We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre for the price”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castellane
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ciela Village Camping International
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Basically a good 3 star campsite - no way it should be 5 star - in our 4 day stay here the toilet paper holder (one per toilet block) ran out 3 times, the Crazy golf had been dismantled a long time previously, only the pin ball and table football machines were working in the games room (the pool table was only for over 15 year olds so we didn't try that), the showers were rubbish and pool was often too full to get into. No deals with rafting companies, information desk had not much info. Cooked chicken to take away was excellent - restaurant serving 20cl orangina for 2euros50 does not seem good price, but menu at 16e50 was OK. Cars can come and go all night long - not good for pitches 1 and 17 who all cars drive past. Would never return here. However the Citroen museum 100 meters away was GREAT for Citroen fans!

Room Tip: Avoid campsites 1,2,16 and 17.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliehorsfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2013

Stayed here on first night in Castellane. Plus is free phone calls to UK landlines ! Shower/toilet facilities were reasonable enough. Electric didnt require plus/neg rewire and used a standard 3 pin power socket. Very helpful and friendly staff. Good views. Pitches were shady but not very large compared to other sites. Felt a bit cramped. Overall a nice campsite.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkNMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Location is nice, reception and staff ar nice... But the mobile homes are a bit old fassioned. Beds are small, no aircon. Rest is quite reasonable. Swimming Shorts not allowed in the pool, what is rediculous? No bbq at your own site, and expensive wifi, one phone/unit for free, rest 13 eur per 2 days. Wifi speed is not up to that rate. Parking at the site is nice, hot water is good. Quite a lot of bugs around.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sikkeman79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Located 20 minutes walk from the town centre, this site is well placed for touring with good on-site facilities at excellent value for a small group.
Their restaurant serves excellent food at a good price and are very friendly.

Room Tip: Be sure to take some fly-spray!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr_Quiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Found this camp site with chalets to rent, large enought for a family of 5 or in our case 3 adult motorcyclists. Good facilities on the site, small supermarket a swimming pool and a resturant, which served good food at affordable prices. A brilliant area suitable for cycling or walking. A 20 minute walk in to the town, full of character and plenty of places to eat. Could get very busy at the hight of the season.

Room Tip: Chalets or tents no other option
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikethebike0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2010

This camping is really big and located into a really popular area. We were here during last days of summer and the place was quite full but not crowded. Good balancing between quality/comfort and price.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
4  Thank Doctorgyprons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

We had a 5 day trip to the Gorges du Verdon to hike, canoe and see the sights. The GBP to Euro exchange rate was so shocking that even B&Bs seemed incredibly expensive. Staying in a chalet on a campsite was the only viable option. We opted for Camping International as it was in our guide book and some internet research didn't bring up anything else.

The chalets are small but functional, with large verandahs out the front. The kitchenettes have everything you need but don't include clothes or washing up liquid. You also need to bring your own towels, sheets and toilet paper.

The overall atmosphere is very relaxed. The campsite has a pool, free internet and phone calls, a restaurant and petanque pitches, which is where we spent most our evenings.

The location is just outside Castellane, which is a beautiful town, but not close enough to be able to walk it. When we drove around we went passed other campsites with chalets that were actually on the river, which may have nicer views and better locations.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsMatthes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellane
0.9 mi away
Hotel Residence Les Canyons du Verdon
9.6 mi away
Hotel des Gorges du Verdon
Hotel des Gorges du Verdon
#1 of 3 in La Palud sur Verdon
233 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nouvel Hotel du Commerce
Nouvel Hotel du Commerce
#1 of 8 in Castellane
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Camping la Ferme de Castellane
1.1 mi away
Camping Frederic Mistral
Camping Frederic Mistral
#5 of 22 in Castellane
62 reviews
1.5 mi away
Camping Calme et Nature
Camping Calme et Nature
#2 of 22 in Castellane
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ciela Village Camping International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciela Village Camping International

Address: Route Palud, 04120 Castellane, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Alpes-de-Haute-Provence > Castellane
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Castellane
Price Range: £45 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ciela Village Camping International 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ciela Village Camping International enjoys the best location in Castellane. Away from the road, in a leafy setting, it is ideally situated in the heart of the mountains. Our entertainment team offer daily innovative activities and are on hand to help you tailor make your holiday programme. The bracing mountain air of the French Pre-Alps combined with the gentle atmosphere of Provence win you over from the moment you arrive: the sublime scenery, in which you can unwind or take part in thrilling activities, is both invigorating and relaxing! Situated between the emerald green waters of Lake Castillon and the Verdon Canyon, Ciela Village Camping International offers parents, children and teenagers all they need to create an unforgettable family holiday. You will find quiet pitches or comfortable mobile homes to relax in after a canoe trip, a day at the beach or a magnificent walk. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camping International Castellane / Gorges Du Verdon Hotel Castellane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing