and milk left for us on our arrival which were very much appreciated! :) It's also very handy having a dishwasher so you have more time to enjoy Cornwall than slave over pots!

Note to dog owners, there is a jitty which passes along the back of all the houses in the terrace so your back door does not open directly onto the garden. Therefore, you must be outside supervising your dog when they are out. Plus, a lot of the gardens are very open and you'll have to ensure that your dog doesn't run across other residents' gardens. There was a dog a few doors down that persisted in coming down to the garden and doing it's business for me to pick up which was very frustrating!!! The garden is very steep and cut into 4 or 5 tiers and the views from the top decked area are phenomenal! It was a pity we didn't have the time to have a barbecue up there, so I'd urge any prospective guests to make time for one!

Parking was difficult, especially on Fridays and Saturdays on nice days when the Heron Inn pub, just a few doors down, would be rammed to the rafters and you will have to park down near Boscawen Park (approximately a mile away) as it is extremely popular. Definitely get back before dinner on these days to ensure you get a car parking space! The cottage is fabulously located for venturing out to many Cornish attractions such as the Eden Project, Trelissick Gardens, Perranporth beach, Port Issac and Padstow for example, and there's a brilliant boat trip to Falmouth from the opposite side of the road just past the pub. You wouldn't have to travel any longer than an hour to get to anywhere in Cornwall from this fantastic location :)

Would I come back? Yes, definitely! Though I'd be armed with summer sheets, a duster, a black-out blind, a vegetable peeler and an extendable dog lead! :) Thanks for an enjoyable stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I'm glad you had an enjoyable stay and would visit us again. We will put in the blackout blinds and vegetable peeler for next time. I'm pleased the weather was that good but duly noted for a choice of duvets.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Jun 2017
Thank you Kim. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and got to relax on the decking.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ram1963
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage in a good location”
Reviewed 9 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Good location for walking into Truro & catching the ferry to Falmouth. Cottage was cosy, clean and warm. My daughter and I had a relaxing three days prior to her returning home from Uni'.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review our cottage, Riversmeet, at Malpas. So pleased to had a lovely time and hope you stay again in the future. Kind regards, Elaine.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cockney in lincolnshire
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Riversmet
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Aug 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review and leaving the cottage so tidy. I'm glad you had a good time. I hope you can stay again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jan W
Hannover, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing