We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic stay in an award-winnign B & B”
Review of Maison Castellane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maison Castellane
Ranked #1 of 10 Castellane B&B and Inns
Cheltenham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A fantastic stay in an award-winnign B & B”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We had a lovely short break at Maison Castellane. Our hosts were so friendly and welcoming, the rooms are extremely comfortable with good showers and our room was well equipped with a mini kitchen. The garden is beautiful and we enjoyed having a drink on the patio outside our room. Breakfast was very much an international affair and it was fun chatting to people from Italy and Finland. We went to Castellane to collect our son who was studying Geology in the area and he needed accommodation for our last night. The B & B was full but our kind hosts made up a lovely bed for him in their own part of the house. The town is a short walk away, there are plenty of good restaurants and there is a lot to do, lovely walks and the Gorges du Verdon are stunning. We would definitely like to return to the area and to Maison Castellane as 3 days were not enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    24
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
42
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pirkkala, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Nice accomodation near the center of Castellane. A big grocery store was close. Castellane was very nice little village with people around. You could hike to the Notre Dame du Roc 200m higher. It was a very good place to start the drive around the Gorges of Verdon. The hosts spoke very good English and gave good tips to drive around the Gorges. We took apart in a dinner which the hosts had prepared. It was a nice evening with people all over Europe. We had a room in a separate house (number 4). It was nice and had a little kitchen. In front of the little house was a small terrace. The nights were cold, about 15 degrees but during the day was 34C. There were no air-conditioning, but we didn't need it 'cause of the cold nights. There was a artificial lake few kilometers away. If you want to hike around the Gorges, you should stay few nights, 2 nights was too short time. Could stay again.
- Couple from Finland

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heikku_432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulon, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

I have only great things to say about our stay. This B&B was wonderful. Very clean, and modern, and well presented. The property itself is also beautiful and the common eating/bar area is terrific. Very welcoming. The patio/terrance and garden is really lovely. We visited in early October so we did not get the benefit of dining outdoors but I imagine this would be delightful as well. The breakfast was also VERY good. One of the best I've had at a B&B - Not the average French breakfast of pastries and juice. The owners are lovely people who are friendly and willing to offer help or advise, and speak English/French/Flemmish and German! They also offer a great variety of tourist information for you to browse or borrow. They are also bikers so if touring on motorbikes is your thing I imagine you'll enjoy this local as well. As for location we were quite happy with the location even if the village itself is small. It was a great midpoint for us on our tour of the Verdon region. We traveled with our toddler and we're well accomodated. I'd stay again and I recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank French-American-fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Our room was comfortable and had everything you can need- A mini kitchen for a break from eating out and a patio with views of the garden. We loved the hosts, and the family style dinner is a must. It is a very short walk to a grocery and into town. We would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: the room with the kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benanna_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Our room was lovely. Rustic and clean. Good shower. Table and chairs outside with a view across to the hills. Excellent breakfast shared with other guests. We found booking very easy via the owners website www.maisoncastellane.com

The gorge du verdon is spectacular.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank tgardenhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2010

Maison Castellane is a B&B run by Flemish Belgians in a residential neighborhood right outside the Castellane center. Our room had a tiny terrace with table, small fridge and table in the entry way and then the bedroom. We were the only guests staying that night because it was a bit out of season. The bed and room were all very comfortable, but the memorable part of our stay was breakfast. Our hosts, who ate with us, served along with the typical French bread and croissants a soft boiled egg, a plate of cheeses, a plate of meats, and various Belgian spreads. I could have sat there all day eating and chatting. It was a lovely way to end our stay and start the day!

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank dapurdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellane
1.5 mi away
Auberge du Teillon
Auberge du Teillon
#2 of 8 in Castellane
189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nouvel Hotel du Commerce
Nouvel Hotel du Commerce
#1 of 8 in Castellane
200 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel des Gorges du Verdon
Hotel des Gorges du Verdon
#1 of 3 in La Palud sur Verdon
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Chateau de Trigance
Chateau de Trigance
#1 of 2 in Trigance
341 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Roc
Hotel du Roc
#3 of 8 in Castellane
70 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel Du Lachens
Hotel Du Lachens
#1 of 1 in La Bastide
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Castellane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Castellane

Property: Maison Castellane
Address: la Cebiere, 04120 Castellane, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Alpes-de-Haute-Provence > Castellane
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Castellane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison Castellane is a bed and breakfast where everyone can unwind and relax in a casual and informal atmosphere. There are lots of fun activities to engage in nearby and we of Maison Castellane will assist you as well as we possibly can to make your vacation a truly unforgettable experience. At Maison castellane you will be welcomed by Marc and Brigitte, a Belgian couple. Marc was born and raised in Tienen and Brigitte in Tongeren. They both speak French, Enlisch and German pretty well. if possible they like to accompany their guests on al lovely walk, an excursion or a motorbike ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Maison Castellane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing