We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Relaxing -- But disappointing too:(”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ti Kaye Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anse Cochon
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Relaxing -- But disappointing too:(”
Reviewed 4 July 2010

We just returned from a week at Ti Kaye. It is a beautiful place. The rooms are comfortable, and each room has deck with a couple of super relaxing chairs and a hammock, from which one can look out on the water. The beach is perfectly nice, and the snokeling is great. We spent the first three full days (and our final full day) relaxing on the beach, snorkeling, and using the free kayaks. We also did the wine tasting with Cleus, which was thoroughly enjoyable and entertaining and a very good deal at $45 a couple. In the middle, we did the Land & Sea Tour and the Piton Climb. The Land & Sea Tour was fun, and, after doing it, you can say that you saw a bunch of stuff in St. Lucia (the volcano, the botanical gardens, the sulphur springs, the waterfall, etc.). The Piton Climb was difficult but exceptionally rewarding. We will be looking at our pictures from the top of Gros Piton for the next 50 years. We ate virtually all our meals at the hotel. They weren't cheap, but if you load up at the breakfast buffet, you won't need to eat again til dinner, and the portions at dinner are huge and can be split. The final night we did the Fish Fry, which was nice, a good change of pace from the dinners in the restaurant every night. The restaurant, bar, and beach staff (and the drivers) were all great. So, it was a great trip!! Unfortunately, the hotel's operational side has some issues.
For instance, on travelocity, we booked (and paid for) an "oceanview cottage," which, as I understand it, is an upgrade from the basic "oceanview room" because it is not attached to another guest's room by a common wall. Unfortunately, we were still put in an attached room. We should have complained, but it was a couple of hours before we noticed the attached wall and we'd already unpacked, didn't feel like dealing with it, and, without ready access to the hotel's website, we couldn't confirm we'd been "downgraded." Anyway, it didn't really affect our enjoyment of the room. All of this is to say that I would recommend (unless you want the plunge pool) just booking the oceanview room.
Also, for the hotel to claim it has a "gym" is a stretch. There are no treadmills, no ellipitcal machines, just a single exercise bike, a few weight machines, some free weights, and a bizarre "stepper" thing that I couldn't make work.
The Spa is just OK. We aren't spa people, but we had a $200 spa credit from our package, so we booked the $200 couples massage thing. The spa is very pretty, but, upon our arrival, there was a lot of confusion (caused entirely by the front desk) about what package we had booked, which I think made the massage people a little sour (because they had prepared for a different package) and it just made the whole process a bit of a hassle.
Also, we got our pre-bill the night before we left, which listed the charges we incurred. We were charged for an (expensive -- $114) meal that we hadn't eaten. So I went down to complain, and the front desk person consulted her receipts and confirmed that our room had been mistakenly charged for an extra meal that night. Consistent with the general haughty and moody attitude of the front desk and adminstrative staff, there was no apology, "just here's a new bill."
There was also nothing to counter-balance all of these annoyances. No great moments in customer service. Indeed, our hotel transfer van back to airport was to leave at 11 a.m. The front desk said to call when our bags were ready so the bellhop could drive up the road to get them. I call at 10:25 and we head down to meet the van at 10:45. Still no bellhop. Finally, right before 11, with the van waiting and still no bags, I go into the front desk office and the front desk woman, seeing me, snaps "just wait outside. The bellhop will be here in a few minutes!!" Other than the driver, these were the last words anyone from Ti Kaye said to us.







.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drew610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,124
    265
    68
    26
    23
See reviews for
31
1,158
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corona, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2010

My wife and I just returned from two weeks at Ti Kaye Village. We stay in one of the cottages with private plunge pool. Our high expectations were exceeded. The room is spacious, with shuttered windows on all sides so the breeze keeps the room comfortable. Geckos and birds did occasionally come into the room but we found that amusing and not a problem. The rooms are also air-conditioned which we used at night. The king bed has a mosquito net we used at night. The bugs were not a bad problem although we did burn the supplied centrenela candle each day and kept our lights low at night. Our room was the most private with its own view of a small cove. Housekeeping kept the rooms very clean every day. The covered patio with rocking chairs and hammock were used every day, as was the pool. The pool water did get a bit hot at times, but was still a welcome relief from the hot afternoon Sun. We did not miss having a TV or live music every night. This is a place you go to reconnect with your partner, relax, and enjoy the beautiful surroundings. The restaurant is pricey ($25-$30 per entree), but the food was very well prepared and had something each night for my finicky wife to eat. The Beach House restaurant also had a decent selection of lunch items ($11-$17 per entree). Service at both restaurants is "leisurely" so don't try to squeeze in a quick meal before an activity. We had treatments twice in the Spa, and although it is not currently air conditioned (planned for the future), they were very nice. The staff are all very friendly and provide outstanding service. After a few days, they all knew our name and greeted us each time we crossed paths. They will try to accommodate your needs. The beach is small but relaxing, except when the cruise ship boats come in. Even then, it is not that bad. There is good snorkeling on both sides of the beach. The resort has kayaks which we used a few times on the calm waters. They have a small dive shop on the beach. Don't expect to buy gear or parts. They rent gear which looked new and in good condition (we brought our own). The dive boat is a Newton 36 and capitain Manu and divemaster Asher were very friendly, knowledgeable, and accommodating. We did 10 dives over five days and never went to the same spot twice. They'll accommodate your requests when possible and the boats were never crowded. Water temp was 86 on the surface and 82 at depth. Viz was not very good while we were there due to a recent tropical wave that had dumped a lot of rain. still, the reefs are healthy and there is lots to see. There are a number of tours and activities that the front office will arrange. We highly recommend this location for a relaxing vacation. If you want to party, go to Sandals. This is not the place for you. For honeymooners and others who want an intimate, romantic setting you can't do better than Ti Kaye.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diver5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katy tx
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2010

my husband and i stayed at ti kaye june 3-11/2010. We both agreed it was the most relaxing vacation. I loved the room, the laid back atmosphere, the gorgeous views, the amazing beach and most of all the amazing snorkeling!!!!!!!!! St lucia is such a beautiful place and i am so glad we chose to travel there and that we picked the best resort! The only negative thing i would say is that the resort food was subpar. This wasnt a big issue for my husband and I because we really loved everything else. The staff is amazing! The stairs arent even worth mentioning, not a big deal at all. The ride to ti kaye is bumpy, but well worth it, it didnt even phase us. We took our own snorkeling gear, snacks and alcohol with us when we went. Even with that, the resort is pricey, but definitely worth it!!!!!!!! Wish i was there right now! We took 2 excursions while there through serenity tours! We are so glad we did! We did the couples land tour with lunch at ladera and the grenadines tour. We highly recommend the grenadines, it was absolutely magical! I would have done it 2 times!!!!!! Serenity tours is amazing, the staff is amazing and were very friendly and catered to our needs!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yogeetaKatyTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2010

We had a lovely stay at Ti Kaye. We were upgraded to a room with a private plunge pool, which would definitely have been worth the splurge. Our cottage had a lovely view of the ocean and was very private. We thought we might get bored without a TV, but we really enjoyed hanging out on the deck and going for a swim each night.

The food in the restaurant was pretty good. The menu has 4-5 appetizers and 4-5 entrees each night. They also have a great wine list with reasonable prices, which is very unusual for the Carribean. The best part however, was the service. We felt the staff went out of their way to make sure we had a wonderful experience. The location is remote, but that is part of its appeal. Ti Kaye is a truly a unique, relaxing place, and the best place we stayed on the island.

I need to comment on the negative reviews by the people that felt they were being overcharged: we stayed for several nights at a very comparable resort in Marigot Bay, and visited several other restaurants around the island. We found the entire island of St Lucia to be ridiculously expensive, but the prices at Ti Kaye are comparable to all the prices we saw elsewhere. Unlike the other places we stayed in and ate at however, we felt we got our money's worth at Ti Kaye. The reviewer clearly didn't read the hotel's website, because it clearly explains that the hotel is in a remote location, that the rooms do not have TVs, and there are a number of steps down to the beach. If you are worried about being isolated, you can rent a car to explore the island, which is what we did (although I don't necessarily recommend it because the roads are bad and driving is very difficult.) If you want to be able to walk to lots of bars and restaurants, stay with the hordes of partiers in Rodney Bay. But if you want a unique, peaceful, environment where you are made to feel special, then stay at Ti Kaye.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennclinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2010

This isolated resort is perfect for the traveler that wants to unplug himself from the world and get some relaxation and stress release. It is true that the drive is hilly and curvy from the airport and I would suggest EVERYONE take a dramaine before the trek. The cabins are located on a cliff looking into the Car. Sea and a peaceful bay. Definitely worth paying more for the plunge pool at the cabin. Birds will fly up to you and eat out of your hands. Fruit can be picked off the trees right at your cabin. Food at the restaurant is delicious and the menu is sure to offer something of your liking. The mango margaritas at the bar are refreshing and tasty. The shrimp basket at the snack bar is filling and reasonably priced. The beach is clean and convenient for snorkeling and it usually had snorklers or divers from other resorts visiting. The spa was a nice touch and the ladies gave fairly good deep tissue massages. The view from the spa can not be beat. The land and sea excursion covered a lot of ground and allowed you to see several different tourist spots, such as a volcano, botanical gardens, waterfalls and a plantation. The staff at the resort are warm and friendly. They ALL strive to make you happy and to help you make it a vacation to remember. If you enjoy shopping, this may not be the place for you. The entire island lacks great shopping. If you enjoy eating, this is the place for you. The chef at Ti Kaye is fabulous. Also try eating at the Rain Forest Hideaway and the Coal Pot in Castries. I cannot forget to mention how stunning the grounds of Ti Kaye are. Flowers and trees are all over the village. They are placed strategically enough to provide you with a lot of privacy. So much privacy that most of the time at the cabin was spent with minimal clothing (if any) being worn. Overall, I have to say this was the best 7 days of my life. Also worth noting, this is not a party resort. Sure there is a bar, but it closes around 10pm nightly. Wednes. night they have a band and there is dancing, but again, not the rowdy, get plastered crowd. We met people that were very friendly and had fun watching our new friends (Blake) sing karaoke at the Fish Fry. Perfection is the only way to describe our visit. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington Heights, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

My first impression of the Ti Kaye Village was the friendlyness of the staff, they were warm and welcoming. My room was beautiful and clean and the maid service was great.
I enjoyed the peacefulness of the setting and the wonderful view, over looking the ocean.
I really enjoyed the hammock on the front porch and the outside shower (my first).

The restaurant serves very good food but the dinner menu is somewhat limited and a little pricey.

I went scuba diving with Island Divers, the dive shop at Ti Kaye Village. It is one of the best dive operations I have dove with. I've been diving for 14 years all over the world and this was one of the best. There was much to see on the shore dives as well as on the boat dives. Their attention to personal service and keeping their groups small allows them to give this personal touch to each person. The dive boat is clean, comfortable and very well maintained.

It did rain quite a lot while I was there so I did not get to use the beach, however the beach is clean and well maintained and the couples and families that were there seemed to enjoy it alot.

I also used the spa services, message and reflexology. That was great! I highly recommend.

BabyBoomer Woman

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BabyBoomerWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Stream, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

My husband and I just got back from Ti Kaye Village where we spent 1 week for our honeymoon. St. Lucia is absolutely beautiful but this time of year it's very hot, in the 90s every day, and very humid. Ti Kaye Village was absolutely beautiful as well and the staff was unbelievably attentive. We can't say enough good things about the service and especially the food. Dinner every night was exceptional. My husband and I are both vegetarians so the chef actually met with us and set up a whole vegetarian menu for us. The cottages were very nice, although a little outdated in amenities. We had an ocean view with a plunge pool and it was very private and romantic. The view from the cottage deck was amazing, sunsets every evening. There was great snorkeling at the beach although the beach was a little rocky. The hotel offered many excursions, we did the sunset cruise and zip lining, both were great. There is also an amazing spa there, we had a couples massage which was fantastic!
A couple of things that we weren't pleased with:
The beach is a public beach so there are locals trying to sell you things every day.
There was a terrible sewage smell every now and again at our cottage.
Getting to the beach is quite the hike, you have to go down a TON of stairs, coming back up is not an easy task. Because of this we mainly stayed at the pool.
The windows and doors of the cottage do not have screens so we have lots of visitors (bugs, lizards, birds). Every day when housekeeping came they turned off the a/c and opened all the windows letting all the critters in. There were also cockroaches in your cottage at night which we complained about and the cottage had to be exterminated.
There was also no a/c in the hotel lobby or dining room which took some getting used to.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nursecarrie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Cochon
4.5 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
927 reviews
6.9 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
13.9 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
4.6 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
1,146 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ti Kaye Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ti Kaye Resort & Spa

Property: Ti Kaye Resort & Spa
Address: P.O. Box GM 669, Anse Cochon, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Anse la Raye Quarter > Anse Cochon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anse Cochon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ti Kaye Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Anse Cochon Bay Ti Kaye Resort & Spa is located on the serene West Coast and is simply known as Ti Kaye, (which means small house in the native creole patois language of Saint Lucia). With only 33 rooms, 2 bars & restaurants, the Kai Koko Spa and a 600+ bin 'Wine Kave' there is no better place for romantic relaxation - combined with some of the best snorkeling and diving to be found anywhere on Saint Lucia right off the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Ti Kaye Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ti Kaye Village Hotel Castries
Ti Kaye Village Castries
Ti Kaye Village Resort St Lucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing