We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Le Mesclun”
Review of Le Mesclun

Le Mesclun
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Seguret
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$54
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Le Mesclun”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

I went with my parents and friends to this charming restaurant in a tiny Provençal village just about 30 minutes from Vaison la Romaine. My parents and friends had the 50 euro menu and I had the menu at 45 euros. My starter which was a declinason de tomates was really delicious and my mains was a tagine of lamb in filo pastry. The pastry just melted in your mouth and was completely orgasmic. My puddings (in the plural) were a passion fruit mousse with a lime cream froth first followed by a mixture of strawberries. All in all it was an evening to savour. I would really recommend this place.

Helpful?
Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    101
    45
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A short walk from Sablet, a fulfilled walk home...”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Last night was perhaps our 10th meal at Les Mesculin, and we would not return so often if it weren't a great experience. We had good friends as house guests from Alsace, who we had taken there a year ago and they requested an encore (they treated!). The terrace is lovely, made even nicer in the last couple of years by a nice tile surface that looks decades old. The view is quite nice, looking out to Sablet and Rasteau, but that is not the reason to go. Chef Christophe is an artist, with some of the most interesting presentations I have seen, and he does this for every course every meal. The food is terrific as well, and the service has been consistently excellent (warm, efficient, helpful). The wine list includes an excellent selection of CdR wines, several under 40 euro, and many from great vintages. You will need to ask the somm for the vintages as they are not on the wine list (07, 09 and 11 are strong vintages for the region, and he has selections from each). We had a 2011 Rasteau that was excellent and a good value (a rising village) and went very well with the lamb. Not cheap, but worth the price. We will be returning often, that I know, and being able to walk home through the vinyards under a full moon is a bonus in many ways!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent in every way”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Really good food, lovely setting on a terrace overlooking the valley below, friendly waiting staff, an excellent all round experience. A great find. We would definitely visit again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 555JulianG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Really good food with panoramic view”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We were really impressed. First the great view. High up on the terras you look over the mountains in the distance and the plains nearby. The food was excellent too. Really nice combinations of flavors, good size portions, beautifully placed on the plate. We enjoyed every course.

The staff was also good and friendly.

Lastly the price was also really good. Together we spent just over € 100 for a three course meal with amuse and coffee with friandises.

We had a wonderfull night and greatly recommend this place to other people.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emanuel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great restaurant”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We visited again in October 2013 for lunch on a Thursday afternoon. We walked through the vineyards on the old road from Sablet. We arrived at about 12:20. We sat in the outdoor courtyard. Though at times it was a little cool that day, we enjoyed a liesurly lunch (the menu du jour – trois course) and added a cheese plate and café (and wine of course). The lunch was delightful, very artfully and elegantly presented. Each course was beautiful. Lunch was about €123 including the wine, cheese, coffee, and tax. On our final night there, Saturday, we made a reservation for dinner. We had reserved a place inside, but it was so nice out that we (and everyone else) ate outside on the patio. Dinner was as good as the lunches had been, the service was superb, and the food and wine were perfect – a great note to end our 2013 vacation in Provence.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank don b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Mesclun also viewed

Seguret, Vaucluse
Vaison-la-Romaine, Vaucluse
 
Gigondas, Vaucluse
 

Been to Le Mesclun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing