We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING!! Learn about the region and the wines here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Domaine de Mourchon

Domaine de Mourchon
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Seguret
Attraction details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“AMAZING!! Learn about the region and the wines here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We arrived in the mid-afternoon to this winery to learn about the wines and hopefully take some home. The owner was busy working inside, but he quickly said hello and gave us a quick tour. His gravity feed system is a wonderful idea! He explained the production and even discussed the idea of using concrete tanks. Never heard about concrete tanks before!

It was just the two of us for the majority of our visit, so we were able to learn about the region's wine production and the grape varieties. My husband and I both enjoyed asking many questions, which were thoughtfully answered.

The wines were lovely. We are not usually white wine or rose drinkers, but both were quite good. Our favorite reds were the softer reds (cote du rhone and tradition). We only wish they had a good shipping program to send a case home!

We were able to buy a few bottles and safely get them back home.

We wine tasted at a few wineries in the area and this place was our favorite, due to a friendly staff and a variety of wines to taste. We wouldn't have enjoyed our day as much without the wonderful welcome by the owner.

Don't miss this winery on your travels!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank cvkevents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    8
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A definite favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

My wife and I visit Mourchon once a year and we LOVE it. The wine is amazing and the tastings are generous and informative. Will be making our yearly trip next month. Can't wait.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank GutUpAndGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
197 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Competent and refined”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

We've experienced this jewel in the hills of the village of Seguret, while staying last September at La Madelene, where owner and wine connoisseur Philip proposed to our group to join him for a wine tasting at Domaine de Mourchon. It was marvellous for several reasons: Walther McKinlay, the patron of the state-of -the-art-winery, gave us a great tour, solid information and than served us 8 different samples of his liquid products, which gave us deep insight in the remarkable quality he and his family produce here. My favorite during that afternoon turned out to be the 2009 Séguret Family Reserve Grenache, a wine made by using only Grenache grapes from 60 year old wines. Simply delicious and to my surprise the taste was not at all dominated by the astounding 16% Vol alcohol.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank RGerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mourchon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

I totally agree with froglink. I also bought the face cream which is made there and wish I could find a way to buy more and share some with my family.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank basiecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect holidays!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

Two weeks into the Domiane de mourchon, two wonderful weeks: Thank you to family McKinley, Walter, his wife, Kate, Henry, Bouba and the whining cat:-)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank grimmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Domaine de Mourchon also viewed

 
Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Vaucluse
Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Vaucluse
 

Been to Domaine de Mourchon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing