We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming French Bed &Breakfast”
Review of La Bastide Bleue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Bastide Bleue
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Seguret
Reviewed 21 January 2013

The courtyard lives up to it's pictures. The room we stayed in was clean, large, and en-suite. Parking was convenient and free. Conversations between us and the owners was rather limited as I speak no French, my husband a little and the owners spoke no English. However, we did find a way to communicate. The area boasts small French villages and is near several wineries, and LaRomaine which is why we picked the location. The restaurant is as other reviewers stated, on a chalk board, and we found the food to be delicious and the ambiance wonderful. The restaurant was not open every night of our stay. The Internet was free, but was limited in the area in which you could get reception. As we were there in June, the pool was clean and refreshing. The only complaint we have is that about 5 o'clock, my husband and I wanted to enjoy a glass of wine in the courtyard before the restaurant officially opened, and we were told we had to wait. We thought that as guests of the bed and breakfast, it would have been much nicer to take a few moments of their time to get a glass for us. About 30 minutes later, they did get us our glass of wine.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank floridatravelers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2012

This is a review only of the restaurant. We found our way to this beautiful auberge from our Gite in Fontbonne. The rooms were country french and inviting. The menu choices were
entree and plat; or,
plat and dessert; or,
entree & plat & dessert.
The menu was hand written on a chalk board and we were thrilled with the appetizer (entree) choices but limited to 2 so we chose the eggplant caviar and the vegetable tart. each was pleasant. the main courses (plats) were duck, rabbit, sausage and veal. We chose the sausage and the veal. While we waited we enjoyed a recomm ended bottle of a 2005Cote du Rhone Villages from a small producer on the road between Seguret and Roix called Domaine de L'Amandine. It was superb.
2 bites in to the plats we seriously considered vegetarianism. the sausage had an unpleasant barnyard odor and appeared uncooked. The shoulder of veal was stringy and tough and too salty to hold in your mouth without causing pain; it must have been cooking away for days.
Desserts were very nice. I had the profiteroles and my wife had soft centered chocolate cake. Both were delicious.

But for the inedible main courses, this would have been a good experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank virginislander_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights along with 12 of our Aussie friends.
Great rooms, great breakfasts and great dinners.
The manager made us all very welcome.
I am happy to recommend La Bastide Bleue to my Aussie friends who are looking for a cool place to stay near Seguret.
Seguret is a little cobblestone village that has lots to offer in history and beauty and it's only a short 1/2 km walk up the hill from La Bastide Bleue .
La Bastide Bleue gets a good vote from me.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Annm53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We ate here on our fourth evening, it was lovely. The food was excellent, the service welcoming and friendly, the ambience of the courtyard where we ate was warm and inviting. We decided to eat here on our final night and even in between the two evenings they had changed some of the starters, main courses and deserts so weren't having to choose the same from the first night. Can't rate it high enough, and we're very discerning.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank GenevraYpres_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Absolutley loved this rural French courtyard Hotel. It was full of character with its beautiful stone building and blue shutters. . We had a very spacious bedroom which overlooked the courtyard.The owners were very helpful and friendly and as we were on a cycling holiday we appreciated the warm welcome after a days cycling. We enjoyed a great meal and some local wine in the courtyard restaurant. We would love to stay here again

Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
1  Thank kiwikid_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

The moment you walk through the gate and into the courtyard of the Bastide Bleue, you can't help yourself from smiling. Why? Because you realize that you've finally found it - exactly what you were looking for in Provence - the charming, intimate ambiance, the flowers and herbs and colors, the small and cozy auberge - it's all there and ...... ideally located at the foot of Séguret, classified as one of the most beautiful villages in France. Warm and lovely, like the South, it remains unpretentious with very affordable prices, both for the small hotel (7 rooms, each with different Provençal décor), its beautifully landscaped refreshing pool and the restaurant. In the summer, you can enjoy a delicious meal outside on the enchanting terrace. The indoor restaurant is delightfully furnished and inviting with its burning fireplace in the winter. Try the "Bastidon de chèvre" and the Domaine de Mourchon wines - you won't regret it! The views of the village (within walking distance) are amazing. Dolores and Philippe, the owners, are lovely people, both gracious and efficient. Want to feel like you are really in Provence? appreciate good service and a magical setting? Then treat yourself (without the high price tag) to the captivating Bastide Bleue.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariatoscana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We enjoyed a three night stay here in June 2012. The rooms are lovely and spacious. Our rooms were above the courtyard, which is an ideal place to eat on a warm evening. The food was very good and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The only thing I would say is that the menu remained pretting much the same on each day, a choice of 3/4 items on each course, with only one or two changing so that to stay any longer you would have been a bit too repetitive. Having said that the food was very good. The owner did not speak French but we go by with our limited French. He was helpful and friendly. The location is lovely. Great place to go for walks.

Room Tip: There are road works going on at the moment so you may get woken up at 7am during the week if you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda58essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seguret
3.7 mi away
Hotel Burrhus
Hotel Burrhus
#1 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Domaine de Cabasse
Domaine de Cabasse
#1 of 2 in Seguret
122 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Les Florets
Hotel Les Florets
#1 of 2 in Gigondas
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel La Bastide de Vaison
Hotel La Bastide de Vaison
#6 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
22 reviews
3.7 mi away
Le Mas d'Helene
Le Mas d'Helene
#4 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
137 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Bellerive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bastide Bleue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bastide Bleue

Address: route de Sablet, 84110 Seguret, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Seguret
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Seguret
Price Range: £91 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your La Bastide Bleue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing