We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed during The Palio”
Review of Il Pozzo di Radi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Il Pozzo di Radi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Great location in the middle of the beautiful rolling hills of Tuscany, it was as if we spent the night in a post card...what a beautiful view. Stefano took care of everything we needed or wanted.The rooms were clean and well cared for, I am told the bathrooms will be fully remodeled over the summer. Dinner and breakfast were fantastic. We came specifically for the June Palio and we were only a fifteen minute drive from the center of Sienna. We were fortunate to share a victory bottle of wine with Stefano as his native contrada, l'Oca, was victorious in this year's edition; however, I'm sure Stefano makes this a gesture for all of his guests.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

we got to Radi on our first day in Italy, the room was clean, a new bathroom. The B&B is placed in a peaceful and quiet place, over looking Tuscany hills and vineyards. The breakfast was excellent and we had our supper in the restaurant in the B&B serves simple but tasty Tuscan food home made.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yaro b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Rooms are quaint with exceptional views of Tuscany. Stefano and Daniela were fantastic hosts. Daniela works magic in the kitchen while Stefano makes you feel at home and caters to your every need. Nothing compares to watching the sunset with a glass of wine or waking up with a caffe and the sunrise over the extraordinary views of the Tuscan hills. The cost is very modest for the experience. 5 Stars!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
Thank Alexandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Do yourself a favor and rent a car and spend at least a few days here. It will be a time you will never ever forget! Imagine going to visit your Italian family that you had never met and that the family happens to have the best food you have ever tasted. That is what staying at the Pozzo Di Radi is like.

My wife and I just spent 5 glorious and relaxing nights here. There are a lot of restored farmhouses around Tuscany that have been turned into B&Bs, but this place has something that you won't find anywhere else - an absolutely phenomenal restaurant located right underneath your room. I cannot recommend this place enough. The food is the best, and you will find yourself quickly adopted into the family of three who own the place. Stefan will help you with anything he can. We asked him where to shop and he told us where. Some hidden beautiful views? Directions will take you just a few minutes away. On our last day we had to return our rental car. It was fully engulfed in the dust from so many trips on Tuscany's many dirt roads, so we asked Stefan where we could find a car wash. So what does he do? He grabs a sponge and his hose and proceeds to wash our entire car. The man is an angel and will do anything he can for you.

If you are a little bit adventurous and don't want to see Tuscany from the middle of a pack of people on a guided tour, I would recommend doing something like what we did. We rented a small car and stayed used the Radi as our base of operations.

Every day we would wake up for an enormous breakfast spread, with the best scrambled eggs I have ever eaten in my life (seriously) and then shower and head out through the countryside to the surrounding mountain towns. Every evening we would come home to the best food we could imaging. Simple, traditional, fresh and unbelievable food. Be sure to ask Stefan for a recommendation, as his wife might have made something special that day that will blow your mind. When you get the bill at the end of your stay (or even if you just stop in for a meal) you will be shocked at how inexpensive it is. Incredible value!

Here is how we spent one day:
A rousing breakfast and then a drive to spend an afternoon in Montalcino and taste some of the best wine of Italy, the Brunello. After, we swing by Montepulciano and try the region's Vino Nobile (which my wife and I actually preferred). After a small lunch and cappuccino in town, we headed home to avoid driving at night. A walk around the countryside taking in the scenery leads to a quick nap and we were down for another dinner. Literally the best food we had in Italy (and we tried a lot!) and Stefan's wine recommendations were better than the $250 a bottle Brunello we had tried. After dinner we wandered the grounds and played with Elizabetta's kittens and enjoyed the cool spring evening.

This was our first time coming here and we will definitely be back. We spent five of the best days of our life here and left relaxed and happy and somewhat fatter than we had arrived. If you are able to book one of the rooms upstairs, count yourself lucky.

Room Tip: For ANYTHING - all you have to do is ask Stefan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AsiaSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2009

Located right in the center of the countryside, this family run B&B had a beautiful view. It is located on the road but you can hardly hear anything. The break fast is quite a spread, cakes, croissants, prosciutto, cheese, bread, cereal, milk, different kinds of juices, coffee the way you like it. If you need to get away into the country side this is the place for it.
I originally booked a double room with a view but when I got there they said they didnt have any available. However after sometime they gave us a triple room without no extra charge.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank habari12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Dolicoskios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Francesca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteroni d'Arbia hotels
3.3 mi away
Borgo Antico
Borgo Antico
#1 of 6 in Monteroni d'Arbia
394 reviews
4.1 mi away
La Bagnaia Golf & Spa Resort Siena, Curio Collection by Hilton
2.7 mi away
Hotel More Di Cuna
Hotel More Di Cuna
#2 of 6 in Monteroni d'Arbia
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Agriturismo San Giorgio
Agriturismo San Giorgio
#4 of 18 in Monteroni d'Arbia
170 reviews
1.8 mi away
Il Canto del Sole
Il Canto del Sole
#1 of 3 in Monteroni d'Arbia
306 reviews
3.1 mi away
Castello di San Fabiano
Castello di San Fabiano
#2 of 18 in Monteroni d'Arbia
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Pozzo di Radi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Pozzo di Radi

Address: Via Centro di Radi 476, 53014, Monteroni d'Arbia, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monteroni d'Arbia
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Monteroni d'Arbia
Price Range: £51 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Pozzo di Radi 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Il Pozzo di Radi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Pozzo Di Radi Italy/Province Of Siena - Monteroni D'Arbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing