We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”
Review of Finca Buena Vista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Finca Buena Vista
Ranked #2 of 11 Las Lajas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
723 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This was a beautiful, relaxing stay for our family. The couple who owns and runs this Bed and Breakfast could not be nicer or more accomodating. They keep the place beautifully clean and in tip top repair. There is a beautiful view over the jungle, esecially at sunset, or for watching fireflies or the stars. There are shaded porches and a small pool. Breakfast on your private patio is delicious. Since we were here over Christmas, they made arrangements for us to have Christmas Eve dinner poolside that they cooked for us, and on Christmas we joined a private party they reserved for us
(since there wouldn't be other dinner options for Christmas). Both of these dinners were fabulous and delicious. A couple of things to be aware of: The Bed and Breakfast is a bit less than 1 mile from the paved road, and the last bit is pretty bumpy, so take it slow unless you have high-clearance. Also, the town of Las Lajas where the Finca is located is about 20 minutes by car from Las Lajas beach. It is a fantastic beach with miles of empty sand. If you want to stay on the beach, Las Lajas Beach Resort looked nice. We couldn't have been happier than our stay at La Finca Buena

Room Tip: Only 5 rooms--they are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookpias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    18
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
154
13
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This place is a bit hard to find, but it is really nice for relaxing, great spacious rooms, very good and complete breakfast, lot of nature and quietness. Ideal for a weekend stay to forget all the stress of the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chillango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holland
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

we stayed for two nights in this beautifull situated B&B near the beaches of Laslajas. The room is spacious and fully equipped with A/C, ceiling fan, refrigerator and coffee machine. The bed is luxurious and there are enough seats and tables. Breakfast is served at the time requested on the porch and is as a breakfast shoud be. You can order soup and sandwiches in the afternoon to survive a sudden "need for food' attack. In Laslajas there are enough restaurants to dine. on top of this there is a swimming pool to cool down. The best thing however in this B&B are the owners and the staff. Supportive, kind and above all interested in the well being of their guests. Needless to say that this is one of Panama's best B&B's !!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HollandWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2013

When I think of a raw, peaceful, non-commercial, tropical-country getaway in a time capsule, I think of this B&B. It really soothes the soul. We stayed at the end of May so we had the whole place to ourselves. I'm not sure how I'd like it at full occupancy but I'm definitely planning to come back.

The rooms are clean, spacious, and minimalist (e.g. no sample bottles of shampoo & conditioner) and adequate (fridge and coffeemaker but no microwave). Wifi was spotty. We kept the doors open most of the time so it felt like a villa/bungalow with the nice breeze and mild temperature and chirping birds (even a hummingbird sighting).

Mila, the help is such a sweetheart. She makes the yummiest guacamole for your breakfast. The breakfast was really memorable because of the fresh jams and guac (on the downside the toast is regular white sliced bread, the yogurt is regular cherry-vanilla Dannon, and I'm pretty sure they served Tang instead of OJ but all this doesn't matter because....) and the spectacular serene view of the uncut wildlife, bird songs, and green canopy. This is why it's called Finca Buenavista.

There's not much to do in the area except go to the beach and maybe watch the weekend cockfighting. The beach is really flat so you can walk into the water for a while and still be above the water. It's somewhat isolated but there will be a couple families enjoying the afternoon. There is a great italian pizza restaurant down the street. Also hidden so that you feel like Indiana Jones discovering lost treasure when you find it. It's called "Naturalmente" but if you ask around ppl will direct you to this place. It was a little dark when we found it but the pathway was all lit up ending in an open patio where families and couples (mostly locals) were enjoying oven-fired pizza. It was pretty good pizza and I know what Grimaldi's in NYC tastes like.

This whole town of Las Lajas is isolated, hidden, raw, and dripping with natural, uncommercial charm. It's like being in a time capsule of tropical, countryside beauty.

Room Tip: West facing to watch the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank regisjlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
viajero711
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2013

I usually don't write reviews but this time I have to. I agree with all the positive posts. Very large and delicious breakfast, owners are well organized, the property is relaxing, great views, large well appointed rooms, etc., etc. Just to be different I'll point out a couple negatives. The access is up a hill and a little difficult but I think most 2 wheel drives can make it. It is not within walking distance to the beach. We walked into Las Lajas but, unless you're just walking for exercise, it was not worth the trouble. Also the pool is real small and wasn't that inviting for us. Still, despite these minor drawbacks, I give Buena Vista the top rating. One of the best bed and breakfasts I've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viajero711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Wish to stay in proximity of beach at Las Lajas so stayed at this BnB gem for one night. Directions were easy to follow and nicely augmented by signage on the road at key spots.
On arrival we were pleasantly welcomed and shown our room. We were also asked what time we would like to have breakfast.
The room was spacious and nicely decorated, clean and included a canopy bed, dinette table, chairs, coffee maker and a small stocked fridge. Items in the fridge were reasonably priced. There was a loft area, accessible by a ladder, containing a bed on a box spring.
Bathroom was very clean and a comfortable size.

Note internet was very spotty in our particular room (at the end) but was adequate on the rear patio to the room. It was on this same patio that we were served a lovely breakfast the next morning at the time we had communicated the night before.
Although there is a small prepared/gravelled parking area we found parking on the field type parking area in front of the rooms more convenient and avoided some bumpy spots in the driveway to the main house.
Drive to the beach is a bit further than I initially thought. When you hit the junction by the beach turn left for free parking. Turning right leads to properties on the beach and a Hotel. Except for a small access road to the beach on that side any parking has to be paid for on private property. Seems you can attempt parking on the beach using the access road, however there were signs of cars being stuck in the sand.
I highly recommend this BnB and certainly would stay here again if in the vicinity.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rovingdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We stayed for a night in February and it is as lovely as we remembered. Good rooms, great breakfast, and super management. They are now very popular and therefor very busy so book in advance. The beach is a short drive away and it is one of the best beaches around! Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 587Canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Lajas
23.3 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Mar
Hotel Bocas del Mar
#1 of 4 in Boca Chica
490 reviews
23.4 mi away
Seagull Cove Resort
Seagull Cove Resort
#2 of 4 in Boca Chica
196 reviews
1.3 mi away
Naturalmente Boutique Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Las Lajas Beach Resort
Las Lajas Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Playa Las Lajas
278 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Inn
Paradise Inn
#5 of 6 in Playa Las Lajas
84 reviews
5.6 mi away
Casa Laguna
Casa Laguna
#2 of 6 in Playa Las Lajas
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Buena Vista

Property: Finca Buena Vista
Address: Calle 12 de Octubre, Las Lajas 0446, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Las Lajas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Las Lajas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Finca Buena Vista 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is situated on the outskirt of Las Lajas overlooking a beautiful valley and the mountains surrounding it. We strive to provide you with an unforgettable stay in our area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Finca Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing