We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didn't want to leave!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coconut Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coconut Lodge
Ranked #2 of 3 Las Cumbres B&B and Inns
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

I traveled to Panama with my bf in July and spent 2 nights here and wished we could have stayed longer. The grounds were beautiful, the food and drinks were plentiful and delicious but nothing could compare to the hospitality from Nancy and her whole family! We were made to feel like family, only better!! Do yourself a favor and book your transportation to/from the city through them. We made the mistake to ask a local taxi driver and he "accidentally" got lost. The location is great, close to the city, airport and the canal. We took the Gamboa/rainforest tour with Captain Carl and would highly recommend it. We were treated with extra special care having been referred by Nancy/Coconut Lodge. I could go on and on about how special this place is. Feel free to contact me with any questions. Thank you Coconut Lodge for a perfect ending to a great Panama vacation! We will hopefully see you again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Coconut Lodge, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed the natural grounds, the central location, and the cuisine offered at Coconut Lodge.

By far the best gift a host can aspire to receive is positive feedback such as your comment: “nothing could compare to the hospitality from Nancy and her whole family! We were made to feel like family, only better!!”

Your review marks the 70th review Coconut Lodge has received after less than 8 months of operation. Again, thank you for the gift of your words...a true blessing! Congratulations on being our 70th reviewer.

We are really glad to hear that we could make your stay extra special. We too hope to see you soon again. PS: The monkeys in the picture (and Captain Carl) send their regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
78
206
19
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skoczów
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

The family who is running the lodge is really kind and helpful:) food we had, both for breakfest and diner was amazing, wery tasty and homemade. Neighberhood of Las Cumbres is really picturesque. Rooms are nicely decorated. In Coconut Lodge you'll find everything you're looking for in B&B and more! :)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coconut L, Owner at Coconut Lodge, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
We are blessed to have met your family. Thank you for the words with regards to our kindliness and helpfulness. We are truly pleased that you found the homemade breakfasts and dinners to be amazing and tasty.  Thank you also for your words of encouragement with regards to our business: "In Coconut Lodge you'll find everything you're looking for in B&B and more!:)"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Nancy en Mike are very kind people. And Mike is a good chef!
We stayed 4 nights in the bambu room. It was a nice spacious room.
This lodge has a good location if you want to go to the city or to a national park.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kim111985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coconut L, Owner at Coconut Lodge, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about Coconut Lodge with the TripAdvisor traveling community.  We appreciate hearing that you found the rooms to be spacious and our location to be good.  It was a pleasure to read your opinion and special mention that Mike is a good chef.  Until next time soon again we hope. 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Great base if you want to visit Panama City, The canal and the surrounding national parks.

Nice and clean rooms, fresh pool and super friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelo1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coconut L, Owner at Coconut Lodge, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion concerning Coconut Lodge.  We appreciated reading that you found the rooms to be nice and clean and the staff to be friendly.  We are also pleased you appreciated the salt-water pool.  Lastly, thank you for the quote: "Great base if you want to visit Panama City, The canal and the surrounding national parks." 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

The Coconut Lodge is an outstanding example of personalized comfort and hospitality. The accommodations, meals and services (pool, tennis, travel arrangements and transfers) leave nothing to be desired. Nancy and Mike’s first concern is your comfort, and I was asked many times if there was anything they could attend to. You certainly won’t go hungry with the delicious and plentiful breakfasts! Mine included a yogurt parfait, French toast, different fruits, coffee and juice. You also have the option of dining at the Lodge at night, with morning advance notice, and the 3-4 course meals are great as well, which include your choice of beverage. Mike is a great chef and will cater to your needs with the freshest ingredients. After meals it is nice to take a dip in the pool if it’s warm or lounge in the hammock, too.

When I arrived Mike gave me my ‘welcome drink’ and I sat reading overlooking the pool. Within 10 minutes I looked out and saw Monkeys and Toucans passing by the trees in the back yard!!! You just can’t beat that experience.

My room (Café con Leche) had an air conditioner, alarm clock, TV, a fully-stocked mini-fridge and even a mini-safe. I believe it’s new construction and is very clean and crisp. During my stay I also had the privilege of a personalized tour of the canal and surrounding area by their daughter, which was impeccable and something I will always remember. The family is quite knowledgeable about the entire surrounding area and the most affordable tours and can set up just about anything you like, even advance by e-mail. They can also provide a transfer to the airport from the house, which is really convenient. Finally, the family is multi-lingual with English, French, Spanish and Hungarian (and maybe more!), so all kinds of travelers can feel at home. They are very responsive to e-mails as well.

Thank you so much, I will make sure any of my friends headed your way get your card, I had such a lovely time!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissNic253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Coconut Lodge, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
We thank you for sharing your opinion with other travellers. We are glad you enjoyed your stay: the personalized service, comfort and hospitality.

We are especially happy you saw our neighbouring family of monkeys and toucans. Thank you again for staying with us and for recommending us to your friends and fellow travellers. Hoping you will be back soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucker, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

It's crazy to think that a place could feel like home and people could feel like family in one night, but that is exactly what happened at Coconut Lodge!

The owners are so nice, caring, knowledgeable, helpful, and lovely!! And the place is so beautiful! We could have stayed there forever!! It is close enough to the city to go spend the day there (the owners are great at coordinating transfers to/from the city) and then return "home" to relax for the night.

The meals were great. I recommend paying for the lunch and dinner if you will be staying there. That way you have less to even think about and they were a good deal! We sat on the terrace for a candlelit dinner and ended up chatting until midnight with the other awesome couples (who were from all over the world!) who were staying there. I think that the Coconut Lodge just attracts good folks. :)

I also recommend walking around the area surrounding the lodge. The views are absolutely gorgeous and the neighborhood is safe and friendly.

Thanks for one of the highlights of our trip Coconut Lodge!!!

Room Tip: Casa Bambu was amazing! So bright, private, and nicely decorated!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LiaDSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Coconut Lodge, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Our motto is “Your Home Away from Home”. Your feedback to us is invaluable as it helps to measure our success in offering a “Home Away from Home”.

We strive to provide an environment where guests feel that they are part of the family and close friends. Personalized attention is our focus and comes naturally especially with our guests.

We are glad you enjoyed the lush grounds and surrounding area, far from the noise of the big city.

Hoping we will have the honor to greet you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Especially given that we had never been to Panama before, we did not know what to expect, and it was almost 11 o’clock at night, the warm, open, smiling face of Mike (co-owner and host at Coconut Lodge) was a welcome first site. When, just after we picked up our luggage, Mike greeted us and welcomed us as new, comfortable friends, we knew our trip was off to a positive start.

As Mike drove us to the Coconut Lodge, he answered all our questions and put us immediately at ease. When we pulled up to the driveway of the Coconut Lodge, Nancy was immediately there to greet us, and continued to make us feel at ease, so we could more easily and fully appreciate what came next.

Walking through the side door and taking the stairs that led to our new home away from home, we could see the care and attention to detail that made Coconut Lodge so inviting. Every vantage point was considered and pleasing, introducing us to gorgeous natural foliage in perfect balance. When Nancy invited us to share drinks on their balcony overlooking their back yard and the view, even in the darkness in an otherwise unfamiliar place, our transformation from the normal concern one feels when going to a foreign place to ease and excitement at what the next days would bring was complete.

It was then that Nancy told us her surprise. My wife had written to Nancy to express her disappointment that we had failed to get a reservation for a particular jungle kayaking tour. On her own initiative and without prodding, Nancy told us she had made some calls and gotten us a reservation. The driver would arrive the next morning to take us.

Throughout our stay, Mike, Nancy, and even their daughter (whose name I’m not including because I don’t know if Mike and Nancy would want it on the Internet) were very helpful and informative, consistently going out of their way and above what would be expected, in order to make our time with them a good one. Among other not expected courtesies, Nancy helped to get our car rental extended without charge. Their daughter (who is very talented in her own right) took us back to the airport, and, along the way, created an impromptu guided tour of authentic Panamanian shopping and the best way to buy a cell phone and cell card, all while providing local color with a North American perspective.

The food was plentiful and tasty. Mike is a wonderful and happy cook. Our room (in a separate building) was large, comfortable, modern, and clean. Everything went perfectly. We are thankful to Mike, Nancy and their unidentified daughter for getting our vacation off to a perfect start.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Coconut Lodge, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
We thank you for taking precious time to share your experience with other travellers.

We are thrilled that we could provide a warm, friendly atmosphere, a home away from home and a place where you felt comfortable enough to ask all your questions.

At Coconut Lodge, we strive to make each guest experience unique, going the extra mile to provide our guests with a memorable holiday. Thank you for making our work easy and fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Cumbres
7.6 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
9.8 mi away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#6 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
#22 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
7.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Panama Punta Pacifica
7.9 mi away
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
#5 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Lodge

Property: Coconut Lodge
Address: Las Sauces, Las Cumbres, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City > Las Cumbres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Las Cumbres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We like to think of Coconut Lodge as a mini-resort without the crowds. With only four rooms, Coconut Lodge is an intimate and private Lodge designed to please and satisfy your every vacation need and want. Forget about work, stress, and an accelerated lifestyle. Enjoy the warm tropical breeze, laze in our pool while sipping a Pina Colada, challenge yourself to a game of tennis and enjoy life the way it is truly meant to be lived. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Coconut Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Lodge Panama/Las Cumbres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing